We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rachel's

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3, The Mound | DT6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
+44 7974 314277
Website
Today
00:00 - 03:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 00:00 - 03:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 641: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As locals, we have eaten at Rachel's a fair few times and it's always great. If you want quality seafood al fresco then don't hesitate. Great location next to the harbour and a very impressive quality menu, made more surprising given the small kitchen area in which it is produced. Staff are always friendly, and it has a license so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben M
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We look onward to seeing you when we are open again next year. More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing gem of a place, great fish, chowder stunning!! good service and very good prices, will be back next year!!

Helpful?
1 Thank stevewestham
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

Many thanks for your amazing review. We look forward to seeing you next year. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I have tried rachels a few times... it is okay for the summer nice food as far as kiosks go. But i give it a terrible rating as it is in no way anywhere near the no.1 resteraunt in the bridport area! I dont believe you can even call it a resteraunt... as it has next to no seating... bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank antiausterity
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

We are sorry to disappoint you for being voted the No.1 restaurant in Bridport by members of the public Rachel's have never professed to being anything other than a kiosk/cafe on the harbourside at Westbay. However if you look up the definition of restaurant in the Oxford dictionary you will see that it states " A place where people pay... More 

Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

So, the world is going to pot in a hand cart, the leaves are falling fast, dark nights ahead but, the most tragic of all, Rachel's is now closed for the winter. Not that anyone would deny this hard working couple and their team a break but I am sure that many of 'Rachael's Junkies' will hope they will quickly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank John W
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

Many thanks for your fabulous review and for sharing your cunning plans, advice and humour. We look forward to seeing you again next season More 

Charminster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

The food here is just amazing!! Drifted over from Dorchester to try out the cafe after reading such rave reviews. Wasn't disappointed. The chowder was just packed with fish and seriously tasty. Friendly staff and nice surroundings. Prices extremely reasonable too. Beats your typical seaside sausage and chips.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again next year should you be out drifting.... Thank you for your excellent review. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Well prepared, fresh fish and chips. Eat on the spot or take back to your accommodation - perfect lunch.

Helpful?
Thank MRL283
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your fish and chip lunch with us. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. More 

Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

How can anyone give this establishment a poor review? The staff are always friendly and polite. (Not at all miserable!!) The food and service are exceptional and it's certainly value for money. Just had my last fish stew of the season and will look forward to many lunches there next year.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tollee
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent review. More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Brilliant food but the wait was almost an hour and it was very cold and windy so not the best experience, if they had said when we ordered that we would have such a long wait we would have gone elsewhere - i think they should warn customers if the wait is likely to be longer than say 15 minutes.... More 

Helpful?
Thank davann2015
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

We do apologise that you didn't have the best experience with us. It is most unusual that you were not informed of the wait on food, It is standard procedure when we are busy to inform our customers of the waiting time. However mistakes can be made and for that we are very sorry. If you do return in the... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The service I received here on Saturday was terrible. I can only put this down to it being near the end of the season and staff are tired and therefore extremely miserable. I felt like an inconvenience to them! I only ordered from them because I had heard they were highly recommended, however the food was disappointing too. I will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

It's such a shame that you haven't responded to my personal contact requesting information on your experience. This would have been invaluable in order for Rachel's to ensure that others do not receive a negative experience in the future. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

The food was superb. I had the prawn platter and my wife had the chowder. Excellent portion sizes, cooked beautifully. Great value,will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Mattwic
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to see you again in 2017. More 

Travellers who viewed Rachel's also viewed

 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to Rachel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Cuisine
Seafood
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Cash Only, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 03:00
Monday
00:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 03:00
Thursday
00:00 - 03:00
Friday
00:00 - 03:00
Saturday
00:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3, The Mound | DT6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 7974 314277

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rachel's and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Rachel's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?