We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rachel's

3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
+44 7974 314277
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good12%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (136 reviews)
“chowder” (94 reviews)
“salad” (57 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We really wanted to have Saturday lunch at Rachel's after it's top scoring on Tripadvisor but when we arrived we were a little upset that all the tables were occupied so we asked for a menu and proceeded to wait for a table . After...More

2  Thank Ztilb
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Once again I apologise that you were upset about being politely asked to vacate one of our tables. We have two signs asking customers to wait to be seated by a member of staff which you obviously didn’t notice in your haste to sit at...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Five years since the last visit and six of us had a perfect delicious lunch, so no change there. With awful weather we expected to be the only table.. Wrong!Every table full, which just goes to show what a following this place has, and you...More

Thank Dave W
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks Dave for your outstanding review. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rachel's was recommended to us by a friend who had recently been on holiday here. We waited until the Friday to eat here, big mistake! We should have eaten here the first day then we could have tried everything else on the menu!! Very big...More

Thank suzanne p
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks for your excellent review. I’m afraid the food may be a tad cold by the time it reaches you in Norfolk. 😉 Hope to see you again one day if you return to this area.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have dined here numerous times while staying in West Bay and it never fails to amaze my wife and I how they can make the amount and the high quality of food from a wooden hut. The food is excellent,you can buy wine, cider...More

Thank ossiejolly
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your amazing review and recommendation. We are delighted you enjoy your visits to us.

Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely food, available for takeaway - stunning local produce cooked to perfection as always. everything fresh and you can see whats happening in the kitchen as its right under your nose

Thank ebobopa
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We ‘always’ try to please and many thanks for pointing out that we get it right. It is a pleasure to receive reviews such as yours. Thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Alfresco dining with harbour views. Sometimes have to wait for a table, however worth it. Food is amazing. Very popular little place because folkes know a good place when they find one. Pat on back for being able to serve up great food from such...More

Thank Pinkyppurple
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your fab review and comments.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came across Rachel's after a coastal walk to visit the cliffs where the Drama series Broadchurch was filmed. The outdoor seating is close to the harbour and you can watch the world go by. When we first got to the counter we had to wait...More

Thank Rita P
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review. Sorry you felt ignored when you first arrived, I expect the staff member was taking a booking on Rachel’s mobile prior to the commencement of service. Hopefully we’ll see you again another day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for one o'clock, got table at 20 past. There are only a few tables. Waited maybe 20 minutes for food but was it good! Fish fresh and lightly battered, excellent vegetables. Prawns large and flavoursome. Very good value for money. Drawbacks: you can't book...More

Thank Fermor9
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed everything you had.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Love this place. Fish is always fresh and beautifully cooked , and the chips are ether best! Worth the wait!

Thank Alison C
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks Alison for your excellent feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my wife returned from South Devon from Holiday, Stopped of here for lunch. We both had Fish Stew, It was so Lovely very tasty, pack with fish, prawns and mussels. Earlier in the year came here after a owner of a B&B in...More

Thank Michael B
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow. We appreciate your excellent review. We are delighted you’ve enjoyed your visits to us and look forward to seeing you again if you are passing through the area.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Baboo Gelato Ltd
118 reviews
.14 km away
Riverside Restaurant
742 reviews
.20 km away
Seagulls Restaurant
388 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
151 reviews
.33 km away
West Bay Harbour
949 reviews
.08 km away
West Bay Canoes
103 reviews
.14 km away
The Customs House
55 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GavCla11
12 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Hello. I don't believe so as it's been a very hectic summer and everyone is shattered by closing time. Sorry to disappoint.
0
Votes
Nick H
7 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Debs B | Reviewed this property |
yes there were dogs there when we visited.
0
Votes
Magpiesaint
29 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Looking at Facebook they are open from 11.30-3.30 fri to mon but opening daily from April. Weather dependant. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$16
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 03:00
Monday
00:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 03:00
Thursday
00:00 - 03:00
Friday
00:00 - 03:00
Saturday
00:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 7974 314277
Description
Rachel's is open daily from 12md to 3pm. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons. We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook. Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service. Rachels will close for the 2017season on the 28th October.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing