We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Albany

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Queens Road, Thames Ditton KT7 0QY, England
+44 20 8972 9163
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 475: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great atmosphere very friendly and attentive staff, nothing was too much trouble. Our waitress was very attentive and professional. Will definitely be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Teresa N
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Teresa N, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that your visit at the Albany was enjoyable. I passed your comments to my team and they were happy to hear that you spent nice time with us. Best wishes, Claudia Laskowska Deputy Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Same table, two meals of a totally different quality, one good one bad. Saved by the waitress and waiter. Would I come back, reluctantly due to the excellent location, not for the food.

Helpful?
Thank jsainsbury
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi jsainsbury, I am sorry to hear about your disappointing visit and that you were unhappy with quality of your meal. Could you please contact me directly on 02089729163 or at enquiry@the-albany.co.uk to discuss this matter further. Best wishes, Claudia Laskowska Deputy Manager More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We dined early as we knew the kitchen is open all day.This is a bonus as there are no set dining times.We both enjoyed our mushroom soup which had great depth of flavour.The fish platter had a generous helping of prawns in Bloody Mary cocktail sauce.Smoked salmon and mackerel were fresh and flavoursome.My husbands steak and ale pie was delicious... More 

Helpful?
Thank PoloSurrey
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Polosurrey, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I'm glad you found the food, service, and setting to your liking. We too cannot wait for the weather to improve so our guests can enjoy the outdoor seating. See you over the summer. Best wishes, Rory O'Neill General Manager More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for dinner with grown up daughter. Had lovely table in window overlooking the river. Decor spartan/modern with box like wooden tables and chairs but comfortable enough and place was roomy and airy with high ceiling so great place to have a chat. Just what we wanted. Shared a starter and had a main course each with a bottle of... More 

Helpful?
Thank discerninglyenglish
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi discerninglyenglish, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I am delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your evening. I hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Rory O'Neill General manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went here for a birthday lunch. The "machine" lost our order. About an hour after sitting down we finally got our order - it was only a couple of sandwiches the steak one was overcooked and tough, the fish finger one was undercooked and sloppy. Never again!

Helpful?
Thank Colin S
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Colin S, I am sorry to hear about your disappointing visit. We are in a process of improving our service and your feedback is really valuable for us. Could you please contact me directly at enquiry@the-albany.co.uk or on 02089729163 to discuss this matter further and invite you to visit us again so that we may restore your faith in... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I think 3.5 would be a more accurate reflection, it was a good experience and the food was tasty but my pet peeve is always leaving somewhere where you have paid 11 odd quid for a main and still feeling hungry. I may be an absolute fatty when it comes to this but even after having a starter I still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edward W
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Edward, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I'm glad to hear that you had a good experience at the Albany and you were happy with service which we delivered. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal size. I hope to see you again. Best wishes Claudia Laskowska Deputy Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We visited this place on a sunday, 3 kids and 6 adults. We arrived before our reservation time so had drinks at the bar. The whole place is used as a restaurant so no indoor seating area for just drinks. All the tables were being used but we were a large group and didnt mind standing/using some of the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2mumstravel
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Rory looked after us as if we were hi own personal guests. Fabulous, delicious food, really comfortable tables whether you're sitting in the 'dedicated Restaurant area' or in the Bar area, which still has the same level of impeccable service. Lovely ambiance, wonderful friendly & accommodating staff & of course the best view of HAMPTON COURT PALACE from the opposite... More 

Helpful?
Thank jesamy1326
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi jesamy 1326, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our food, service and ambience. We hope to see you in the summer time when you can enjoy sitting outside by the river. Best wishes, Claudia Laskowska Deputy Manager More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

I meet friends for lunch regularly and as on previous visits the food was delicious and the staff lovely.Although it was extremely busy they were relaxed and efficient.We had mushrooms and the fried brie to start and the fish,chicken a nd wagyu burger for mains and all were great.

Helpful?
Thank SUELEWIS936
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Suelewis936, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at the Albany even if it was extremely busy. I will pass your comments to our head chef and staff who will be happy to hear that they made your visit pleasant. Best wishes, Claudia Laskowska Deputy Manager More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Another lovely meal at the Albany We always meet here with family who live in Sussex as a nice meeting point. We all had the scallops to start and all happy with our mains which were either steak or the vegetable tarte . Children are if kids menu but my 7 year old insisted on Salmon which we explained was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jilldecroos
TheAlbany, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi jilldecroos, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are all happy that you enjoyed your meal at the Albany. I passed your comments to our chefs and a waitress which was serving you that day and they were all glad to hear that you spent a lovely time at our pub. We all hope... More 

Travellers who viewed The Albany also viewed

Thames Ditton, Surrey
East Molesey, Surrey
 
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Thames Ditton, Surrey
 
Thames Ditton, Surrey
 

Been to The Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$34
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Queens Road, Thames Ditton KT7 0QY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Thames Ditton
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8972 9163
Description
You will find The Albany at the end of Queens Road, on the River Thames. Sat in between two boat clubs and with Hampton Court Palace on the other side of the river there’s not many better places to sit back, relax and watch the world go by. The warm hospitality, internal decor, fresh food, daily specials, continental lagers, log fires, real ales and outside terrace & beer garden make this a great pub for all occasions and seasons.Come down and check it out for yourself.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Albany and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Albany staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?