We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gululu Restaurant

133, Triq Spinola, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2133 3431
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good42%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“rabbit” (194 reviews)
“pizza” (88 reviews)
“maltese bread” (17 reviews)
Closes in 5 min
18:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
133, Triq Spinola, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (2,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We came here having been recommended it as a great place to eat but staff looked disinterested when we arrived. Waited a little while for food and had the spaghetti with rabbit and marrow fat peas! (Odd combination!) pretty average overall, nothing specialMore

Thank rlms2244
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Please accept our sincere apologies for the staff's behaviour and the wait on the food. Would you be so kind as to get in touch with us at info@gululu.com,mt to let us know the date and time of your visit so that we can look...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were greeted by friendly staff who quickly served us our food. The cranberry juice though tasted strange and fake. However this isn't the restaurants fault. The food had interesting taste of flavours and would call it average, though this may just be my liking....More

Thank zozi l
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review and thank you for complimenting our staff. Martin

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our impression about the food is like “comme ci comme ca”. The pasta with rabbit and the other one with calamari were ok. The pizza and another dish with baked spaghetti were awful. Too expensive, probably because of the spot(by the sea of Spinola bay).

Thank Aliki S
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for yuor review Aliki. if you would like to get in touch with us directly to give us more detailed feedback you may reach us at info@gululu.com.mt we would be happy to hear from you Martin

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Restora located near to the sea has very tasty food, kind staff and excelent service. Fish we eat was excelent and fresh as well as pasta. If you make a resrvation for the garden table on top of tasty food and drink you may enjoy...More

Thank dragana j
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and the compliments. Always at your service Martin

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here on our first night in Malta as we wanted to try some authentic cuisine, the portions here are large! We had a bread and dips starter, the dips weren’t something that I enjoyed but that is down to personal taste. I had...More

Thank 2Foodies1980
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and for the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again should you visit Malta again. Martin

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were disappointed that this Maltese kitchen wasn't a better example of the lovely cuisine here. We were treating our niece and her new husband who just arrived in Malta, and this experience was a bit embarrassing. It seemed to take forever between the starter...More

Thank concordia39
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry to read that the food did not meet your expectations completely. Please also accept our sincere apologies for the long wait between starter and main course. Thank you for your observation about the food allergen declaration, which we have taken note of....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not sure if we were unlucky or if things have changed...whilst all the food we ate was up to expectations, the starter platter was a big let down. We were hosting two foreign visitors and had talked up how great Maltese sausage is and so...More

Thank npm108
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to this restaurant for the location, and it can't be beat. It is very busy and it can be confusing when you first come where to find a seat. The food was good, not great, but not bad. The service was good, but...More

Thank Corinne L
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and for the feedback Corinne. If you would like to get in touch with us directly at info@gululu.com.mt to give us more detailed feedback we would appreciate this and would be happy to hear from you. Best regards Martin

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the service was excellent, the atmosphere left much to be desired. We were seated inside but we felt cold all through the evening as the door leading to outside tables was constantly left open. Money versus food expectation left much to be desired..two of...More

Thank Mario C
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and feedback Mario, and apologies for the food not meeting your expectations. We will certainly look into this to continue to improve on our offering. if you would also like to get in touch with us directly to give us...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second time at this restaurant. both times the staff and food has been amazing. Added to this is the fact that you can sit outside looking into the beautiful bay!

Thank William V
Martin S, Manager at Gululu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you William, it was our pleasure serving you. Always at your service Martin

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 141 hotels in Island of Malta
Hotel Juliani
1,456 reviews
.11 km away
Spinola Hotel
270 reviews
.15 km away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
205 reviews
.16 km away
Argento Hotel
1,011 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lulu Restaurant
1,256 reviews
.09 km away
Ristorante Il Ponte
230 reviews
.03 km away
1927
717 reviews
.07 km away
The Dubliner
534 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Flyboard Malta
531 reviews
.16 km away
Spinola Bay
1,881 reviews
.08 km away
Portomaso Marina
687 reviews
.25 km away
The Casino at Portomaso
158 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gululu Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 133, Triq Spinola, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Saint Julian's
  • Phone Number: +356 2133 3431
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing