We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fox and Hounds

€€ - €€€British, ,
Alfreton Road, Coxbench DE21 5BA, England
+44 1332 880835
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“belly pork” (20 reviews)
“steak ale pie” (4 reviews)
“pudding” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Alfreton Road, Coxbench DE21 5BA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 264 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Called in today (Friday afternoon) and it was closed (most local pubs open all day Friday through the weekend). The door was unlocked and the lights on but was told inside that it was closed. Not a problem but when I enquired if dogs were...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank dianenheath
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very disappointed with our meal yesterday. The pub had been recommended by a friend but the service was very slow, it took an age just to get our starters. Then for mains two of our party had the liver but neither could eat...More

Date of visit: November 2018
5  Thank Steven B
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

In my opinion - The dogs a snob too. Please don't rush back at all. Tracie and John.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As other reviews have said, the wait for the food is a bit long, but the food is excellent, so worth it. We were a group of 11 hikers stopping off for lunch. They were very helpful and accommodating. If we're in the area again,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Laurelin_23
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit, and also for your review. We were very happy that you had such a good time, and our food gave you the energy to finish off your walk. Yes, as we always openly say "great food like ours...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this pub after finding reviews online, and were very pleased with the quality of the food and service of staff. The food is freshly prepared so you have to expect a wait (the notice board does tell you this), but it is certainly...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Edward O
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Edward, Thanks for your review, it was amazing that someone has actually read our Bumf, believed it, and was happy to wait! We thank you for your recognition of the high quality work, and professionalism of all our staff, and I am really grateful...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on recommendation but warned that service is slow . We didn’t actually notice that the service was slow as busy chatting with friends . But WOW the food was worth the wait . We had a variety of starters ( fish cakes amazing )...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank martinabK7708LH
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your great review. It's fantastic that you enjoyed your whole dining experience so much here at the 'Fox', and we are extremely happy that you think we are worthwhile visiting. We all try very hard to meet the highest standards...More

Reviewed 9 November 2018

Have been a couple of times over the past few weeks and both times I had fish and chips while my different companions had steak pie. Both occasions were exceptional. As the info. says, everything is cooked to order but the wait is not too...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank bazatpond
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am so sorry about your less than perfect beer, you definitely should have said and we would have sorted it out for you, Don't know if we hadn't 'pulled off' enough for the start of the day or if it might have almost gone....More

Reviewed 2 November 2018

Called for Lunch after shopping trip for a meal. Friendly greeting on arrival, shown to nice table. Decided to go for the Thai Prawn dish as a starter off the quick bite Menu. It was excellent, TBH it filled us up so eating the main...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Macabethiel
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Thank you very much for your great review, It's good to hear you enjoyed the prawns from our 'Quick Lunch Menu,' and you would have been a bit stuffed, having had a main from the A la Carte too, the prawns are quite a portion,...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018

First time visit but highly recommend this location for a quality meal and very good service. Visited with friends on a Friday evening and though not busy we had a very enjoyable evening with very good service from our waitress and delicious meals. We had...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Andy W
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you very much for visiting us and enjoying our welcome, service, food, and ambiance. I will have to discuss our portion sizes with Tracie if they are so good that we don't leave you enough room for a pudding. It does seem that we...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Tuesday night treat. We both went for the belly pork. I have had it before and I wasn’t let down. We both very very much enjoyed. We had brownie and meringue options for pudding and although our original menu choices were no longer available the...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank adeleandgaz
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you very much for you review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to us. We are very sorry that we let you down because of the lack of staff, we were very surprised how busy we were on the night you...More

Reviewed 27 September 2018

First visit for years to this pub, there was a few of us as it was a birthday meal. Rachael who was working behind the bar was fantastic, warm & welcoming. The meals were wonderful, tasted & looked great and we all thought it was...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Paul N
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you very much, It was a pleasure to welcome your party, and so rewarding that you all enjoyed your time with us. Now you've ventured here after so long, let's hope that we enjoy your company again soon. Catering for a reasonably large party...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Horsley Lodge
440 reviews
1.80 km away
Makeney Hall Hotel
1,191 reviews
2.25 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1,362 reviews
2.29 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
753 reviews
3.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Little Kitchen
37 reviews
2.11 km away
The Wheel Inn
23 reviews
2.17 km away
The Old Oak
10 reviews
2.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
East Midlands Golf Academy - Day Classes
10 reviews
3.69 km away
The White Hart Inn Stanley
22 reviews
4.31 km away
Duffield Castle
9 reviews
2.75 km away
St Matthew's Church, Morley
9 reviews
3.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AndrewB709
29 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tracie T | Property representative |
I am sorry for my late response to your question. Yes, we do provide a great deal to cater for those with gluten free dietary requirements. All our sauces are gluten free, we will cook our fish in rice flour batter or cook... More
0
Votes
108caseyb
26 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tracie T | Property representative |
Hello, I thought I had replied to this yesterday, I am sorry for the delay. No, we do not allow dogs into the Fox and Hounds, except of course 'Assistance Dogs', oh, and sometimes the 'Pub Dog'. Our reasoning for this is... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$32
Meals
Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:30
Tuesday
17:00 - 08:30
17:30 - 20:30
Wednesday
05:30 - 20:30
Thursday
05:30 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Alfreton Road, Coxbench DE21 5BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Coxbench
  • Phone Number: +44 1332 880835
  • E-mail
Description
We are a welcoming Country Pub with restaurant quality dining; serving real homemade food, everything from a British classic Homemade short-crust pastry pie; thru our succulent yet crispy roasted belly pork; to wild venison and seasonal game. We cook everything as you order it; yes really, our pie is hand crimped with pastry, and baked in the oven there and then so its crisp and golden when it is served to you; your fish is lightly cooked to maintain its delicate nature and all our meats are cooked and rested to allow it to relax and be luscious and tender. On Sundays we serve a traditional Sunday British Roast - no sandwiches, chips or reconstituted factory food. We don't just serve food either; we have space to relax and have a drink or two, and a reserved bar area, in the evening, so you can sit and chat sharing your 'poision', be it, a bottle of wine; a coffee; pint of great cask ale; or some of our twenty or more specialist gin's. Relaxing here at the Fox and Hounds Coxbench with your family, friends or lover, couldn't be more enjoyable anywhere!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing