We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Thrupp Wharf, Cosgrove MK19 7BE, England
+44 1908 926270
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

512 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 509: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for a birthday Sunday lunch and it was really dissapointing. There were 10 of us. The table services was ok but the food was very poor. I ordered the Sunday roast and received a small piece of fatty meat which was poor for the cost of a Sunday lunch the roast potatoes tasted like they had been sitting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jayganbini
TheNavCosgrove, Front Office Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear of your bad experience with us and thank you so much for bringing it to our attention. Could you please supply some contact details to enquiries@oakmaninns.co.uk as well details of any booking that was made or the name you were seated in the restaurant under. This will enable us to contact you directly about the... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had been meaning to go for a while, so on a nice sunny day we went for lunch. It is certainly a nice spot to sit and watch the boats and ducks float by. The food was very good, reasonable prices although it seemed to take "ages" to arrive. When ordering for kids you sort of need things to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
TheNavCosgrove, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for raising these issues with us; it's important that our guests feel that they can bring things like this to our attention. We do face challenges, especially during peak times where our regular service times can slip a little; did you complain about this to anyone in the management Team at the time as I'd hope that your... More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
464 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Blessed with a sunny day when we visited, this pub is a beauty. Whilst it is owned by Oakman Inns, it doesn't feel part of a group or chain - it's like a real "one off". Beautiful deck overlooking the Grand Union Canal and a decent beer garden. Inside the pub, they've paid homage to the old brickwork and inglenooks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robsski
TheNavCosgrove, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so, so much for this. We are very blessed to have such a wonderful property in our care and the canalside views just add the icing on the cake. We've tried very hard to make sure that we've kept the local community character at the heart of what we offer. I'm so glad that we seem to be... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After years of visiting this gloriously located canal side pub, and being disappointed with the rickety seemingly self built conservatory on stilts out back that was terribly drafty and uninviting in the winter months, (breathe) today's visit with a party of eight for a birthday was a revelation. A lot of money has been lavished on transforming the space from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BooRadley6969
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Hi BooRadley6969 Thanks for such a wonderful review. We're so delighted to hear your birthday meal with us was such a success - scrumptious food paired with first-class service and a view to match. We look forward to your return in the near future. Regards Pedro and The Navigation Inn team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I came to the Navigation for a late lunch for 8 people. We booked a couple of weeks in advance and couldn't wait to eat in this place for the first time. When we arrived we originally were put in a room out the back - my fault I didn't realise that there were two sections in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barhopper94
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Hey Barhopper94 Thanks for such a wonderful, glowing review! It sounds like you were exceptionally served with scrumptious food and beautiful canal views. We're delighted you and your family had an excellent birthday meal with us. We'll be sure to pass your thanks to the whole team and we look forward to your return. Regards Pedro and The Navigation Inn... More 

Level Contributor
143 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch for 8 and food when it arrived was ok but service was poor slow and wouldn't encourage my return overall food was ok but we had the wait over 45 mins after starters and no acknowledgment of our wait or inconvenience I guess they've survived because they're in such a good location

Helpful?
Thank Earmas
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Hi Earmas Thanks for the review. We're so sorry for the delayed service you received - this is a rarity and we can only apologise. In future, if your food isn't 100% and up to the highest of standards, please do let us know at the time of dining so we can rectify this for you. We hope you'll return... More 

Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful birthday meal last night,food and all staff excellent, children menu much the same as adults choices which is good and the waiter looked after my granddaughter who is 5 very well.thank you for a most enjoyable first meal with you.

Helpful?
1 Thank 299bee
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Hey 299bee Thanks for the review. It's so wonderful to hear you were welcomed for your Birthday meal, with fab food and service to match. We look forward to your next visit with us. Regards Pedro and The Navigation Inn team More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just went for a quick lunch. Ordered a club sandwich which i had to wait 40min for. Was yummy though. Shame about the wait. It was very busy even for week day lunch time. Then a nice walk along the canal to walk it off. Very friendly and sociable.

Helpful?
Thank Velta B
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Hi Velta B Thanks for the review. We're delighted to hear your sandwich was yummy, but we're sorry you had to wait for it. Sometimes we can get a little busy meaning there's a wait for food, but it sounds like it was worth it. We hope you'll enjoy another scrumptious meal with us soon, before or after a canal-side... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been here a few times and popped in for lunch the other day. If you're a foodie, you will love the menu - there's nothing else like this in the local area. The menu is varied and offers dishes that are that little bit different to anyone else. Yesterday, we both had the same for lunch - soup and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny M
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Hey Penny M Thanks for the fab review. We're delighted you enjoyed your sandwich and soup - sounds scrumptious. We'll be sure to take into account the noise levels in the main restaurant, we really appreciate your feedback. Looking forward to your next visit - sounds like a cosy fireside lunch is on the cards. Regards Pedro and The Navigation... More 

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food is ok at this canal side pub. Milton Keynes suffers from too many chain restaurants and this isn't one. Because of that it's pretty busy most of the time and booking ahead is a good idea. Wouldn't say the food is exceptional, but it's not bad, well presented in a nice environment.

Helpful?
Thank billandbex
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Hey billandbex Thanks for taking the time to review The Navigation Inn. We're pleased to hear you're a fan of our individuality whilst being surrounded by chain restaurants. It's great to hear you enjoyed your food - but we're disappointed you only found it to be 'not bad'. If, in future, your food isn't up to the highest of standards,... More 

Travellers who viewed Navigation Inn also viewed

Cosgrove, Northamptonshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Kingswood, Aylesbury
Great Horwood, Milton Keynes
 

Been to Navigation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Mediterranean, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Thrupp Wharf, Cosgrove MK19 7BE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Cosgrove
  • Phone Number: +44 1908 926270

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Navigation Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Navigation Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?