We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$14
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
219
147
67
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
219
147
67
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes salad carrot cake chicken cumberland sausage burger tea room well worth a visit coffee stop half way lovely surroundings lovely lunch specials board lovely gift shop beautiful place basket dog
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 13 November 2020

The whole experience was easy and a delight. The coffee was delicious and the food wholesome. I have read other comments on here about paper cups and food, but I have been to any establishment that does not use take away cups at the present...time and they had to change their menu due to the restrictions. I wish people were a little more tolerant in these difficult times. However, we will definitely be back and supporting them on reopening and looking forward to them getting back into full swing.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 September 2020

Having seen some of the responses to critical reviews, it has taken me a couple of weeks to draft this review. The good things: lovely building, lovely setting, delicious cakes. The poor things; a cup of tea which is a teabag in a paper cup....I am presuming the tearoom has cups and a dishwasher, and PPE. Therefore I do think, like other businesses, that tea and coffee could be served in cups. Hopefully this will be the case when it reopens, The queues. There was one person taking orders and making drinks, this led to a slightly chaotic atmosphere and an unnecessarily long wait. The wrap - this was one of the most meanly filled sandwiches I have had, I really had to search for it. It has been raised a couple of times - Why didn’t you raise this with us at the time? The answer is twofold: after quite a wait for food etc, we couldn’t hang around to raise it. Secondly, there were not many staff around, and those we saw were rushing around, I wish the business well when it comes back - hopefully renewed and energised - in 2021.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 31 August 2020

I know these are difficult times but I am not prepared to pay over £5 for two coffees in small paper cups. Also had scones which were fine. I live not too far away and I have heard friends make a similar comment. Plenty of...visitors to the cafe at the moment, which I suppose helps them, but I will not be returning until theycan offer me a coffee in a cup. (Other cafes seem to manage to use cups.)More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 15 August 2020 via mobile

There is a lovely tea room, plus tourist information and shop here. Well worth a visit here after your visit to the priority. We had tea and coffees, and slices of red velvet cake. They are using paper cups and plates at the moment due...to covid restrictions, so be careful to hang on tightly to everything in a high wind!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 July 2020 via mobile

It’s incredibly difficult to write a review in the current slightly weird post-coronavirus world. Allowances must be made for the unusual situation that restaurants find themselves in, but even so, it’s important to be honest and open. First of all: the good. The restaurant has...been well set up with clear signage to direct customers. I would argue that potentially some of the tables near the door and the walkway to the toilet should be moved as it is very hard to allow for social distancing, however otherwise it is clear and well signposted. The signs do ask that only one person queues to order food and that people do not lean on or touch the counter, however that was routinely ignored by the customers, although not challenged (I appreciate this can be difficult to do.) The staff were friendly and helpful, but not nearly enough of them. As a result each order took well in excess of 5 minutes. I queued for 25 minutes just to reach the till. There was a further 20 minute wait to for food to come out. Again, that isn’t a problem, however when a menu is reduced and only contains sandwiches, it’s a shame that it does take so long. The sandwiches themselves were tasty, but woefully under-filled. My partner had to hunt for his tuna mayonnaise. Also, not served with any garnish or crisps - considering the price this was a disappointment. The cakes were lovely, however. I can recommend the tray bakes heartily. Another small matter is the hot drinks. I find it bizarre that for all the crockery, they now only use takeaway cups. I ordered a tea and was given a teabag, a paper cup of hot water and two UHT milk sachets. Not good for the price. Also, disposable crockery is really not environmentally sound and there is no reason not to use proper crockery, as detergent kills covid. I applaud any business that is operating in these difficult times, and I really hope Lanercost Tea Rooms continues to do well, but on a few things at the moment they are slightly missing the mark. I would definitely visit again, however mainly for the cakes.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Joanne-LTR, Owner at Lanercost Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2020

It has taken me a week to respond to this review which has really upset me, my family and friends say I should put it aside and not take it personally but it's hard for me to do that. For something that is titled 'I...More

Reviewed 18 July 2020

We met a friend here for a coffee around 11:30. No loose leaf tea in a teapot - throwaway cups and teabags. ‘No teapots because of covid’ Seems a pity as covid killed by detergent and good washing up, but the home baked scone was...good, also the chocolate orange slice. We liked it enough to plan to return after our walk in the rain. Door sign and Facebook gave 4pm closing. We returned from our walk at 3:35 and were told that they closed at 3:30. They pointed to some very small handwriting on a single board saying last orders at 3:30. We were quite cold and a little damp (not anti-socially so) and really disappointed that they didn’t want to serve us. I would have been much less upset if the staff had been friendly or apologetic with it - But they really were hostile and unhelpful. It is miles from there to any other place (and we had each travelled an hour to meet dear friends half way between our locations). They eventually very grudgingly sold us some warm water In paper cups, with teabags in sachets and milk. We were out by 4 of course. This was a huge contrast to the the many other places we visited in our week’s holiday, where people were careful and safe but friendly and welcoming. Would not go back.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Joanne-LTR, Owner at Lanercost Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2020

Thank you for your positive comments about the home bakes scone and traybakes you enjoyed. I am sorry if you were not happy with our closing times and if you felt we were not helpful. We do try and communicate our opening times and did...More

Reviewed 18 July 2020 via mobile

This beautiful tea room is everything a tea room should be. It offers teas and coffees, a gorgeous array of cakes and biscuits, and a lovely gift shop. The toffee cake was to die for. My girlfriend and I particularly liked the Bark and Brew...dog cafe attached to it and the mesmerising display of dogs on the wall of fame. I also love that they took our details for Track and Trace. It's such a tedious thing to do but in these times, its necessary. I felt safe, with everything being visibly sanitized. The staff really take care of the venue and the customers.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Joanne-LTR, Owner at Lanercost Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2020

Thank you so much for your 5 star rating and lovely comments in your review. They are very much appreciated, thank you again. Kind regards Victoria

Reviewed 15 July 2020 via mobile

Popped in after our visit to the Priory and really enjoyed it. Sadly the kitchen had just closed so I could not get a panini, however the cakes were delicious. The team room was spotless and really good social distancing measures in place

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Joanne-LTR, Owner at Lanercost Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2020

We really do appreciate your 5 star rating and review comments, thank you so much. Kind regards Victoria

Reviewed 27 March 2020

I visited here with my mum for a mid-week lunch. I had never been before but my mum has. There is dedicated parking. The car park is large and we had no trouble getting parked. The venue is large, light and airy. The decor is...lovely and it was very nicely laid out. You order at the till and pay before your food is brought. I ordered a halloumi toastie and my mum ordered the ploughman's lunch. The food didn't take too long to come out. My toastie was okay. The 'slaw wasn't very nice but the toastie was nice enough. I didn't taste any of the sticky jam that was meant to be in there though. My mum's ploughman's was tiny. There as barely any selection on the plate and it wasn't a 'meal', more like a side dish. Nothing tasted unpleasant. At all. But the prices for what you get are ridiculous. If the price of the ploughman's was because you got a selection of local artisan cheeses and breads or something then it'd be a bit more understandable. But she got a bit of standard cheddar and a slice of brie! We were both still hungry but refused to pay the cake prices (also extortionate) on top of what we had already paid for basic cafe food. The toilets are small but clean and tidy. There is a small gift shop that had a variety of things with a good range of prices for all budgets. I wouldn't rule out revisiting. But it won't be top of my list for those prices!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Joanne-LTR, Owner at Lanercost Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2020

First of all I am sorry that you felt as you did regarding your experience with us, to have written so much in such detail without saying anything to us at the time is very disappointing. I suppose a good part of the review is...More

Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

My daughter and I had lunch here yesterday ! Could not fault the service and friendliness of staff . I gad the sweet potato and beetroot soup A large bowlful with fresh brown bread my daughter enjoyed her falafel wrap with fries ! We fished...with a large pot of tea and carrot cake to share which was lovely !? I also appreciate being able to help myself to water to drink too ! No complaints will return soon 👍More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Joanne-LTR, Owner at Lanercost Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2020

So sorry I overlooked saying thank you for this review pre lockdown. It is much appreciated and your 5 stars along with your kind comments are received with grateful thanks. Kind regards Victoria

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Oakwood Park Hotel
166 reviews
3.35 km away
Farlam Hall Hotel & Restaurant
37 reviews
3.86 km away
Vallum Barn
59 reviews
6.22 km away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
732 reviews
9.04 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bite Cafe and Tearooms
167 reviews
2.01 km away
The Reading Room at Walton
86 reviews
3.46 km away
Birdoswald Roman Fort Cafe
9 reviews
6.56 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lanercost Priory
398 reviews
.12 km away
New Mills Trout Fishing Park
214 reviews
2.03 km away
Old Vicarage Brewery
14 reviews
4.24 km away
Talkin Adventures
24 reviews
4.70 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Lanercost Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing