We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Huntsman Inn

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 High Street, Ide, Exeter EX2 9RN, England
+44 1392 272779
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 182: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I always like coming to this pub! Not due to the banter but due to excellent service. All staff are friendly and some if your lucky, entertaining! Atmosphere is lovely, especially with the refurb! Prices are reasonably cheap!

Helpful?
Thank mysterygal97
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arrived first to meet my husband one saturday lunchtime to a cold pub with a cold welcome. The female assistant was chatting to her colleague some distance from the bar area and after several minutes she said to her co worker 'I will just serve that woman' like a paying customer was an inconvenience to her other more important... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare S
Huntsman Inn I, Owner at Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt the need to give such a scathing review, however what you failed to mention was that your original query regarding the bill was of being undercharged as your husband wasn't aware that you had paid for your drinks separately and at the time nothing was mentioned regarding overcharging. We apologise for the error that... More 

Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table of nine for Sunday lunch, could not fault the service and the food was very good. We all had the roast with cheesecakes to finish. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it and it was great value.Lovely to go to a pub that is so friendly and your made to feel like one of the locals. We will certainly return... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This pub is local to me and my friends so we had no hesitation in booking here for a special birthday celebration. Although there were 13 of us we were comfortably seated next to a large roaring fire which gave the pub a cosy feeling. The Sunday Lunch menu is reasonably priced and offers plenty of choice for even the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justine B
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a family meal we all had something different and each meal was delicious great service from Andy

Helpful?
Thank debs572015
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Friendly people but the place was cold and the main course Sunday lunch was truly dreadful and very unimaginative. Pudding quite nice however.

Helpful?
2 Thank john l
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We stopped for supper on route to Cornwall because of proximity to A30 and were delighted with the choice. Food was tasty, beer and cider were great and service was efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Brizzley
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

We looked at the pub via its website, tripadvisor and personal recommendations about the quality of the food and atmosphere. The website stated that they were doing Pizzas on a Tuesday, so we went along only to be told that they did not do food on a Tuesday. We were disappointed as no where on their website did we see... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
Huntsman Inn I, Owner at Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Hi. I'm very sorry that we were unable to help. We have lost a member of staff in the last two weeks so have had to cut service on Tuesdays in the short term. Once again we apologise for the inconvenience caused. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

We went here for Sunday lunch. It was our first visit and we were very impressed by the friendly staff and the original menu. Would definitely go there again next time we visit the area.

Helpful?
Thank 699josephine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Same drinks, three rounds, every round a different price AND every round overpriced! Felt used and abused by landlord and staff who knew we were on a night out as a large group. If we had been a small group we would have left in disgust at this blatant profiteering!

Helpful?
1 Thank mandalunap
Huntsman Inn I, Owner at Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Hi. I must admit to being somewhat confused by your review. I cannot comment on your point regarding mixed prices, other than to presume that different drinks were requested each time (this often happens with wine in particular) as our till is programmed so therefore the same drinks are the same price every time!!? As for you thinking we are... More 

Travellers who viewed Huntsman Inn also viewed

 

Been to Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 High Street, Ide, Exeter EX2 9RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Exeter  >  Ide
  • Phone Number: +44 1392 272779
Description
After 3 1/2 years of managing the Huntsman Andy has taken the reigns and has been joined again by Gary, our previous chef. The menu has been tweaked a little to include a selection of pub classics and a full range of dishes for the younger ones.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Huntsman Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Huntsman Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?