We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cleeve Hill €€ - €€€ , British,
Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
+44 1242 676281
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good37%
  • Average19%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (3 reviews)
“pudding” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Third time we d visited no change won't be going again ! .Ordered starters mush crayfish and mush we were having starters then deserts ,45 mins later after chasing the waitress for them .They arrived with noticeable fat on the plates warm soft with no...More

Thank Shirley M
Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic pub food. We had scallops and bacon as starters which was nice. The waitress was very helpful.

Thank julie W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We happened to drive by The Rising Sun on our way to Gloucester and spotted the sun-exposed terrace filled with picnic tables. Although it was already close to 6 o’clock, the sun was very present (end of April, mind you). We decided to have dinner...More

Thank Frank G
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely comments we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope you will come nd visit us again soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Waited hour from ordering for roast dinner. Really not worth waiting for. Over cooked meat and cold veg. Served two young children (one in high chair) a plate that the waitress was struggling to hold because it was so hot. Maybe a bad time, 5...More

Thank alan g
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback we are sad to hear that your roast meals were not to expectation and that the visit was not to our usual high standards, we will feed this back to our team and apologise. Kind Regards Geri

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent food exceptional value,was very busy as you would expect with a big restaurant. Ample car parking, lovely beer garden.

Thank Cheryl S
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments we hope you will come and visit us again soon. Thank you Geri

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The tastiest part of my meal was the still mineral water Slapdash :/ poor presentation s complete absence of flavour ( or quality of any kind, and he summer pudding was full of frozen chunks from having not been properly defrosted

Thank Jerome M
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback we are sad to hear that your meals were not to our usual high standard expectation, our sincere apologies we will pass your feedback to our team. Thank you Geri

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a table for our evening meal - glad we did it was very busy. Staff friendly and service was very good. Slow cooked rib of beef with pulled pork in whisky sauce was delicious. Greene King Abbot Ale for other half - so everyone...More

Thank ramblingwhiterose
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments we hope you will come and visit us again soon. Thank you Geri

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was really poor! Salmon was over cooked the cutlery was DIRTY table was sticky and the toilet was disgusting!!!! Only good things there a waiter Josh and the panorama view! Never will back!More

Thank vivienmolnar
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback as previously commented we apologise that your meal was not to our usual high standard and for the cutlery being dirty this has been fed back to our team to prevent this happening in the future. We will pass on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were today night....first things is a table was soooo sticky....the cutlery was dirty! I ordered the salmon with mash potatoes....mash potatoes was dry and salmon was over cooked.....after I told for the waiter who was really good and he was helpfully I'm not really...More

Thank Vivien M
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback we are sad to hear that the meal you ordered was not to our usual high standard and that your cutlery was dirty we apologise for this mistake. I will pass your lovely comments back to Josh. Thank you Geri

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in on a Sunday lunchtime. Initially quite pleased as plenty of tables and everywhere else in the area had been full. One dish was a fish assortment, asked if the plaice element could be replaced with cod. After checking with kitchen, advised not possible...More

Thank Pete S
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the meals that you had chosen, we will feedback the comments to our food quality team. Thank you of your lovely comments about our team we will pass these on. Geri

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Apple Tree Inn
363 reviews
.92 km away
Lowry's Espresso Bar & Chocolatier
30 reviews
2.37 km away
Royal Oak Inn
305 reviews
2.91 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cleeve Hill Golf Club
36 reviews
2.14 km away
Tithe Barn
16 reviews
2.47 km away
Bugatti Trust Visitor Center
8 reviews
3.12 km away
Gloucestershire Warwickshire Steam Railway
871 reviews
3.15 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Juliereesmorgan
What rooms are suitable if you have a dog and are there walks nearby?
8 February 2015|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from RLWilliams92 | Reviewed this property |
Loads of walks from rear of hotel, wonderful views across cheltenham. Dont know the answer re rooms with dogs. As we were a couple.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham  >  Cleeve Hill
  • Phone Number: +44 1242 676281
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing