We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loco Lounge

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
58 Surrey Street | Corner 2nd Avenue Harfield Village, Claremont 7708, South Africa
+27 21 671 6054
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Wester Cape
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Sat downstairs, limited service. Starter tacos, very nice but pricey for the portion size. Funny thing is that I've lived in the area for years and was advised against it. Stupidly, decided to give it a go and what a waste.

Helpful?
Thank D_Dubb015
lahaba, Owner at Loco Lounge, responded to this review

If you had sat upstairs in the fully decorated area and not the smoking area you might have experienced what Loco Lounges vision truly is. When connections give me advice, they usually know my preferences and I usually listen to them. We have many fans in the area and beyond, who understand our preservative free policy, but no restaurant can... More 

Brielle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017

If you want to eat the best ribs ever, go to this restaurant. Actually all their food is great, very friendly people, staff and owners.

Helpful?
Thank rmmBrielle
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2017

My mom has worked with Tom and Debbie in the past- and when I went to to visit Cape Town, she recommended that I try out their restaurant. I was traveling with two other friends and our visit to Claremont was outside of where we were staying. So happy that we had heard about this place, because it was probably... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margot B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Food delicious. Service terribly slow. Due to the early time of our booking (young children, school night) the restaurant was empty when we arrived so there was no excuse. But we will return as the food was so delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were very excited to try out Loco. So when valentine's day came up we thought it would be the perfect time to try something different. The reviews were great so we were really looking forward to it. We recieved a warm welcome upon arrival and we were promptly seated on 19h00. I immediately asked for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank bjamodfry
lahaba, Owner at Loco Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Bridgette, So sorry that you chose Valentines day to be the first time you come an try out Loco Lounge, it is an unusual day and no amount of planning can avoid one or two mishaps. This is the first time that we have run our normal menu so it was a little learning curve on trying to identify... More 

Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent food, atmosphere, service etc!! Our family of five had a meal we will never forget! Everything down to the sauces and cocktails have been perfected and made from all natural ingredients. We are in Cape Town (visiting from the US) for only a couple of days and we plan to return for another delicious meal before we go.

Helpful?
Thank abbieyardley
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We all loved this restaurant, so much so we stayed longer than intended as we were reluctant to leave. The food was delicious, fresh and homemade, organic with no preservatives or additives. There was a good selection of different foods, grouped into three main categories ... Meats, seafood and vegetarian, plus there is a great desert menu (brownies are to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sasha M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

It's not often we venture this far from Bree Street but definitely worth the visit! Great food and fantastic service, with every dish a winner! Laid back, the owner and staff will make you feel at home from your first visit-- and I am sure we will have many more!

Helpful?
Thank ZAwanderer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic family run, fresh and natural restaurant. Great environment and attention to detail. Books for the children to read were a great touch.. not fancy but very homely. We didn't love the wine list but the fruit juices were awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Giddykat
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We will keep going back to the Loco Lounge. After three great meals, great service, fantastic hosting we can honestly say this is a restaurant where you are unlikely to go wrong. Two of us had the pork ribs sous-vide which were great. The owner was ever present and a live wire in her own right. She was more than... More 

Helpful?
Thank NeilLMaun_Botswana
lahaba, Owner at Loco Lounge, responded to this review

And we just LOVE feeding you!!!! More 

Travellers who viewed Loco Lounge also viewed

Newlands, Cape Town
Claremont, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Claremont, Cape Town
 

Been to Loco Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$12
Cuisine
International, Contemporary, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 58 Surrey Street | Corner 2nd Avenue Harfield Village, Claremont 7708, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Claremont
  • Phone Number: +27 21 671 6054

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Loco Lounge and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Loco Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?