We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppies Cafe

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Cafe, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
272
104
30
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
272
104
30
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiche scones salad great coffee wicklow mountains quick bite ireland powerscourt cream cyclists village
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had coffee and sausage roll on saturday. €5. That's ok. Had coffee, sausage roll and toasted ham and cheese today easter sunday...€11. So €6 for a two slices of what seemed like sourdough, a sliver of ham like out of a packet, and hardly any...cheese. Not first time was overcharged though to be fair owner sorted promptly Taking the piss I'll go down the road in future.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kergman Firstly I'd like to thank you for letting me know of your experience. I've spoken to our chef, he was worried that filling the sambos and rolls too much might effect the internal core temperature, however from today onwards, we will be doubling...More

Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

We are avid walkers and often stop here for coffees or lunch. Today after our walk we got 2 coffees and 2 cream doughnuts to take out. This was at the ridiculous cost of €13. The cakes were €3.50 each and they weren’t even fresh....Both were were hard and tasted stale. It wasn’t very appealing as they were just put into a paper bag on top of each other. No napkin or separate wrap to keep them apart. Most things in the display were priced from what saw. Very disappointing. I doubt we will be back.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear Yum Yum, Thanks for writing your review, as it gives me an opportunity to fix things, although we make a lot of our desserts in house, like most cafes, we buy in a small selection. The cream donuts in question were delivered on the...More

Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

Coffee here is excellent. Lovely people watching in this quaint little village. Almost too many cyclists around but can’t control that.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear Annette, Just wanted to say thanks for taking the time to review us, we are trying our hardest to stay open during these difficult times and its nice when its appreciated Warm regards Peter

Reviewed 1 September 2020 via mobile

We travelled from South Wicklow to have lunch in Poppies, a cafe that we held dear to our hearts. Fond memories of great country cooking and lovely friendly staff. Well, this was a total let down. The food was pre made, the portions outrageously small...and lacking any flavour or quality. We opted for sandwiches, wraps toasted?? and coffees. My wife had to ask twice for her tuna melt to be actually melted. Even then, after the second time of receiving it, it was handed to her cold. This is a case of an establishment living off past glories but we should have guessed, as it was the only eatery in Enniskerry without a queue. A shame, as it was such a great spot.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Dear Dave, Thanks for taking the time to review us, as its gives me a chance to reply to your comments. Firstly, I'd like to apologise that your tuna wrap was not hot enough for you on two occasions, I will of course speak to...More

Reviewed 15 August 2020 via mobile

We stopped off here after a brief visit to powerscourt on our way home. It was a lovely morning and we had a a small fry and some french toast in the village square. Just lovely. Great staff and all very clean. Every table and...chair cleaned after each sitting.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear CMK79, sorry for the delay in replying. I just want to say thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review Warm regards Peter

Reviewed 23 July 2020 via mobile

was here today, and had a gorgeous breakfast, had my 3 young girls and the lady serving us couldn't have been nicee, good food and good service what more could you want, thanks

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear Jay, Sorry for the delay in replying, just wanted to say thanks for the review Warm regards Peter

Reviewed 10 July 2020

whacked up prices new takeaway containers rubbish , and the size of take away 1/3 of what it used to be , will not go there againMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2020

Dear Jason We appreciate your comments and would like to respond to them, when the pandemic started, due to a lot of businesses closed we could not source appropriate containers, and had to resort to the foil ones, these were not suitable but used them...More

Reviewed 4 July 2020

Visited on Saturday afternoon, very busy, but the welcome service and smile made everyone feel really welcome. Staff were under pressure but were very professional, everything done with a smile, no delays at all. We all thoroughly enjoyed the food and coffees. Really nice to...see people enjoy their job and engage with customers. Everyone knows good service, this service was another level up. Well done to all in Poppies and thank you .More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear Justin , Just wanted to write a short note to say thanks for the review, its really nice to get such great feedback Warm Regards Peter

Reviewed 27 February 2020

We love love love Poppies! Every time we are in Ireland and our favorite town of Enniskerry, we visit Poppies. We love their scones, jam and desserts and just the small town feel of it all. We were really bummed out because we visited about...a week ago to find the doors locked but with customers inside. Tried knocking but no one answered - must have had something going on. Really wanted to buy some jam but I guess there's always next time.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear Brandon, Firstly sorry for the delay in replying. I'm not sure what time of the day you visited but this is clearly unusual. On occasion customers sometimes inadvertently lock the door by mistake, I truly hope this was not the case!! I hope to...More

Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

Came here for breakfast. Not a good experience. Food wasn’t fresh, asked for Nutella pancakes and they gave us a pancake and a jar of Nutella. Crazy. Won’t be back.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear Tinkerthomas, Thank you for taking the time for reviewing us. Sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Our pancakes are freshly made in-house, and served with everyone's favourite Nutella. Warm Regards Peter Norton

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Summerhill House Hotel
748 reviews
.51 km away
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
3,426 reviews
1.23 km away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
1,519 reviews
4.31 km away
Wilton Hotel Bray
574 reviews
4.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Enniskerry Inn
217 reviews
.05 km away
Avoca Terrace Cafe
467 reviews
1.40 km away
Sika Restaurant
371 reviews
1.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Powerscourt Gardens and House
2,694 reviews
1.43 km away
Powerscourt Golf Club
149 reviews
.49 km away
ESPA at Powerscourt Hotel
100 reviews
1.05 km away
Cool Planet Experience
44 reviews
1.45 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lucymQ7249DN
21 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from peterpoppy | Property representative |
yes we do breakfast every day from 8am to 12 midday
0
Votes
EEMK7
26 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from peterpoppy | Property representative |
Hi Emily, we are not a vegan restaurant but we have some vegan options available but they change on a daily basis, our most popular would be vegetable potato cakes or our wraps, soups and salads are also vegan. Hope this... More
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Poppies Cafe

  • Yes, Poppies Cafe offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Poppies Cafe offers delivery services.

  • Poppies Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4.5