We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppies Cafe

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.
About
Poppies has been open since 1982, We offer a comprehensive range of food from breakfast, scones and jam for mid-morning and a full range of main dishes served with either salad or baked jacket potato throughout the day. We also serve tasty home baked desserts and a selection of confectionery and beverages.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Irish, Cafe, Healthy
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
275
106
30
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
275
106
30
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancakes apple pie soup bread ireland cream
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

Albeit slightly biased - anywhere in Ireland that is dog friendly automatically gets four stars. The fifth star is for the outstanding selection of food, the soup and home made bread was delightful as was the ham and cheese toastie. Super friendly staff and even...at busy times plenty of room to sit. Loved it!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 December 2021

Poppies seemed popular when we arrived, plenty of people around and both indoor and outdoor seating. The food looked inviting and the cakes and coffee were very good indeed. This was our third visit to Poppies and it’s very consistent. My only negative comment is...that the staff always seem grumpy, not rude or anything like that, just in bad form and it always feels like that. I assume it’s because they are always quite busy and they do appear to work very hard but a smile and a welcome doesn’t cost anything.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 December 2021

Everything you would have expected from a local village coffee shop. Lovely coffee and yummy desserts.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

We had breakfast here for our two day stay in Enniskerry. The coffee is lovely and the breakfast rolls, pancakes and pastries are delicious. The staff are so polite and helpful. A must place to stop off when u are in Enniskerry.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Poppy's is perfectly perfect we had 2cokes and I had the carnation chicken roll and my partner had the cheese and ham roll I never had a carnation roll like it they toasted it in the oven every bite was delicious it was so tasty...my partner said his roll was gorgeous. I then had a Portuguese custard tart and he had the apple pie heated with cream . I paid €20 for all . We had it outside at one of their tables it was an amazing atmosphere because the sets are being built for The new Disney movie Disenchanted .Poppies you run a fab business and your food is also fab .Can't wait to come back to your amazing Cafe .keep doing what your doing Poppies is a credit to you ❤️More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Had coffee and sausage roll on saturday. €5. That's ok. Had coffee, sausage roll and toasted ham and cheese today easter sunday...€11. So €6 for a two slices of what seemed like sourdough, a sliver of ham like out of a packet, and hardly any...cheese. Not first time was overcharged though to be fair owner sorted promptly Taking the piss I'll go down the road in future.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Hi Kergman Firstly I'd like to thank you for letting me know of your experience. I've spoken to our chef, he was worried that filling the sambos and rolls too much might effect the internal core temperature, however from today onwards, we will be doubling...More

Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

We are avid walkers and often stop here for coffees or lunch. Today after our walk we got 2 coffees and 2 cream doughnuts to take out. This was at the ridiculous cost of €13. The cakes were €3.50 each and they weren’t even fresh....Both were were hard and tasted stale. It wasn’t very appealing as they were just put into a paper bag on top of each other. No napkin or separate wrap to keep them apart. Most things in the display were priced from what saw. Very disappointing. I doubt we will be back.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear Yum Yum, Thanks for writing your review, as it gives me an opportunity to fix things, although we make a lot of our desserts in house, like most cafes, we buy in a small selection. The cream donuts in question were delivered on the...More

Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

Coffee here is excellent. Lovely people watching in this quaint little village. Almost too many cyclists around but can’t control that.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear Annette, Just wanted to say thanks for taking the time to review us, we are trying our hardest to stay open during these difficult times and its nice when its appreciated Warm regards Peter

Reviewed 1 September 2020 via mobile

We travelled from South Wicklow to have lunch in Poppies, a cafe that we held dear to our hearts. Fond memories of great country cooking and lovely friendly staff. Well, this was a total let down. The food was pre made, the portions outrageously small...and lacking any flavour or quality. We opted for sandwiches, wraps toasted?? and coffees. My wife had to ask twice for her tuna melt to be actually melted. Even then, after the second time of receiving it, it was handed to her cold. This is a case of an establishment living off past glories but we should have guessed, as it was the only eatery in Enniskerry without a queue. A shame, as it was such a great spot.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Dear Dave, Thanks for taking the time to review us, as its gives me a chance to reply to your comments. Firstly, I'd like to apologise that your tuna wrap was not hot enough for you on two occasions, I will of course speak to...More

Reviewed 15 August 2020 via mobile

We stopped off here after a brief visit to powerscourt on our way home. It was a lovely morning and we had a a small fry and some french toast in the village square. Just lovely. Great staff and all very clean. Every table and...chair cleaned after each sitting.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear CMK79, sorry for the delay in replying. I just want to say thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review Warm regards Peter

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Summerhill House Hotel
783 reviews
.51 km away
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
3,555 reviews
1.23 km away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
1,668 reviews
4.31 km away
Wilton Hotel Bray
585 reviews
4.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Avoca Powerscourt
480 reviews
1.40 km away
The Enniskerry Inn
236 reviews
.05 km away
Sika Restaurant
381 reviews
1.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Powerscourt Gardens and House
2,737 reviews
1.43 km away
Powerscourt Golf Club
149 reviews
.49 km away
ESPA at Powerscourt Hotel
103 reviews
1.05 km away
Cool Planet Experience
44 reviews
1.45 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lucymQ7249DN
21 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Peter N | Property representative |
yes we do breakfast every day from 8am to 12 midday
0
Votes
EEMK7
26 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Peter N | Property representative |
Hi Emily, we are not a vegan restaurant but we have some vegan options available but they change on a daily basis, our most popular would be vegetable potato cakes or our wraps, soups and salads are also vegan. Hope this... More
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Poppies Cafe

Yes, Poppies Cafe offers takeaway services.

Poppies Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5