We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Wicklow House

€€ - €€€Irish, , European
Main Street, Blessington ROI, Ireland
+353 45 865 214
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (8 reviews)
“wings” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Blessington ROI, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Beautiful food and friendly staff, ample choice on the menu with daily specials to choose from as well. Large plates of food you will not be hungry leaving here

Thank Geraldine O
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you were so happy with your visit and we hope we can continue to please you in the future. Peter & gang.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying at Avon ri for a few days which we do every year and popped in to west Wicklow house for our dinner as we do every year also. We weren’t disappointed, I had the roast chicken dinner but it was so good...More

Thank kelly f
West Wicklow Ho... B, General Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review, your best complement is your return visit. We are delighted you were so happy with your experience here with us at the West Wicklow House. We look forward to welcoming you back next year! Peter & all...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing place! Excellent food! Worth a visit to enjoy traditional food that too on main road. Ordered Lamb Shank and Chicken wings and turned out as best as ever had! Recommended for family or groups! Not that expensive and worth a try..

Thank Dixen E
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review. Delighted you enjoyed your visit and your meal so much. We hope you get a chance to come back to see us again soon!! Peter & gang

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, generous portions and delicious food! What more could you ask for? I had a simple roast beef sandwich with chips and it was so good. Hubby had the ham, and could barely finish but didn’t want to leave anything on his plate! I...More

Thank Jessie G
West Wicklow Ho... B, General Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit that much. We would be very happy to see you next time and spread the word!! Thanks so much Peter & team

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Had dinner here recently very nice food, barman very friendly our meal was out quickly and was piping hot and very good value for money. Would definitely eat here again.

Thank Carrie1930
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thanks for your visit and your nice review, glad you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you in with us again soon, sure we're only down the road!! Peter & gang

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Called on a Sunday after a long walk with the kids around the blessington Greenway, pub was very busy but were seated within a few minutes. Staff were very attentive and food was delicious. Kids menu was very good with proper sized portions. I had...More

Thank gary w
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for you review of the West Wicklow House Blessington, we are glad you enjoyed your walk and your visit here to the West. We hope to asee you back with us again on your next trip to Blessington. Peter & Gang

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Trip into Blessington stopped here for lunch asked the waitress which soup she recommended and it was fab Cream of mushroom with homemade brown bread. My son had cheeseburger with homemade chips and coleslaw. Followed by a lovely pot of tea excellent service and excellent...More

Thank Heather R
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Delighted you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. We have a choice of fresh homemade soups everyday and I'm sure you would have enjoyed our Louisiana Gumbo today !!! Hope to see you on your...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch with a group of friends. Service was impeccable and the food was amazing. The lamb shank was the best I've ever had- proper thick gravy and meat fell off the bone. Everyone else in the group said their food was fab,...More

Thank mallorykm
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you so much for your nice review and delighted you and your friends enjoyed your visit. We hope you liked Wicklow and maybe you'll be back again? If so make sure to pop back into us!! Peter & Gang!!

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Visited here for an evening meal and was not disappointed. My husband had the pea and ham soup and I can tell you that he thoroughly enjoyed it. He then had the roast and I had the mushrooms to start and then the hot roast...More

Thank Angela T
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit so much. We like to think we go that extra little bit to keep our customers happy and then they become our regular customers. We hope that we do indeed...More

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

The food was horrible. Dry chicken wings, suspicios pea and ham soup, no crust on the grilled salmon (looked like it was fried in a pan and reheated), burned buns and dry burgers. The staff was very slow and moody. One waitress was very nice...More

1  Thank Morosan A
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

We are suspicious about this review!!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bookstore Coffeeshop
49 reviews
.01 km away
Spice Village Indian Restaurant
76 reviews
.04 km away
Pizza 2000
27 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Russborough House
426 reviews
4.10 km away
Tulfarris Golf Club
45 reviews
5.42 km away
June Blake's Garden
27 reviews
5.49 km away
Hunting Brook Gardens
14 reviews
6.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
john f
29 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from West Wicklow Ho... B | Property representative |
Hi john it opens from 9am mon-Friday for breakfast followed by lunch from 12.30 and served food till 8.30pm. Plenty of great daily specials for lunch and evening food. Hope this helps
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:30
Thursday
10:00 - 23:30
Friday
10:00 - 00:30
Saturday
10:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Blessington ROI, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Wicklow  >  Blessington
  • Phone Number: +353 45 865 214
  • E-mail
Description
West Wicklow House Blessington is a cozy traditional Irish pub located on the N81 road in the picturesque village of Blessington at the foot of the wicklow mountains. Home to scenic movies such as Braveheart, king Arthur, The New Vikings series and PS I love You. We are open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and evening meals and offer great group rates. Our menus are based on traditional pub food with excellent contemporary and classic seafood specials. All our staff are helpful and full of local knowledge to assist you plan your sightseeing day. So if you like walking the Wicklow Hills, visiting the Glendalough Monastic site or just driving around the beautiful Blessington Lakes make sure to add the West Wicklow House to your to visit list. Check us out on Facebook, West Wicklow House Blessington. Excellent on street free parking and free wifi available.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing