We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Wicklow House

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$25
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (414)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
264
81
22
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
264
81
22
12
13
Traveller safety
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast beef wings fish and chips burger west wicklow the pub cajun combo great atmosphere great food and service family dinner joe guinness barman coeliac craic fab ireland
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 13 August 2022 via mobile

I have been there with my 18 months kid who wanted to walk all around the place. The environment is nice for getting out with the family and employees are very helpful

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2022

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you back with us soon.

Reviewed 12 August 2022

I ordered the chicken and ribs combo, and I have to say, it was out of this world. More food than I could eat - and I have a healthy appetite. The meat on the ribs was falling off the bone and came covered in...a delicious Louisiana sauce. My companions had burger and chicken and their food was reportedly delicious too. Very attentive and timely service. I'm knocking one star off because when I went to the loo, there was no soap at either of the sinks, nor was there any hand-san in the dispenser outside the loo. I'll be back for the food though!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow House Blessington, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2022

Thank you so much for your nice review andxwe are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Apologies thatchers was no sanitizer in the dispenser, will rectify that immediately. The hand soap dispensers are are actually on the wall on either side of the sinks, we are...More

Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

Just want to say thanks so much for looking after our little group today we had a really lovely lunch with very professional, courteous and friendly staff taking care of us.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2022

Thank you Aine for your visit and your nice review. Will pass your compliments to the team and hope to see you back with us soon.

Reviewed 19 July 2022

We had never visited this pub before, but found the welcome and service from the staff exceptionally friendly. Food and drink service very efficient and competitively priced with generous portions. The bar and outdoor area in particular were both busy, so it is clearly well...supported by the local community which is always one of the best recommendations a business can have.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2022

Hi Polly, thank you for your recent visit and your nice review. During covid we had to make some serious adjustments to the place which people still seem to enjoy and appreciate. We will pass your compliments on to the team and hope to have...More

Reviewed 16 July 2022 via mobile

Food is amazing, outdoor seating area is fab. Service is 100% and all so friendly especially Adrienne who was so nice. Great atmosphere. Will definitely be back

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2022

Thank you for your nice review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We will pass your compliments on to Adrienne and we hope to see you back with us soon.

Reviewed 21 June 2022 via mobile

If you are looking for great food, plenty of variety, buzzing atmosphere with a homely vibe then the West Wicklow is a good choice. Our family enjoys the relaxed casual vibe but with great attentive staff and a tasty meal. The kids love going for...their hearty dinner and plenty of dessert options !! Joe runs a really good ship there and all the staff are friendly and on the ball …… it’s a walk in service which suit us and your well looked after 💯.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, General Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Thank you for your nice review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We will certainly pass on your compliments to the team and hope to see you back withbus soon!!!

Reviewed 6 June 2022

West Wicklow is a lovely pub great food and lovely staff if your in blessington definitely pay a visit you won't be disappointed

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, General Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2022

Thank you so much for your review, always happy to get positive feed back. We hope to see you back with us soon!! Team West Wicklow

Reviewed 31 May 2022

Absolutely terrible returned a dessert that wasn't what it claimed it was and was made to feel like I killed someone .the manager had the audacity to bring it back to the table and tell me I should eat it and I was refused service...when I declined (not even joking) felt like me and my friend should have been privileged to even Grace their companyMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2022

It is very regretful to see this review when in fact it was you that was out of line and not your server. You were very well looked after over your two hour visit with your friend the older gentleman. Your server was very pleasant...More

Reviewed 17 May 2022 via mobile

As a family we regularly eat out at the West Wicklow, we return time after time because of the great food, lovely staff and relaxed atmosphere. Recently we had our daughters communion meal here, and I can honestly say it was perfect from start to...finish. We were a large group and everyone was looked after so well by the staff, they couldn’t have done anymore for us. The menu was great and it had something for everyone, the food was even better, delicious, fresh and served promptly. All of our guests were hugely complimentary and some returned the very next day for the wings!!! Special thanks to Kathy, Teresa and all the staff looking after us on the day and for making Macey’s day so special.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Thank you so much for your review, delighted we made your special day pleasurable. Always great to have you with us and on such a special day!! Great to hear your guests were happy and hope to have them all back with us again soon....More

Reviewed 15 May 2022 via mobile

A great communion meal in the beer garden. We had our son’s communion meal at the West Wicklow 14/05/22. The food was excellent. Service was very friendly, prompt and attentive. Cajun combo (pictured) was delicious with a generous portion. Everyone enjoyed the chicken wings and...I loved the duck spring rolls- really nice. Guests commented that the roast beef was melt in the mouth. Great value, great service and great atmosphereMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. Delighted you enjoyed your day and we hope to see you back with us again soon !! We will pass your compliments on to the team. Thank you again!! P

Reviewed 3 May 2022 via mobile

I arrived here on Sunday with a group of 16, having had our previous booking cancelled by another place. We had no booking, the lady greeted us and said she would fit us in some were but could not sit the whole group at one...table, despite it been so busy she managed it. And we were certainly not disappointed the food was excellent and my American group really enjoyed the Guinness, and the whole atmosphere here it turned out to be a real find. I would definitely recommend this place if you are ever in blessington. I will definitely return with other groups (next time I will book). A huge thank you to all the staff for looking after us Bill ( coach driver) Bill coach driverMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2022

Hi again Bill and thank you for the nice review, it is much appreciated. We will always do our best to accommodate if we can. Very frustrating when a booking has not been honoured. We hope to see you back with us soon and your...More

Reviewed 18 April 2022 via mobile

We were passing through blessings blessington today and decided to stop here for something to eat Walking into this establishment it was very busy which is always a good sign and we were shown to our table unfortunately it didn't suit so the man said...we could wait in the outside area which was perfect Our waitress Heidi was lovely Menu was very variable Food beautiful Well doneMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2022

Thanks so much for your nice review. Our outdoor area is so popular since covid reared it's head. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and your dad was comfortable. Again thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon. We will...More

Reviewed 13 March 2022

Family dinner here for 14 of us last Friday night. What a lovely experience. Food was delicious with special attention to the three of us who are coeliac. Children's menu was great. Lovely atmosphere and terrific staff. It was a brilliant start to our family...weekend. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2022

Thank you so muchvfor your nicecreview. We were delighted to be able to look after you all last Friday. Great to see family occasions being celebrated again. Glad everyone enjoyed the night and we hope to see you all back with us soon. West Wicklow...More

Reviewed 27 February 2022

17 of us had a meal in the west Wicklow last night 26th February and I have to say every one of us enjoyed it and all said it was so tasty and quickly served by two lovely friendly servers Joe and Ljina so a...special to both of you. Would highly recommendMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2022

Thank you so much folks? Joe & Ljana will be delighted with the praise. Your group was a pleasure to look after and we hope to see you back with us soon and maybe a few traditional Irish tunes too!!!

Reviewed 23 February 2022

This was our first time to visit this establishment. We dropped in for a bite to eat at lunchtime and were greeted with wonderfully friendly welcome from Joe. The menu was very varied and as a coeliac there were excellent choices. All sauces were gluten...free. I ordered the chicken burger which came on lovely Goodness Grain roll the best on the market . There were two gluten-free desserts to choose from. the banoffee that I chose was lovely. All around a wonderful time we both enjoyed ourselves tremendously. Highly recommended for food, comfort, and staff friendliness.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
West Wicklow Ho... B, Owner at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a nice review. We understand the difficulties faced by people with dietary requirements and try vo offer a well balanced menu to suit all. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Avon
381 reviews
1.09 km away
Tulfarris Hotel & Golf Resort
1,508 reviews
5.46 km away
Killashee Hotel
2,427 reviews
9.79 km away
Maudlins House Hotel
258 reviews
9.87 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Spice Village Indian Restaurant
163 reviews
.04 km away
Crafternoon Tea
107 reviews
.18 km away
Moody Rooster
66 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
National Bird of Prey Centre
78 reviews
4.87 km away
Blessington Lake Boat Hire
10 reviews
7.24 km away
Tulfarris Golf Club
67 reviews
5.01 km away
Hunting Brook Gardens
29 reviews
6.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Darren F
25 July 2022|
Answer
Response from WestWicklowHouseB | Property representative |
Our children's menu is designed for under 12's however we do offer adult half portions on quite a few of our dishes.
0
Votes
john f
29 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WestWicklowHouseB | Property representative |
Hi john it opens from 9am mon-Friday for breakfast followed by lunch from 12.30 and served food till 8.30pm. Plenty of great daily specials for lunch and evening food. Hope this helps
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WEST WICKLOW HOUSE, Blessington - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about West Wicklow House

Yes, West Wicklow House offers takeaway services.

Yes, West Wicklow House is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

West Wicklow House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4