We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The Lemon Leaf Café Bar & Townhouse is based in the heart of Kinsale, Co. Cork. We offer the best coffees, breakfasts, brunches, lunches and desserts in our Café which is bright, airy and homey. We specialise in breakfasts, as well as vegetarian, vegan and gluten free items. Relax and enjoy a glass of wine, local cider or local beer any evening in our atmospheric wine bar or enjoy coffee and cake, or enjoy a meal while listening to our relaxing lounge music. Come and stay in one of our beautifully decorated Townhouse rooms which were designed to ensure that you have a luxurious stay while you're visiting our historic town whether its for business or pleasure. Open all day for food from 08:30
PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
British, Irish, Healthy, Wine Bar
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
459
241
59
47
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
459
241
59
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch lemon meringue pie vegetarian breakfast cakes french toast poached eggs salad chowder lovely cafe full irish breakfast great coffee ireland
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

Couldn't recommend the lemon leaf enough, brilliant place to share a few plates and try a couple of different options on the menu. The food was superb... would definitely recommend trying the lamb meatballs, the sauce was gorgeous!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Tracy K, Owner at The Lemon Leaf Cafe Bar & Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded today

thank you Geraldine we are getting fantastic reviews for our evening offering of sharing plates. So glad you enjoyed it and thank you for the lovely comments.

Reviewed yesterday

Stopped here on a Monday night mid July - sign on window said evening meal. Had to eat on street due to restrictions. When we got menus it was little more than a tapas bar. We ordered three dishes between us - bruschetta bread was...so hard it was difficult to eat other two dishes were merely average. We thought it was overpriced and if visiting kinsale again I wouldn’t make a return visit.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Tracy K, Owner at The Lemon Leaf Cafe Bar & Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Gabriella, We are a Cafe Bar which clearly says over the door. We are not a restaurant as you were obviously expecting. Our menu is on the window and our food is of the hightest quality and locally sourced. Our bruchetta is on our...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Great room in an amazing location, very easy to find places to eat. Lovely host and we are very lucky to have come on the hottest day of the year (AC could have helped but still exquisite). Thanks lemon leaf for everything, Oscar & Ciara...😎More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

We stayed with our young family for a night as we go around Ireland. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I found that the staff were pleasant but as property is newly renovated there is some information not being related that unfortunately led to...us not getting breakfast. We were told by the manager breakfast was at 8am which was great as we were leaving early for a tour and the menu looked lovely. When we went down at 8 we were told by staff breakfast was at 8:30 despite us saying the manager had said 8am. We couldn't wait that long so had to check out and leave. When we were on route I checked the website as I was sure it was 8am for breakfast and lo and behold it stated 8am on the lemon leaf website. It wasn't a great end to our stay as we had to make do with a shop bought breakfast rather than the lovely menu on offer. We simply didn't have time to go back and tell them and I didn't want to feel like I was sniping at staff. I simply think staff need to really be updated on key information so customers don't miss out.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Tracy K, Owner at The Lemon Leaf Cafe Bar & Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded today

HI Krysta, Thank you for the positive review. Sorry about the mix up over breakfast and the updating of the website. Its been very challanging and we have always opened for breakfast at 8.30. Some members of staff are new so were not aware. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We got to spend one night there and it was just Perfect. The place is located right in the center of Kinsale which made it very easy for us to enjoy the town and its life. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room...was very nice and functional and the restaurant offers a delicious menu from breakfast to dinner All the best for your seasonMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a beautiful experience here yesterday. The food was superb! The staff are great fun and take great pride in their jobs! Great wine selection. Thank you to all who took such good care of us. Ye made a lasting impression

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One if the most beautiful little spots in Kinsale, had fantastic food and a very relaxed atmosphere. Recently new owners and having read some of the previous reviews I was a little reluctant to go but so pleased I did. The staff couldn't be more...attentive and everything was spotless clean.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Tracy K, Owner at The Lemon Leaf Cafe Bar & Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Scott for your positive feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time at The Lemon Leaf Café Bar and Townhouse. We are so glad to be preparing to welcome our guests back indoors once restrictions are lifted so we can provide our...More

Reviewed 18 June 2021

Stopped for lunch, lucky to get a nice seat outside! Looked for toasties they had pre made Chicken ones so we ordered two and they made up two ham and cheese!! Very disappointed with the outcome, one came with very little chicken n some green...leaf only , the other had peppers red and yellow much more fillings! The Ham and Cheese were poor also half toasted cheese still hard … @ €7.50 each n €2.50 for cans this was very poor value for money to be served in brown paper bags x 2 … No paper plates or garnish on offer!!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Tracy K, Owner at The Lemon Leaf Cafe Bar & Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Ken, sorry you were disappointed we have made some changes in these challanging times we face. We are now open with our full menu and a great Kitchen team. Hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 6 June 2021

Food & coffee was good but service was beyond poor. The girl serving us paid no attention to what I was ordering which resulted in having to explain to her 3 times what our order was. Not to mention, there was only one option to...choose from on the menu. We were left short our food with not so much as an apology. Highly overpriced for what it was too not to mention receiving half our order. Would not recommend.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Tracy K, Owner at The Lemon Leaf Cafe Bar & Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your feedback. We take great pride in our service here at the Lemon Leaf Café and Townhouse. I'm sorry to hear that you had to explain your order three times to one of our staff. Due to the covid 19...More

Reviewed 12 December 2020

Popped here on arrival for my mams and mines trip to kinsale this morning we had coffee/cappuccino and mince pies, was delicious, place seemed popular, staff were lovely and friendly and the place itself was beautiful inside, nicely decorated and very clean with all Covid...measures in place, would Def recommend stopping here for treats, breakfast or lunch.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Blue Haven Hotel Kinsale
927 reviews
.11 km away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
1,271 reviews
.34 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
1,399 reviews
.64 km away
Kinsale Hotel & Spa
1,128 reviews
4.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bastion
451 reviews
.01 km away
CRU Winebar & Bistro
127 reviews
.03 km away
The Supper Club
286 reviews
.01 km away
High Tide Kinsale
202 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St Multose Church
177 reviews
.13 km away
Kinsale Tourist Office
115 reviews
.11 km away
Kinsale Regional Museum
89 reviews
.09 km away
The Boathouse Gallery
11 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Lemon Leaf Cafe Bar & Townhouse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lemon Leaf Café Bar & Townhouse

Yes, The Lemon Leaf Café Bar & Townhouse offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Lemon Leaf Café Bar & Townhouse offers delivery services.

The Lemon Leaf Café Bar & Townhouse is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4