We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Breakfast and lunch served from 10am Gluten free menu available. Fully licensed restaurant serving locally sourced ingredients and each dish is prepared to order. Most dishes are gluten free and vegetarian and vegan available.A warm welcom awaits you at High Tide
PRICE RANGE
€7 - €28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Irish, International, Seafood, European, Contemporary
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (255)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
194
21
6
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
194
21
6
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkfish curry ribeye chowder sticky toffee pudding cake fish and chips last night front of house fabulous meal superb food lovely atmosphere main course natalie mains fork thai
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 March 2024

The coffee shops we wanted to go to had queues out the door, so we took a stranger’s recommendation for this place. The only thing to say about the coffee is that it’s strong. The Full Irish breakfast was stone cold, the toast was dropped...off the plate onto the table and not replaced. The extra sausages didn’t appear, thankfully, as those that did were extremely salty. The chorizo rosti was also over-salted and soggy, the tomato sauce with it was spicy but oddly flavourless. Overall an experience to be avoided, wait in a queue instead.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fionnuala Mccarthy, Owner at High Tide Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Hi. I’m so sorry you were disappointed with your experience. We always take customers views on board and would have corrected all your grievances had you said anything while you were here.We have never had any concerns before. We pride ourselves on our breakfast and...More

Reviewed 29 October 2023 via mobile

Came for the jazz and prebooked to eat here the girls had a lovely monkfish curry and I had steak also ordered fish n chips service was excellent and friendly and the food was lovely very cosy place would recommend

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

The High Tide restaurant kindly tucked us in without a reservation on a Saturday night and we had a wonderful dinner. We were just stopping quickly on the way to a concert at the Inkwell theatre and the service was wonderfully efficient and helped us...to be on time. We had terrific fish and chips (great batter) and a lovely, homemade red pepper/tomato soup. It is very welcoming and the decor is very interesting. Atmophere is calm and peaceful and full of good food. Thank you so much.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023

We had a very disappointing meal in this restaurant from start to finish…prawns overcooked and the muscles undercooked…however on a positive note the staff were lovely …

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Monday night many closed; small intimate superb service probably family operation? We had local Mussels local prawns salad Albariño with with local gin and lemon as cocktail. Mussels def best in Ireland over very too weeks with excellent sauce not too rich. Prawns also best...so far lightly breaded small very fresh, salad also excellent total cost with wine gin dinner ice cream 88 E. Not an extensive but well prepared menu about 24 seats. Michelin rec right down street however full snd much more I can’t believe any betterMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2023 via mobile

Dinner at High Tide, our first visit; attractive warm room with well-spaced tables, lovely service and a tempting menu. We had wanted fish and chips that evening and they were excellent, light batter and moist fish as well as excellent chips, tartar sauce and mushy...peas, all good. A desert of berries and ice cream rounded things off and the wine list had excellent choices and a range of prices. We left very happy and look forward to exploring their excellent menu further.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

We were looking for a nice lunch within a short time. We really enjoyed High Tide. The food was absolutely delicious and reasonably priced. The fried goat's cheese with beetroot and chorizo was phenomenal, and the BLT was delish. Friendly, personal service. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2023

Busy but great service superb food & fair prices. Recommend the cheese the beef burger & the scampi. We booked weeks ago - got window table as a bonus

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2023

We had the seafood chowder with lovely bread (with a side of chips to dip in!), and the beef burger, chowder amazing, burger - thats what I always have and it was one of the best and all very good value for money, some reviews...comment on the atmosphere but we found it quiet and relaxed. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023

So disappointed with the customer service in this venue. I ordered a medium rib eye €29 steak. It was seriously over done, dry and cold. Cooking a steak is a basic cooking skill. It was inedible and I left it on my plate. Only at...the very end of our meal did the waitress ask if everything was ok. I quietly pointed it out ( I did not want to cause a fuss). The waitress told us that the manageress knew of our complaint but she did not bother to acknowledge us at the end. This is a pity as she did provide a very warm and kind welcome as we did not pre book. So with all that we did not bother ordering the wine and cheese we had planned and left the team to prioritise the 18 American tourists who had just arrived. Definitely won’t be back.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fionnuala Mccarthy, Owner at High Tide Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2023

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience last night. I was delighted to welcome you and sorry to hear that your steak was not as ordered. Had you told us of this before you had fully eaten it we...More

Reviewed 22 July 2023 via mobile

I appreciate every business can have it's off days... regrettably our group of 5 got High Tide on an off day. A distinct feeling of staff asleep at the wheel. As soon as we stepped into high tide I was highly aware of how a...reasonably full Irish pub could muster such a quiet environment. I genuinely taught we had interrupted a funeral or private party. 2 hours later I could understand why folk were so quiet... fuming I suspect... we were fairly quiet ourselves by the time we got out 2 hours later.... Having ordered 4 beers we got one served and advised that the keg had to be changed. 40 mins and 2 requests later we got our beers...flat. Furthermore I can advise that this was the first time I was ever in a restaurant that served chips that actually ran out of tomatoe sauce and mayonnaise. that didn't even happen on Fawley Towers. Service on the whole was fairly shocking... I left my chair 5 times during the meal to solicit service. The waitress simply couldn't see what customers might require as she was hidden behind a huge pile of dirty crockery on bar. Again I can safely say I never seen the likes of it before. I felt like offering to help bring dirty crockery to the kitchen it was such a state. Indeed we sat with our own dirty crockery so long after our main course I felt compelled to advise the waitress that we were ready to move on with the meal. I was subsequently given the bill with no request for tea coffee or desert. My group quickly agreed it was time to go and not bother. I attempted to advise the manager of my disappointment... a started with the beer complaint.... I could tell I was not going to be heard. I paid the bill and left no tip. I'd say I could count on one hand how many times I experienced such a level of poor service and left no tip. Congratulations high tide.....you are part of a very select few. It is a shame as its a nice venue, reasonably good food and well located. If they sold fresh buretti beer, stocked more tomato sauce and mayonnaise and hired a good manager and waiter the place could actually be very good.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2023 via mobile

Just wonderful. Waiting staff who are friendly and professional. Food was delicious and not overpriced. Nice ambiance; located in the centre of Kinsale. Unpretentious (unlike quite a few other Kinsale establishments). Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023 via mobile

We had a fantastic dinner here. Seafood appetizers (shrimps and Thai mussels) were delicious, all main courses (steak, burger, fish curry and grilled cheese) were just perfect, and the service was so friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2023 via mobile

In town for a night, wandered around at tea time to scope places. The crew were setting up, all busy and efficient. Popped back after a libation, welcomed in at 8 ish, table found in a busy restaurant. Cocktail - ace Starter - ace but...forgot the photo, Scampi Main - excellent. Rib Eye medium rare. Chips perfect, a little garlic butter. Mmmmmmm Great service with a young crew. Well doneMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2023

Had a family dinner here last night.The setting, the vibe, the food, the wine and the service were absolutely perfect. Meals were top notch. The waitress who looked after us was amazing and a credit to your restaurant. She looked after us so well .Thank...you for such an amazing night.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Blue Haven Hotel Kinsale
996 reviews
.10 km away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
1,477 reviews
.35 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
667 reviews
.63 km away
Kinsale Hotel & Spa
1,521 reviews
4.09 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bastion
485 reviews
.03 km away
Cosy Cafe
273 reviews
.13 km away
The Supper Club
386 reviews
.00 km away
Max's
834 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kinsale Tourist Office
128 reviews
.10 km away
Ballinspittle
19 reviews
.11 km away
The Boathouse Gallery
11 reviews
.02 km away
The Gallery Kinsale
9 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
karlcX9761BY
30 October 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Clifford R | Reviewed this property |
Visited as a couple so not sure. As others have said it’s quite small and there were no children in the restaurant that evening.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HIGH TIDE KINSALE - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about High Tide Kinsale

Yes, High Tide Kinsale is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

High Tide Kinsale is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 3