We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sticky Bun

14
All photos (14)
Certificate of Excellence

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016, 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Irish, Cafe, Soups

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Irish, Cafe, Soups
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
42
21
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
42
21
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pulled pork sticky buns cakes sandwich soup eggy bread ham hock carrot cake beans poached eggs black pudding chicken great coffee badger dodo best breakfast in town pot of tea great cafe
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped off in Clonakilty and picked Sticky Bun, after reading reviews, for a quick bite to eat and a cuppa. The Black Pudding toasted sandwich was delicious. There was a great local atmosphere. We would recommend Sticky Bun.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ellam2013318
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

One of the best coffee cafes we’ve found on our road trip of Ireland. Both cafe latte & flat white very good. Scones & cakes delicious. They really understand gluten free (coeliac) here & offer gf scones & carrot cake. Service friendly, fast & efficient....More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Janet H
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Always visit Sticky Bun when we are in Clon. Normally we stop by for a sandwich-all of them are delicious. This year we had breakfast there too and we were not disappointed. The mushrooms and eggs on sourdough were so delicious-possibly the best breakfast I...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank LittleBrickHouse
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Visited recently and I was meeting a friend for breakfast catch up. Walked in and placed our order with the man behind the counter. Not overly busy but tipping away. I ordered poached eggs and bacon plus a pot of tea. My friend ordered same...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank JimmyTheBullet
Kay B, Owner at Sticky Bun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

I’m glad you chose Sticky Bun for breakfast, but am really disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience. Poached eggs are served as two slices of handmade sourdough toast, two free range poached eggs and, if ordered as an extra, bacon,is Rosscarbery free range....More

Reviewed 7 August 2018

We called in for coffee and a bun, following the recommendation from The Best of Ireland. i'm a coeliac and the gentleman behind the counter very kindly pointed at the good range of gluten free options. My daughter is allergic to almonds and the allergen...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Grundy63
Kay B, Owner at Sticky Bun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. So delighted you were happy wiith everything. The team at Sticky Bun try to accommodate all guests where possible. Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 2 August 2018

Visited twice during recent holiday in Clonakilty area. Both times very impressed with everything. Friendly welcome, excellent service, good selection, Coffee delicious, hot pulled pork sandwich with cup of unusual (but delicious) beetroot and fennel soup. Vegetable toastie on sourdough also delicious, with delicious courgette...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank colinmary
Kay B, Owner at Sticky Bun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. Looking forward to seeing you or your friends again hopefully!!

Reviewed 21 July 2018

Found staff to be very rude & unhelpful. I struggled to get a buggy through the door while man behind counter just looked at me. When I asked do they have a high chair available he just pointed and grunted! We waited over 15 minutes...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Cullig
Kay B, Owner at Sticky Bun, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am terribly disappointed that your experience was not as it should have been. Sticky Bun ethos is certainly not about ignoring our customer, should be complete the opposite, especially with families, of which thankfully we have many. Can...More

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped for coffee and cake with my partner and two year old son, the service was excellent in a very relaxed setting. Loved the coffee cake, and would have liked to try breakfast another time but we didn’t have enough time the following day before...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank recklessro
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Lovely fresh Food ,Cooked To Order. Great Selection. I Highly Recommend This Place, Helpful Staff & Very Clean

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank anna maria o
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Tried the homemade carrot cake and scone with butter and jam and a cup of Badger & Dodo coffee yum.service homely and always with a smile. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank doney3030
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sticky Bun staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing