We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

An Sugan

€€ - €€€Irish, , Seafood
41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
+353 23 883 3719
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (24 reviews)
“tasting plate” (6 reviews)
“oysters” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I am writing this review on behalf of my mother who has been spending summers in West Cork and Clonakilty for about 40 years now and has been going to An Sugan since it's opening, about 30 years ago. We went there recently with 3...More

Thank BethLDublin
ArisClon, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are so sorry you didn't get the welcome you deserve and we try to give all of our customers. Children are most welcome. We have young kids ourselves. Highchairs and children's portions are at the ready. We will engage with our manager and in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great atmosphere with great food and generous portion sizes. Keep a fantastic pint too. A must visit if visiting Clonakilty

Thank Leetness
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much! Please call again. We are delighted you liked your meal

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Interesting dining room/pub feel. We Were greeted by a very enthusiastic man who whistles and talked to himself all evening. Atmosphere is good but dim the lights and turn the jazz down a bit. Menu is good. Two guests and we ordered the tasting plate...More

2  Thank orla d
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are sorry you were disappointed with your tasting plate. Pate, smoked salmon and many of the fresh local seafood that we serve are served straight from the fridge. We adhere to strict health and safety regulations and have to serve certain food at certain...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can eat in a restaurant or pub setting. Service is prompt and good. The range of dishes on offer can vary significantly, particularly at lunchtime. Seek out the specials. Check what is currently available, as opposed to advertised on the blackboard. The ingredients are...More

Thank DUN01170
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

very nice restaurant and nice staff , quick service . we got mussels and buffalo wings as starter both really nice . as main course we had the Hake fillet (special ) and a burger . the hake dish had not much flavor but a...More

1  Thank Syncrol
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are so sorry your didn't tell us when you were at our restaurant and we would have sorted out the batter. We appreciate that is not a pleasant experience. We will be more vigilant and i will bring this to the attention of the...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

I had dinner here recently. I had the breaded calamari with chilli jam to start and the fish special on the night which was hake with gubeen chorizo, smashed potato and vegetables, every mouthful was delicious. I had salted caramel chocolate tart with vanilla ice...More

Thank VodkaHelen
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

please visit us again sometime! We are delighted you enjoyed your meal

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Found by hazard for a late lunch. Great sea food chowder, nice and cozy place. A nice experience in general

Thank nunon192
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We hope you will visit us again sometime. Thank you for your review

Reviewed 7 November 2017

On a ladies night away we visited An Sugan for our evening meal and what a fantastic meal it was too! It was very busy with just one waitress but what a professional. Our orders were taken with a smile and a good description of...More

Thank Anne O
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

When you visit here you will understand my title. Atmosphere is something you simply cannot buy, its here in bucket loads, from all the water jugs hanging from the ceiling to a massive collection of business cards in the rafters and woodwork around the bar....More

Thank Dubal2008
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience. We have been here along time and those cards and water jugs have been here as long... and the collection grows. We hope you can join us again sometime

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We treated ourselves to a midweek dinner at the Sugan and what a treat it was! The Sugan is a fine pub, serving great food. Its a quirky little place. There are thousands of business cards tucked in above the bar. Do remember to add...More

Thank Rosemary W
ArisClon, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Please come back and visit is again! Thank you for your lovely review

PreviousNext
12345646
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Clonakilty
The Clonakilty Hotel
264 reviews
.02 km away
Imperial Hotel Clonakilty
26 reviews
.03 km away
O'Donovan's Hotel
187 reviews
.27 km away
The Emmet Hotel
167 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Scannells Bar
246 reviews
.25 km away
farm
222 reviews
.07 km away
The Copper Pot Restaurant & Bar
197 reviews
.01 km away
De Barra
84 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
West Cork Model Railway Village
351 reviews
.43 km away
Michael Collins House
69 reviews
.41 km away
Birthplace of Michael Collins
55 reviews
.28 km away
Fernhill Gardens
23 reviews
1.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from An Sugan staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Cork  >  Clonakilty
  • Phone Number: +353 23 883 3719
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing