We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Richys Restaurant

4 Wolfe Tone Street, Clonakilty, Ireland
+353 23 882 1852
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“beef curry” (25 reviews)
“samosas” (13 reviews)
“langoustines” (6 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Irish, European, Fusion, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 Wolfe Tone Street, Clonakilty, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Called in here with two friends on the way to the theatre at Rossmore. It was around 6.15pm, and we had just an hour to spare so decided on a main course only... A curry with pickles, 3 tapas dishes, and a salad. And a...More

Thank Hazel B
A TripAdvisor Member
132
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow! There is rude and there is rude. If you want to feel like you are an annoyance then this a place for you. The food is ok. An average experience at best. But the woman who was dealing with us was sullen, rude and...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
richysrestaurant, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I am disappointed to hear of your bad experience you received and that you felt our staff were rude towards you. We concentrate on training our staff to know that we are dependent on our customers. They are not an interruption to our work, they...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautifully cooked and presented. Service was excellent. Chef Richy came out to greet customers. Great value too.

Thank JMH0
richysrestaurant, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your Taste of West Cork experience. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant after checking TripAdvisor. We had 2 kids aged 6 and 3. We ordered our food, sausages and chips for our youngest and the chicken basket for our other child. I ordered the curry and my husband ordered the burger. Firstly: the...More

1  Thank Sparky086Ireland
richysrestaurant, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are disappointed to read your review, I can not imagine why the children's food came out so late after your own food. I have spoken to the kitchen and they do not recall this situation. However we do apologize. Had you pointed that you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We LOVE this place. Nice restaurant, good service and best of all for us - TOTALLY allergy friendly! They have a legend at the bottom of the menu advising noting the different allergies. We were able to eat gluten and dairy free and feel totally...More

Thank Dawnsy1
richysrestaurant, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope you will visit us again on your next stay in West Cork.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recommend by a friend. We called in on a Sunday afternoon and were seated straight away as it wasn't overly busy. We were then left for 10-15 mins without any services so we left the establishment. Disappointing.

1  Thank Niamh W
richysrestaurant, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Apologies for the delay in service you received, this is not the standard at Richys. It is unfortunate you only rated us 1 star as we didn't have the opportunity to show you our true hospitality and food.

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Firstly i have never written a review on any establishment good or bad but have to say after our trip to Clonakilty and being recommended by locals to try Richys I feel compelled to write and let the owner ,manager (or lack of ) know...More

3  Thank joebeakey
richysrestaurant, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear joebeakey, I am disappointed to read your were unhappy with your experience. I believe I was on service and remember that it was myself who asked you if you could pop back at a later time and thank you for returned to us. As...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We visited Richys twice on our recent visit to Inchydoney and both times it was fab. First night we were there I ordered a Mauritius curry and oh my god it was gorgeous, we had our 22 month old with us and he was catered...More

Thank Niall O
richysrestaurant, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted to read your review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We are glad to hear you returned to us a second night during your holiday. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Dropped in on a quite evening in Clonakilty. Decided to go with Tapas, which were very nice indeed. We're spoilt by having an excellent Tapas bar close to where we live, but this was of a very high standard. Not the cheapest, but equally we...More

Thank on77
richysrestaurant, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We came out west for the amazing eggs benedict which we had in Richys before. Unfortunately it was served on really soggy cheapest sliced pan. Staff were very obliging and replaced it without quibble. The problem was richy felt the need to come out and...More

Thank Serendipish
richysrestaurant, Owner at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Serendipish, Firstly, our Eggs Benedict has always been served on regular sliced pan. I am disappointed that you felt I was calling you a liar, I simply popped out to you to say it was no problem that you wanted it served on sour...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Scannells Bar
234 reviews
.23 km away
farm
204 reviews
.05 km away
The Copper Pot Restaurant & Bar
193 reviews
.04 km away
Molly's Cafe & Wine Bar
85 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
West Cork Model Railway Village
342 reviews
.45 km away
Michael Collins House
57 reviews
.41 km away
Birthplace of Michael Collins
55 reviews
.27 km away
Fernhill Gardens
23 reviews
1.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Richys Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Wolfe Tone Street, Clonakilty, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Cork  >  Clonakilty
  • Phone Number: +353 23 882 1852
  • E-mail
Description
Always using locally sourced produce you are gaurenteed you meal at Richys is top quality every time
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing