We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oscar Taylor Restaurant

Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
+353 1 845 0099
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“potatoes” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (2 reviews)
“chicken curry” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, European
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Recommended by two taxi drivers I guess we irritated our waiter as we took our time to examine the entire menu, but there were only a few occupied tables, or maybe it was because the kitchen closes at 9:30pm. The lady was more pleasant and...More

1  Thank Sweethome71
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was a good selection for the carvery and an option to have a small portion if you wanted. I had the chicken curry and asked for a small portion but while they used a small plate, they piled it so high that the food...More

1  Thank MrsGiroud
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went with friends to Malahide today we stopped for a bit to eat here, the carvery was still on so we said ok. The food we got was cold and brunt and no teast at all. It was my first and last time there

1  Thank Paul B
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We have eaten at this restaurant before and we again weren't disappointed. The restaurant is well run and the food is of a decent standard. . The only thing I would pull it up on is having our coffee cups put down on the table...More

1  Thank Rupert C
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I had dinner downstairs in the bar area on the 12/08/2017 I found the food to be stiff cold, and to be total muck. I hate mushy peas the dinner was so bad the mushy peas actually turned out to be the only thing saveable...More

Thank owenscars2014
Ronan K, Manager at Oscar Taylor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Owenscars In reference to you terrible review of our Carvery on 12th August , it is always our goal that everybody dining with us enjoys there food and quite obviously on this occasion you didn't enjoy yours for which we are very disappointed ....More

Reviewed 27 July 2017

The early bird special is the way to go. I would caution one that the portions are quite large, even by US standards. You will have to make up your mind on the starters. The sea bass is good and cooked well, not overdone. The...More

Thank tmjrobin
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Booked a table for here mid week. Added bonus is there is parking out the front. Probably no need to as surprisingly there were only a few diners in the restaurant. Even though our sitting was at 7pm we got an excellent early bird menu...More

Thank Riordan1974
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Nice spot to grab a bite to eat . Portions were huge and food was lovely and good selection . The staff were friendly but were dis organised and under pressure . The toilets need serious attention . The place was busy especially with older...More

Thank Happy H
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Visited here as part of a 70th birthday party. There was 13 adults and 5 children. We availed of the early bird menu which had a very wide range and was great value for money. Excellent choices on the kids menu as well. Food was...More

Thank Gavkeegan
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Well we had a Doyle family outing for my daughters confirmation last night and I have to say I was very impressed. Our table was ready for us when we arrived at about 7oclock. It was laid out lovely. We had the communion menu which...More

Thank Ann D
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nautilus
366 reviews
.75 km away
Siam Thai
572 reviews
.82 km away
The Greedy Goose
482 reviews
.75 km away
Seabank Bistro
362 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Malahide Castle Co. Dublin
203 reviews
1.01 km away
Malahide Beach
191 reviews
.22 km away
Clash Gaelic Games
41 reviews
1.41 km away
Toots Malahide Road Train
81 reviews
1.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanne C
Most of my family (The Creans') decided to book for an evening meal on Saturday 25th March (2017) to celebrate mother's day. On arrival the table, seats,and surrounding floor area was littered with food deposits and the table had been set for 9 diners. The meals were served by very pleasant staff and the food was very well presented and tasty. However nearing the end of my meal, I discovered not 1 but 2 human hairs in a piece of sea bass, I was very disappointed and felt ill, this occasion was meant to be my treat from my Children and Grandchildren. The lady (supervisor) was informed and she immediately apologised. My eldest daughter then almost choked on a hair that was discovered in a profiterole. I was offered to have my meal deducted from the total bill and the lady also sent a complimentary cocktail to the table, but, my daughter didn't even get an apology, I understand the pressure on staff during busy periods but I also understand customer service and customer satisfaction. I would like to know the reason for my daughter's complaint being completely ignored?
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Linda N | Reviewed this property |
That is very disappointing considering I would have recommended this restaurant to people like yourselves. I have just received a voucher for 50euro from a friend and was looking forward to using it..But now I am so... More
1
Vote
johan c
21 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Liveshealthy | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry, but don't know who this is:(
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Malahide
  • Phone Number: +353 1 845 0099
  • E-mail
Description
A Restaurant situated in the Island View Hotel with beautiful views of the Malahide coast line.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing