We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Located in the coastal village of Enniscrone, Co. Sligo, Áit Eile brings you traditional food with a difference in our intimate yet casual restaurant. We put a strong emphasis on locally sourced produce, showcasing free-range artisan meats and fresh seafood, this is driven by our passion for travel, food, wine and coffee. Local favourites such as The Black Pig of Enniscrone and Seafood Linguine have been a constant in an otherwise ever-changing menu. Our team, better known as the Áit Eile Family, are here to join you on your journey through the evening. We look forward to welcoming you at our cosy place by the sea.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Contemporary, Irish, European
FEATURES
Takeout, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
291
80
20
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
291
80
20
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood linguine chicken wings crab claws pizza top class cooked to perfection saturday night staff were very helpful well worth a visit visiting enniscrone food was amazing ait mains desert summer
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked table for myself and 2 friends, I have visited ait-eile many times over the year's, was really pleased it was once again open. Table was booked well in advance. Arrived to see the restaurant very busy which is fabulous. We were initially asked...to sit in the bar area on uncomfortable bar stools seated for 4 when 2 tables of 4 were available in the restaurant. I asked for the reason we were asked to sit in the bar and was soon seated in the restaurant area. The meal was beautiful service fantastic cannot fault. However was spoiled by waitress just coming over with the bill which I had not asked for and said our table was booked in 2 minutes. We had been in the restaurant almost 2 hours as was really enjoying our time however I had not been told our table was booked and felt like we were very abruptly thrown out with having the bill put on the table and be told it’s time to leave!!! As I said beautiful meal. However ending very disappointing.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Jacqueline A, General Manager at Ait Eile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi L1782PBjaonnew, I want to thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our food. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the 2hour time slots for our bookings. Im sure you can appreciate that Saturday night is our busiest night...More

Reviewed 25 September 2020

Starters - anaemic and very expensive. The claw crabs are a disgrace for €12 with overcooked prawns. 6 chicken wings for €8 is very expensive Mains - Two of us loved the seafood linguine. The fish and chips looked very good too Dessert - we...had two of their dessert cocktails which were delicious Staff- very attentive and helpfulMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

Super Dinner here. Staff were lovely and social distancing was observed. All of our food was so delicious. I can not recommend highly enough. Well worth a visit when in Enniscrone

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner here. The service was very good and we even got a smile behind the mandatory mask. We tried to book for Saturday night however could not get a table which is always a good sign.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Had a meal with my husband and daughter last night. Food was excellent, table service top class. A wonderful experience as always.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely family meal, family of seven. All was cooked to perfection and on time. I personally had the seafood pasta, which was amazing. Friendly and very attentive staff. Look forward to our return soon.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

Overrated, having read reviews was expecting good things but have to say it’s overrated. Wings for starter average to say the least. Mains of seafood linguine and salmon were ok but for 23 euro I’d expect better. Ate there last summer. Same result. Gave it...a go again based on recent reviews but can’t see myself returning. Like it’s not bad but Is defo overratedMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 August 2020

Visited for the first time this year. We had the monkfish and salmon dishes. Absolutely delicious. Portions plentiful so no room for a dessert. A nice complaint. As usual, friendly and very pleasant staff on hand. If you're in the neighbourhood this restaurant is definitely...worth a visit.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 11 August 2020 via mobile

Have eaten in ait eile with family and friends over the summer. 5 star experience. Fabulous staff and service and food amazing. Great choices with beautiful side orders Have also had takeaway pizzas and burgers. Top class. Can’t wait for next time

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 11 August 2020

The only place we booked well in advance on our mini break in Co Sligo, and very happy we did. A short climb down the stairs from the street level, and a tastefully decorated room with a great ambiance greets you... We love seafood, so...decided on a great Albarino to go with our meal. We both went for the crab claws & tiger prawns starter. It tasted as good as it looked - and it looked great! I had seafood linguine for mains. My wife wanted the panfried hake, which that evening was replaced by monkfish (even better!). Both dishes were absolutely top class.. The service was brilliant throughout. Thanks guys!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ocean Sands Hotel
787 reviews
.05 km away
Waterfront House & Restaurant
502 reviews
.45 km away
Diamond Coast Hotel
1,648 reviews
1.14 km away
Belleek Castle
667 reviews
9.48 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Traceys Cafe
306 reviews
.21 km away
The Pilot Bar
509 reviews
.03 km away
Maple moose enniscrone
86 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kilcullen's Seaweed Baths
241 reviews
.47 km away
Enniscrone Village
130 reviews
.22 km away
7th Wave Surf School
44 reviews
.35 km away
Gilroy's Bar & Ait Eile Restaurant
41 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fiella
1 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rasherdublin_15 | Reviewed this property |
I don't own the the restaurant. I wish I did. call them.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Áit Eile

Yes, Áit Eile offers takeaway services.

Áit Eile is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5