We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
409
156
25
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
409
156
25
30
21
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

Stopped by whilst on a day trip to Dingle and was delighted to have order the fresh fish and chips here. The cod was fresh, the batter was perfect and the chips were great. It was cooked beautifully and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Full marks.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 20 July 2021

In the middle of making some lunch and dinner reservations for our week holiday in Dingle next week. Our AirB&B host recommended Sheehy's amongst a few other restaurants. Came on here to read reviews before booking. (5 of us) Can I be very honest and...say- its not any of the less positive reviews that have put me off- but the response from the Restaurant. Very hostile response. And has frightened me a-little to book. I really do understand the horrendous 18months restaurants have had- however honestly, I would task someone else to look after Tripadvisor. How many other bookings may have lost by the way in which the owner or restaurant responded to complaints. You cant please everyone, thats a given. But you can respond politely and place restaurant and staff in a good light. Wishing you the best. S.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?9  
Reviewed 29 June 2021

Got a lovely taster here on the dingle tasting tour and absolutely loved it. Could not get over the freshness.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 October 2020

We eat here on a regular basis when visiting Dingle. Our meal was perfect for us.We both had calamari for starters and we had monkfish goujons and fish and chips for main course. All the food was well cooked and presented.The staff were very friendly...and efficient and they checked in with us on a couple of occasions to make sure we were enjoying our meal. All Covid protocals were followed including the cleaning of menus. Great food,great value.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?3  
JamesS3459, Owner at Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Hi Sean, glad to hear you enjoyed everything & thank you for the review - will see you again soon Regards, Colin Sheehy

Reviewed 2 October 2020

Nice menu and well priced. Staff were attentive and professional. Portions are very generous so arrive hungry! They should gently remind guests about mask wearing as they move around between tables, a table of young people (Obviously known to staff) were in and out past...our table without masks - not cool in current situation. Couldn’t fault the meal or service of staff though.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 15 September 2020

We ate here as a family of 7 (one infant) and we all agreed the food was tasty but we strongly agreed on how rude the woman serving us was. The restaurant was not busy but it still took over 30 minutes before our drink...and food orders were taken. Five of the adults ordered mains but one of us ordered a starter as a main as they weren't very hungry. This resulted in a strong chastising as quote "that's not allowed, we need to have everyone eating mains" to maintain profits. Eventually she conceded as there 5 other mains meals but the scene was set for the coming hour. As part of the order we asked could we get a small plate of veg and potatoes for the infant quickly as it was his feeding time. From entering it took over an hour and a quarter before our food arrived and the infant was the last to be served. The chastising was so strong that we were almost afraid to make any request while here. There was no warmt in any of the subsequent interactions and she clearly ignored us on at least two occasions when trying to get some food for the infant. Pretending to look in a different direction. We felt very unwelcome for the whole of the meal and we only stayed as, with Covid restrictions, we would have struggled to find food elsewhere. Keep the chef. Reconsider the female ground staff. She doesn't enjoy her job and put a major dent in our evening.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
JamesS3459, General Manager at Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2020

Thank you for your review. Your reservation was at 6:30 and it is clearly written on the menu that our dinner menu begins at 5:30. Two of your group ordered a bowl of chowder. These dishes did not meet the current criteria under Covid regulations...More

Reviewed 15 September 2020

Booked an early dinner in anchor down. Food was delicious, seabream and hake and scallops from the specials. Staff were happy to provide half portion of seafood chowder for our daughter. We also shared a great malteser cheesecake for dessert. Staff were good. Overall it...was a good meal.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Delicious bite for lunch. We had the lemon sole and breaded monkfish. The lemon sole tasted perfect and the monkfish was melt-in-your-mouth good, best of all was the wonderful batter. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very efficient and looked after us very well. We...intend to come back soon!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 September 2020

Table for 5, scampi excellent service lukewarm. You will not get a 100,000 welcomes here. Ordered a desert some cheese and strawberries creation, really really bad I would say not cooked properly. Staff knew as they kept away from table. Didn’t say anything ( no...point) just payed and got the hell out of there. Face masks were worn under the nose...... keep awayMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
JamesS3459, Owner at Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Hi there, I can’t help but write that this is probably one of the most ridiculous things I have ever read! How on earth could you possibly say that the staff knew you had an issue with your dessert?? If you had brought it up...More

Reviewed 13 September 2020

We attended as a family group of 6, the food was so fresh and absolutely delicious, atmosphere was fantastic and the service from our waitress Kelsey and manager Ann was top class! Definitely the best restaurant in Dingle, and make sure not to skip dessert...- the home made Banoffee Pie was absolutely delicious. Thanks Anchor Down!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Dingle Bay Hotel
613 reviews
.08 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
1,090 reviews
.33 km away
Ballinvounig House
65 reviews
.51 km away
Greenmount House
1,150 reviews
.72 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Kool Scoops of Dingle
313 reviews
.06 km away
The Chart House
1,117 reviews
.20 km away
Bean in Dingle
385 reviews
.21 km away
Out of the Blue Seafood
2,179 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Geraldine O'Rourke
6 reviews
.10 km away
Dingle Tourist Office
271 reviews
.13 km away
Dick Macks Brewhouse
57 reviews
.24 km away
Dingle Marina
156 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant

Yes, Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5