We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

THE WATER RAT

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
24 Bondgate Green | 24 Bondgate Green, Ripon HG4 1QW, England
+44 1765 602251
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 374: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
882 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Whenever we have been for a walk along the canal or river here in Ripon, we generally end up at the Water Rat for a stopover drink before going into town, our grand children like to have an orange juice and some crisps either outside in the terrace area, weather permitting, or inside the conservatory in the winter time, either... More 

Helpful?
Thank dnowland_12
34569643, Manager at THE WATER RAT, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Regards Victoria More 

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible service, very limited menu (of which they had run out of most items). Food was very greasy. Very disappointed

Helpful?
Thank 722charlotteg
34569643, Manager at THE WATER RAT, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We have made quite a few changes since October and would love to welcome you back in the future. Regards Victoria More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great staff, lovely food and amazing Sunday carvery! Wednesdays dine for a fiver is a must. Well worth a visit😄😄😄

Helpful?
Thank Jomarston
34569643, Manager at THE WATER RAT, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I will pass on your comments to our staff. Our Sunday carvery and Wednesdays 2 dine for £10 offer are very popular. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are visiting Ripon. Regards Victoria More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
934 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

As we were staying in the area we popped into the Water Rat just for s drink as it is in a lovely location at the side of the river. Good friendly service. We didn't know they served meals so we will be returning next time we are in Ripon to try the restaurant and hopefully when the weather is... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2014Jandy
34569643, Manager at THE WATER RAT, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the warmer weather. Regards Victoria More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

I phoned on January 3rd in the morning to reserve a table for three. I got the answer phone which asked me to leave a message and was assured that someone would phone me back . Nothing. I phoned again whilst enroute to Ripon from Harrogate with my Aunt and cousin. Answer phone. Maybe they should change the message to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
34569643, Manager at THE WATER RAT, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I can only apologise that nobody got back to you on Tuesday. The only day we are closed is a Monday until April then we are open 7 days. I will speak to all staff members and ensure they listen to and respond to answer phone messages promptly. Hopefully you... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

General:- We visited The Water Rat with my grandparents and inlaws. It is situated by a lovely river, there is a conservatory attached where you can sit to view this. Pros:- Service was fast, food is very well priced and delicious. The staff are lovely and attentative. The interior and exterior are attractive. Cons:- None.

Helpful?
Thank Emma P
34569643, Manager at THE WATER RAT, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are please to hear you all enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards Victoria More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016

I ate here for lunch mid week and overall had a pleasant meal. We arrived and sat at a table, but there seemed to be no service so we found the menus, chose a meal and ordered at the bar. The service was friendly but a little lacking, it took a long time to serve people and get the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank amcs1983
34569643, Manager at THE WATER RAT, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I can only apologise in the lack of greeting and not being shown to a table when you arrived. This could be due to the fact it was the Christmas period and we have been very busy. We strive at The Water Rat to create a welcoming, friendly atmosphere for... More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

Booked in a party of six for an office Christmas lunch. As I did not want to overdose on turkey prior to the big day, I opted for the alternative of what was written on the menu as Beef Bourguignon with Basmati rice. I regularly cook this at home (from scratch) so was looking forward to sampling an alternative take... More 

Helpful?
Thank sessional
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

The Water Rat Is the local pub near me. On Wednesday afternoon after being to the Post office, noticed they had a sign outside 2 for 10. so went at 6.00pm only to be turned away as there were two parties in. Very disappointed. They couldn't cater for two people.

Helpful?
2 Thank Em W
Rick J, Owner at THE WATER RAT, responded to this review

Dear Em, I am sorry we could not fit you in on Wednesday night but as you were informed we were extremely busy. As this offer that runs every Wednesday over lunch and dinner time is very popular and we also have Christmas parties at this time of year we always advise booking. As you were passing by the door... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

Was invited to the Water Rat for a family party - around 35 of us! we were seated in the conservatory and though a snug fit, we all had a great time.. Three courses and coffee, with three choices for each course, and we were all served in a timely fashion. The food was well presented (could have been a... More 

Helpful?
Thank MariWat
34569643, Manager at THE WATER RAT, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will pass on your positive comments to our staff, I will also pass on your comments to the kitchen staff. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards Victoria More 

Travellers who viewed THE WATER RAT also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to THE WATER RAT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Bondgate Green | 24 Bondgate Green, Ripon HG4 1QW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Ripon
  • Phone Number: +44 1765 602251
Description
At The Water Rat in Ripon, North Yorkshire, we are open Monday - Sunday from 11am- 11pm. Serving Food 12 - 2:30, 6 - 8:30 Monday - Friday, 12- 3:30 & 6- 8:30 Saturdays, 12 - 4:00 Sundays. Our amazing special offers include Wednesday's 2 Dine For £10 (2 Main courses , 2 Desserts) Small Appetite Menu 2 Courses £8.95, 3 Courses £10.95 (Selected Times). Fish Fridays 2 Fish & Chips £12.99 Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from THE WATER RAT staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?