We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ploughboy

) #31 of 37 Restaurants in Saltash €€ - €€€ , British,
60 Liskeard Road, Saltash, England
+44 1752 842861
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (3 reviews)
“cakes” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
60 Liskeard Road, Saltash, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Having travelled from the North East of England it was tea time ish when we arrived at the nearby travelodge. The Ploughboy was recommended by the receptionist at the Travelodge. The menu was quite expensive so we opted for the carvery.Only two meats were offered,pork...More

Thank cragside d
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived for a meal having heard of new management and premises being revamped restaurant was bright and clean but was dissatisfied with the food roast meat dry and hard and the veg overcooked will not be backMore

2  Thank jethrocooldude
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry your didn't enjoy your roast dinner, and don't feel you will be back. Our carvery is continuously refreshed throughout the day, but should there ever be a problem with your meal...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I’ve just got back to Devon from lunch at The Ploughboy with my wife and two dear friends from Cornwall. The car park was quite full as there was a lunch party of over 20 having a function. Immediately we were impressed by the friendly...More

1  Thank CharlieEdgeler
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this glowing response. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the ploughboy, and you are spreading the word. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in Sunday for lunch and had a very enjoyable carvery. It wasn't fantastic, but it was nice enough and good value, plus the dessert was very good. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant and the whole experience was a massive improvement under...More

Thank Tim G
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Carvery. We do have a lot of plans for the building, which with the continued support of the locals over time we are hoping to carry...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic food and staff. Reading some other comments here the bad ones are from competition. Never had food under cooked and in the last 3 months the standard has improved 100% for the better 😀 would recommend to everone

1  Thank paul3812
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We appreciate your custom. I hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely fab pub/restaurant, food is amazing and staff are excellent, new management who have taken over have improved the place so much and never seen the place so busy every day of each week..welcome Becky, Rod, Grant and the rest of the staff..

Thank min4mic
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this great review! we are pleased you appreciate all our hard work. I hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a Thursday night, when we arrived we saw it was curry night. Three of us had curry and paid extra for popadom and mango chutney. The curry was very very dry and inedible without the chutney . The nana bread was like...More

Thank Debbie P
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. It was myself who came to see you after your meal. I am sorry your meals weren't up to scratch that night and that you weren't table checked by a member of the waiting staff. That was our second curry...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

heard new owners so decided to try again was ok but some of the veg was going cold carvery all day and other choices but will leave a while before returning

Thank sharon t
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a terrible experience I received when visiting the ploughboy! I was so looking forward to trying out there Carvery and got served pork raw, I really don't think this is acceptable and maybe if a chef was carving and not a waitress this would...More

6  Thank GeorgiaOlver
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you had a bad experience when visiting us. With regards to the pork, all of our carvery meats are probed to make sure they are 74 degrees and over before they are taken out to the...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely amazing. Food great, good choices, fabulous atmosphere. We had roast beef carvery lots of meat plenty of fresh vegetables. Prices average. Clean toilets. Plenty of parking.

Thank quatro65
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and we hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Waitrose Cafe
119 reviews
.76 km away
New Rodney and Xin Chinese
66 reviews
.71 km away
Weary Friar Inn Restaurant
64 reviews
.51 km away
Cecil Arms
15 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Albert Bridge
70 reviews
2.42 km away
Saltash Waterside
40 reviews
2.23 km away
Antony House
190 reviews
3.22 km away
Mary Newman's Cottage
14 reviews
1.81 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tom A H
29 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Getusomeofthat |
Yes anniex1s is jans daughter lol nice spot! How sad is that?
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:45
Saturday
11:00 - 23:45
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 60 Liskeard Road, Saltash, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Saltash
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 842861
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing