We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
A coffee shop with tables for dining and comfortable chairs / sofas for simply relaxing and sampling the range of coffees and teas on offer. Excellent selection of cakes and tray bakes, plus a range of home made scones. Meals range from full English breakfasts (availble all day), tea cakes for a snacks, or main meals that include lasagne, filled jacket potatoes, home made soup, sandwiches, salads and more. Afternoon tea is also available (all day). Bookings can be made and we are also cater for parties. Last orders for hot food at 3:30pm, with cakes and drinks served until 4:00pm.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
308
127
29
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
308
127
29
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes quiche side salad potatoes bakewell pudding great coffee coffee and cake full english lovely lunch food was lovely cafe shops
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

An attractive establishment in the main street in Buxton . We were only there briefly but enjoyed fresh scones with jam and cream . There was plenty to choose from on a varied menu but despite our small 'meal' we found the place very pleasant...and the service too .More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Cath M, Owner at The Lime Lounge Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking time to leave your review. We are actually in Bakewell, nevertheless I’m very happy you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a light lunch here, and enjoyed their alcohol free cocktails, paninis, cakes and so on. Very friendly staff, clean and spacious, air conditioned, and great spot at a crossroads for watching Bakewell go by.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Cath M, Owner at The Lime Lounge Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking time to leave your lovely review, I’m so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came into this lovely and stylish cafe with my partner and 3 year old and enjoyed everything about it. Table service and delicious and fresh cake - I'm not vegan, but I had the vegan chocolate cake to test my tastebuds which was absolutely lovely....My partner had her favourite - carrot cake and loved the birthday cake flavouring for her coffee too! All in all, delicious food in a clean, well presented and cosy little cafe in the heart of Bakewell. Will definitely return and have something a little different next time, and with the exciting prospect of this little place opening for cocktails and evening food soon too, its very much a place to watch out for! Thanks to everyone at the lime lounge!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Cath M, Owner at The Lime Lounge Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time to leave your lovely review. It’s so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, we are planning to open later in the day and I would highly recommend you come and try a cocktail or...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited here whilst on a day trip to Bakewell and were hoping to get some lunch; however, lunch was not on the menu after the service we received... or lack there of. We were greeted by a friendly women who then told us to...take a seat outside and she would be over shortly to take our order. After 20 minutes of waiting we went inside to ask if someone could take our order, a gentleman said that he would get someone to come over. 5minutes later still no order had been taken. The waitress that had welcomed us then came outside so we prepared ourselves to order however, she bypassed us for the table next to us that had arrived quite a bit after us. Obviously we did not look hungry enough for her! After an awful 25 minutes we decided to leave and find another establishment to eat at. A waste of our time and patience.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Cath M, Owner at The Lime Lounge Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Polly I’m so sorry that you weren’t served I don’t understand why not, I will pick this up with the team, this is not our usual standard Once again apologies

Reviewed 24 June 2021

Day three of our first mini break of 2021, based in Willington, Derbyshire and visiting Bakewell. It was mid-morning and we needed a bite to eat: a brunch seem to suit. We rarely ‘do brunch’ but having had a moderately long drive we were hungry...but we had one-eye on the plan to eat at an Indian restaurant in the early evening. Bakewell is, of course, famous for its puddings and tarts, but for our brunch we needed protein from meat and eggs, so the 'Small Breakfast' here at the Lime Lounge was the obvious and correct choice. At £5 this place offered a meal that represented exceptional value. The breakfasts were excellent, two slices of toast, two rashers of very slightly overcooked quality back bacon (for my taste), a tasty well-cooked quality sausage, and a perfectly cooked fried egg with a golden yolk. It was served hot with freshly-cooked egg, bacon and toast, but the sausage had been kept warm. With a good HP brown sauce this breakfast fitted the bill for us, as we washed it all down with a good hot pot of tea. Service was very pleasant and attentive in what was a very tidy and attractive café located near to the main river Wye crossing at Bakewell Bridge.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Cath M, Owner at The Lime Lounge Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2021

Thank you so much for taking time to leave your fab review. I’m so happy to hear that enjoyed your visit with us and hope to serve you again when yiu next visit our lovely town

Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Hubby and me just spent a lovely week in the Bakewell area and came across this little gem early on, so glad we did as it became our daily breakfast venue! It's clearly a popular spot as our favourite comfy sofa tucked away in the...corner was often already occupied (it's a great relaxing hideaway where you don't feel rushed) other sofas are dotted about as are traditional tables & chairs if you prefer, in addition to outdoor seating if you enjoy watching the world go by. Staff are really friendly with prompt and efficient service, nothing is too much trouble. During our week we sampled paninis, veggie and traditional cooked breakfasts, muesli & fruit, mocktails, coffee, fresh orange juice, cakes etc, all were delicious with plentiful portions. We will definitely be returning on our next visit to the area!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Cath M, Owner at The Lime Lounge Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review. I’m so happy you enjoyed your visit with, it’s nice to hear that you sampled our menu. We do open later from next week so maybe next time you visit you can enjoy a cocktail and...More

Reviewed 12 June 2021

Went to the door to say we were sat outside and the waitress said she would be with us. No-one came for ten minutes then a young lad started to clear the table next to us. I asked him about taking our order and he...said he would come back to us, another five minutes goes by and he finally came back for our order for two drinks. Another five minutes and he came back to ask if we wanted regular or large. Sat and waited again for another five minutes. No drinks so we left. By comparison, the table next to us was served and received their order immediately. Couldn’t have liked the look of us!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Cath M, Owner at The Lime Lounge Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2021

I’m so sorry to hear about the poor service that you received. We have just taken over the business and have a couple of young team members that need to receive training on customer care. Please call in and see us again and hopefully we...More

Reviewed 8 June 2021

Went to the Lime Lounge for a much needed cuppa following a long walk in the Peak district. Staff were welcoming, my cake was lovely and the barista made me the best vanilla latte I have tasted in a long time. Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Pop being served in cans is a no no for me. Poor presentation and the side salad was very poor (nothing like the photos!!) Over priced and not that much choice (had run out of bacon, eggs, various other things). The panini was nice but...not worth anywhere near the £6 price tag. And a waitress with a "piss off" tattoo on her arm?? Really??? I'm not averse to tattoos, have a couple myself but if it's something like that, cover it up when working!!! Won't be returning.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 24 May 2021

the food is ok, but the ventilation is way too terrible - our clothes and faces were covered with the smell of oil and smoke when we came out, I tried using fresheners but didn't work so I had to wash all of our waterproof...jackets straight away in order to get rid off the unpleasant smell.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The H Boutique Hotel
190 reviews
.13 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1,543 reviews
.20 km away
Bagshaw Hall
556 reviews
.28 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
250 reviews
2.49 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gallery Cafe
160 reviews
.18 km away
Piedaniel's Restaurant
693 reviews
.10 km away
Upstairs Cafe
270 reviews
.10 km away
The Woodyard
358 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Monsal Trail
1,725 reviews
.83 km away
Bakewell Old House Museum
270 reviews
.41 km away
All Saints Church
141 reviews
.31 km away
Bath Gardens
57 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Lime Lounge Coffee House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lime Lounge Coffee House

Yes, The Lime Lounge Coffee House offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Lime Lounge Coffee House offers delivery services.

The Lime Lounge Coffee House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5