We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1629 813635
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (90 reviews)
“game pie” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Peacock on Sunday lunch time for my Mother in Laws birthday. It was very busy, as we expected on a Bank Holiday Weekend. We had reserved a table however, and so this wasn’t an issue. The pub is lovely inside, very traditional...More

3  Thank HAPPYGAL85
thepeacockbakewell, I believe that people should take pride in what they do, even if it is scorned or misunderstood by the public at large, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge, you are not entitled to your opinion - you are entitled to your informed opinion. I'm afraid your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I called in here today for a meal. We have been here before over the past couple of years and always had good food but never written a review before. I had the beer battered fish, chips and peas - a big...More

2  Thank John H
thepeacockbakewell, Good food choices are good investments, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Still serving good food John H and that's a promise I endure to keep while ever I am at the helm of the Peacock in Bakewell. You clearly enjoy the big picture at the Peacock confirmed from your admission of previous visits, and quite frankly...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Bakewell and had heard good reviews of The Peacock so we decided to eat there. When we entered the pub all the tables had reserved on (this was lunchtime!) We got our drinks and asked the bar-person where we could sit, he said...More

4  Thank Soowoo122
thepeacockbakewell, I'm not about talking and finger-pointing and complaining. I'm about getting things done at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Quite frankly Soowoo122 if that's all you've got to complain about, and it is a very selfish complaint when it's all about you, you, you, I really think you need to get a grip about life in general because when the negative thoughts come -...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to book an overnight stay at the Peacock Inn for our wedding anniversary, we booked the Superior Four Poster Room and we were not disappointed. The room is decorated to a high modern standard with a deep free standing bath in the bedroom...More

3  Thank Amy H
thepeacockbakewell, You cannot change your destination overnight, but you can change your direction overnight.! at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Right now I am trying to be in a place of calm, a place where I can chill out and then handle the chaos of life better. You don't just get it overnight; you have to work at it. It's a daily struggle, but with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food and huge portions. Lots of good veggie options as well, which were welcome as the veggie choices in many pubs in the area are very uninspiring. The bean curry was truly excellent. Really busy, which slowed the service a little, but its all...More

1  Thank CaveatEmptor60
thepeacockbakewell, Everyone's like, 'overnight sensation.' It's not overnight. It's years of hard work, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

A mission statement is not something you write overnight....but fundamentally, your mission statement becomes your constitution, the solid expression of your vision and values. It becomes the criterion by which you measure everything else in your life, and if you do decide to return one...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First visit. Great food, great service, warm atmosphere the bar staff welcomed us with a friendly smile, Julie went over the top to help us and chatted to us like old friends. Will definitely recommend this establishment to family and friends and will re visit...More

2  Thank Beverley38
thepeacockbakewell, It's fine to have social media that connects us with old friends, but we need tools that help us discover new people as well, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

A long apprenticeship is the most logical way to success. The only alternative is overnight stardom, but I can't give you a formula for that, so we just try to keep the bar high with our standards, and what better place to spend an afternoon...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We eat here for evening meals three nights in a row, the food was excellent and the atmosphere was lovely. Staff very friendly and food presentation was good. Portions are large and choice from menu was broad. Highly recommended. CeriMore

3  Thank Ceri J
thepeacockbakewell, My dad told me, 'It takes fifteen years to be an overnight success', and it took me - gosh, nearly 30 years. at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Look at our success. We didn't achieve it overnight. It has been the product of many years' struggle, and every year, our times have shown gradual improvement, so we thank Ceri J for her kind words, as it doesn't get any better than three in...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I sat at the table in an empty restaurant waiting to order until I realised you had to go to the bar where two staff members were busy talking. Eventually I ordered fish and chips and sat down. Possibly the biggest cod I've ever been...More

4  Thank Dennis K
thepeacockbakewell, THERES NOTHING UNUSUAL HERE JUST GREAT FOOD IN A GREAT LITTLE PUB IN A GREAT LITTLE TOWN at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Well Denis K Not a bad review I guess, but sorry if there was a little dip in your expectations, but I think we need to iron out a couple of points out at both ends We are not a restaurant, but a pub that...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had dinner there. The food was fantastic! My husband and I shared the camembert and toast to start with (the bread is freshly made and wonderful), then my husband had the curry and I had the leek and mushroom...More

2  Thank EMeneely
thepeacockbakewell, THE FANTASTIC FOOD ORCESTRATOR at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Emma- you said it girl in a big nutshell ! It was our pleasure to welcome you, your husband and not forgetting the little one to the Peacock for a nights get away! The BEST PIE you've ever had is a huge compliment! thank you,...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

We went here with our two young children for lunch. The staff were very accommodating and helped us to get a table during a very busy period. There was quite a wait on the food but once it came we didn’t mind at all as...More

2  Thank modaru
thepeacockbakewell, JUST A GREAT LINK IN A GREAT TEAM at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

MODARU- Many thanks for taking time out to post a great review. I know that with 2 young children, time is precious Its good to know that some guests appreciate how busy we are and are understanding. I keep saying it, but we are busy...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Bakewell
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1,021 reviews
.16 km away
Bagshaw Hall
448 reviews
.28 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
191 reviews
2.43 km away
Hassop Hall Hotel
527 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
569 reviews
.06 km away
Eastern Court Chinese
109 reviews
.03 km away
Upstairs Cafe
195 reviews
.07 km away
541 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Monsal Trail
1,235 reviews
.89 km away
Bakewell Old House Museum
198 reviews
.39 km away
All Saints Church
116 reviews
.29 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
85 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle B
12 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately if you are a dog owner/lover Michelle, we only allow dogs outside on the patio beer garden area. I hope that answers your question and we may see you during the summer months when it is more likely you can eat... More
7 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RamblingRosie14 | Reviewed this property |
Go next door to the Queens. Dog friendly all year round!
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$13 - US$30
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813635
  • E-mail
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing