We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock

€€ - €€€, British,
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1629 813635
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (84 reviews)
“pie” (56 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

wow is all i can say 2 couples dined we all went away more than satisfied with our food service and drinks really friendly service yes as people say bit more pricey than pubs ,well worth it ,we are just sorry we went there on...More

2  Thank pirving4
thepeacockbakewell, Wow, I get to wake up again? Ok. You have to make good with what you've got, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow pirving4 - in laymans's terms we can't get much better than that, so in return we thank you for your wow factor review and to reiterate, it's always worth that little extra for that extra quality we promise to serve!!! I grew up in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a late tea in the Peacock while staying in the town and only wanted a light bite. Ordered the Fish Finger sandwich thinking it would be small but was amazed by the size of what was placed on the table before me. I've seen...More

2  Thank dannymarino
thepeacockbakewell, Everyone would be healthier if they didn't eat junk food, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Nice words in return for a nice sandwich from dannymarino for which we thank you. The fish finger sandwich we serve is up there with the best of the best we feel Danny, and you certainly get what you pay for, and many customers have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite it being a Sunday evening, the pub was really busy, lots of tables reserved, which I thought was a good sign. We were glad we had booked earlier. The food was lovely, little bit expensive but well worth it.More

1  Thank FYB04
thepeacockbakewell, You have to maintain a culture of transformation and stay true to your values, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments FYB04, as they read well, because basically the food is lovely at the Peacock, not at all expensive though in the big scheme of things, as quality is never, I repeat never expensive! It may hurt in the interim, but...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were a group of five and called in around 2pm looking for Sunday lunch. It was extremely busy but we were seated pretty quickly. You go to the bar to order your food and this is where I've knocked a mark off, the reason...More

2  Thank Judy A
thepeacockbakewell, I like to take my own time, and I don't like to rush. I do take time, and I have patience, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The Peacock is always worth the wait Judy A, so thank you for highlighting the fact, because you get a damned good meal and the Sunday roasts are exceptional! It's a shame though we are penalised, how did you say with a mark knocked off...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We was in Bakewell, and we just wanted a quick lunch, so we sat in the beer garden and ordered a sandwich. All the potions were very large (probably reflecting the slightly higher prices), but service and staff were good. Would have lunch here again.More

2  Thank Daleblue123
thepeacockbakewell, The price is what you pay. Value is what you get, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

....and that's what you receive from the Peacock Daleblue123, a Good Lunch and a huge portion, and all quality at that too, so thanks for the review as I feel you are a hard act to please, but please you we did with good staff...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent accommodation, fantastic food, very friendly and helpful staff. What more can we say? We will definitely be back soon.More

2  Thank _alanc_molloy
thepeacockbakewell, Unity is strength - when there is teamwork and collaboration, wonderful things can be achieved, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Technology is nothing, but it can be brutal, so what's important is that you have a faith in people, that they're basically good and smart, and if you give them tools, they'll do wonderful things with them, and _alanc_molloy restores my faith in human nature,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok, you've probably read the title of the review and thought that I'm stretching the truth. Nope, we actually travel two hours, eat at The Peacock, and travel two hours back home straight away. Yes, it really is that good. It is not the only...More

2  Thank Ian O
thepeacockbakewell, I enjoy the work, I enjoy every minute of my professional life, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Every minute of every hour of every day you are making the world, just as you are making yourself, and you might as well do it with generosity and kindness and style, and the review from Ian O typifies what is good in people from...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good value and choice on the menu... happy staff and excellent service thank you very much we will be back :-)More

2  Thank katie197011
thepeacockbakewell, Honesty is the fastest way to prevent a mistake from turning into a failure, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Just an amazing chosen few words from our Queen of Bakewell, to which we are humbled and proud katie197011, so thank you for that and we look forward to your return as you say it exactly how it is!!! Goodness is about character - integrity,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'd looked on the website before we visited and the pub looked like it had been recently refurbished but when we arrived it felt a bit dirty. Sticky tables and bar and everything a bit worn out so a bit disappointing. Dirty wine glasses too....More

6  Thank Sally N
thepeacockbakewell, Be grateful for what you have, stop complaining, it bores everybody else, does you no good, & doesn't solve any problems at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

The Peacock is not dirty, not in the least Sally N - what it is though is a 200 year old traditional pub, yes you heard right, 200 years old dating back from it's original concept as a coach house in 1819! For better or...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

While staying in town we had dinner here one evening. We had no trouble finding a table. We did have trouble choosing our meal; everything looked too good! Once you decide on your food, you order at the bar. The food was great! Portion sizes...More

2  Thank USExpat1nUK
thepeacockbakewell, Truth is ever to be found in simplicity, and not in the multiplicity and confusion of things, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review USExpat1nUK as we appreciate input from satisfied customers as we also appreciate no input from the thousands, upon thousands of customers who fully appreciate the goods on offer at the Peacock, What I mean by that I guess goes cap...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rajas
499 reviews
.07 km away
Ricci's
539 reviews
.06 km away
Castle Inn
374 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bakewell Old House Museum
183 reviews
.39 km away
River Wye
87 reviews
.11 km away
All Saints Church
106 reviews
.29 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
72 reviews
1.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle B
12 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately if you are a dog owner/lover Michelle, we only allow dogs outside on the patio beer garden area. I hope that answers your question and we may see you during the summer months when it is more likely you can eat... More
1
Vote
SolihullStew
7 March 2016|
Answer
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately for the few SolihullStew we are not dog friendly as you put it inside the pub and dining area. Yes, in the beer garden we embrace dogs, as just in the home a dogs place is in the outside world, not for us... More
-6
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$29
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813635
  • E-mail
Description
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing