We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Throckmorton

) #5 of 31 Restaurants in Alcester €€ - €€€ Bar, British, Pub
Coughton Hill | Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England
+44 1789 766366
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“faggots” (23 reviews)
“pate” (16 reviews)
“fish friday” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
Coughton Hill | Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We had visited and praised this pub more than once,but i doubt we will ever go again after last night. We booked this place for on the way home from a break in the costwolds as in the past they did a nice steamed basket...More

Thank albatross1975
Reviewed 6 days ago

We took a drive out of Redditch ( yes novel I know ) completely fed up with just popping into our local the Brambley cottage. What a lovely pub , we walked in to the most pleasant atmosphere , spotless, candles on each table, we...More

2  Thank Eileen M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've visited twice recently on a quiet week night when working in the local area. The staff are friendly and helpful and the service is good. I've tried the fish and chips as well as the steak burger. Both meals have been excellent and portion...More

Thank Jim D
Dave A, Manager at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon and we promise the high standards as usual. Thanks again

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came to the throckmorton this sunday just gone. Initially I was concerned about some negative reviews but I really enjoyed my time there. The manager Whale was very helpful, and the food was lovely. Despite how busy it was we didn't wait long for our...More

Thank Kirsty R
Dave A, Manager at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Thank you Kirsty :) Guest satisfaction is our promise. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well we've just left and after travelling a long way to sample this restaurant we were quite disappointed. Food was late, wrong and below par. We wouldn't recommend this place at all.

1  Thank jonnyboyy1981
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Throckmorton as Coughton Courts cafe was too busy..... so glad we did! The staff are so friendly and genuine not like some chain pubs. The food was fresh and hot. Kids menu fantastic, none of this frozen nuggets etc.. Hubby liked the local...More

Thank clara2698
Dave A, Manager at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to fish night £17.50 for two courses plus glass of wine or beer ,superb food was served hot tasty by attentive staff, nice atomsphere really good night out will be back again .

Thank ray m
Dave A, Manager at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We promise to keep it that way and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently went for a birthday dinner with friends to The Throckmorton and cannot express how terribly disappointed we all were and will be very very reluctant to return. The service was very poor in as much as it was very slow and no attention to...More

1  Thank Christine B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recommended by friends we booked for their Friday night "Fish Night" menu, arriving early (they start serving at 5pm) to get a good table; why do so many restaurants insist on dumping you at some poorly lit and poorly situated table when the entire place...More

1  Thank geoffwells4
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner after visiting Coughton Court National Trust, thought we'd grab a bite to eat near by. Looking on TripAdvisor, we saw Throckmorton as the closest place. It wasn't the best decision we'd ever made. The menu had a lot to offer, however...More

2  Thank Sunil S
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Dear Sunil S, We are sorry that you were disappointed in your visit. I would like to reply to your comments above. We are certainly not priced as a Michelin starred restaurant with our meals starting from £6.95 and our top priced steak is £18.95....More

Nearby Restaurants
Kings Court
53 reviews
2.05 km away
Mt Everest
252 reviews
3.04 km away
The Moat House Inn
707 reviews
1.87 km away
69 reviews
3.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Coughton Court
581 reviews
.52 km away
Studley swimming pool
7 reviews
2.90 km away
Purity Brewing Company
20 reviews
3.02 km away
Great Escape Classic Car Hire
78 reviews
5.54 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Have noticed how amazing it is outside, are dogs allowed in the alfresco dining area?
25 April 2017|
Response from Dave A | Property representative |
Yes we do as long as they are keft on their lead.
I noticed by your review that the staff were rude at the Throckmorton the same thing happened to us it was this assistant manager someone called Dan and one of the waitresses whom she called herself becks! they were really awful people they don't deserve to have a job! Thanks Sarah for your review i'm glad i'm not the only one
26 September 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Susan B | Reviewed this property |
We have been to the Throckmorton on several occasions and have always found the staff to be helpful and friendly, I couldn't imagine any of them to be rude.
Have you got a decent pool table?
30 June 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Amanda L | Reviewed this property |
sadly no
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$29
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coughton Hill | Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Alcester
  • Phone Number: +44 1789 766366
  • E-mail
We serve our fresh, locally sourced, homemade breakfast, lunches and dinner every day from 9am to 9pm Our menus offer exceptional value for money featuring several fixed price offers such as 'Fish Fridays' - 2 coucrses and a glass of wine at £15 or all our Pub Classics at under £10. We also serve restaurant quality specials and a fab Sunday Roast.