We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

LeWinters

92 Church Street | Strangford Arms Hotel, Newtownards BT23 4AL, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9181 4141
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good24%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“chicken curry” (5 reviews)
“t bone” (3 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:30 Hours
CUISINES
Pub, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
92 Church Street | Strangford Arms Hotel, Newtownards BT23 4AL, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Very good selection of menu choices nicely prepared and served. Good selection of appetisers, desserts and drinks.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank jasheridan1
092GM, Owner at LeWinters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Fantastic, thank you so much for your 5 rating and taking your time to write your great review. The staff will be thrilled by your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

meal for two on 12/1/19. service was great and the lasagne was the best I have ever tasted. very reasonable and will definitely go back

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank george c
092GM, Owner at LeWinters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Brilliant, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. The chefs and staff will be thrilled by your comments and 5 rating. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I visited Le Winters at the end of last year for a Christmas main course. We were asked, when we went to order the Turkey dinner, which one type of potato we wanted, Mash, boiled or roast and any other type of...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank B B
092GM, Owner at LeWinters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I am struggling to understand why it took over two weeks for you to write your review. Also your review is not accurate as to how our bistro main course Turkey Dinner is served as it comes as follows; Roast Co. Down Turkey, Baked Antrim...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the hotel joining the bar (strangford hotel) very nice bar to visit with high quality food. Lots of choice of drinks. Pleasure to eat and drink there.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 144ster
092GM, Owner at LeWinters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Awesome, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review and for our 5 rating. The chefs will be so pleased that their freshly prepared cuisine was appreciated in this way. We look forward to your next visit to LeWinters...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

staying at the Strangford arms hotel we decided to visit the restaurant on one of the nights we was there, restaurant was lovely, staff were good, was busy the night we was there, food was lovely but I wouldn't say it was worth the price...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ricky P
092GM, Owner at LeWinters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate that you took the time to write your review and we value your comments. The staff will be delighted with your praise as they work hard to cater for customers needs. The chefs will be pleased that you enjoyed the quality of their...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff unhelpful when we asked too move table due to the draught coming from void in ceiling above our table meals were not value for money 22.50 for steak and peppersauce that was all on plate no sides that was extra fresh cream was off...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Christopher W
092GM, Owner at LeWinters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You were in on Saturday the 8th December and paid your bill at 7.32pm. You had not booked however we accommodated you even though we had 258 diners reserved that evening. Our lovely supervisor served you and you did not make any comments to her...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve all been to a works party and all Hav had the same typical fare, but I must say I really enjoyed it. The set up and service was spot on and we didn’t have to be kept waiting, this included the meal and drinks....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mferguson11
092GM, Owner at LeWinters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Brilliant, thank you so much for your lovely review and rating. The staff will be so pleased by your comments. We trust you had an amazing Christmas and our best wishes for 2019.

Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

Oh dear, I ha e been here a few times over the years but never been impressed. Decided to visit after sons Carol service.. It was just poor from start to finish. Most of the food is bought in and presently rather poorly. I had...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank 360gavins
092GM, Owner at LeWinters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We take all your views on board and strive to please our many customers each day. We are thankful that the rest of your party left a generous tip and thanked the manager for his service. All produce used in our menus is locally sourced,...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018

I've never really enjoyed a meal here food was average and service the same I've never been here when every member of my company has been satisfiedMore

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank mew1950
092GM, Owner at LeWinters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are disappointed by your comments however thankfully they do not reflect the praise we recieve from our many patrons. If you could make yourself known to a manager during your next visit then we can see exactly what these problems are. As we have...More

Reviewed 11 November 2018

Stopped in at the LeWinters restaurant in the Strangford Arms Hotel around 5pm after shopping day in Newtownards, its very handy to the main town centre and to the Shopping Centre. We were greeted by a friendly waitress and although they were fully booked from...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Tpink
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Strangford Arms Hotel
304 reviews
.02 km away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
1,213 reviews
4.54 km away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
1,275 reviews
7.17 km away
Marine Court Hotel
645 reviews
8.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro
519 reviews
.40 km away
Chef and Manager
283 reviews
.84 km away
Romas
313 reviews
.73 km away
Regency
93 reviews
.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kiltonga Nature Reserve
22 reviews
.55 km away
Ards Shopping Centre
14 reviews
.18 km away
Newtownards Library
13 reviews
.58 km away
IMC
5 reviews
.68 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from LeWinters staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:30
Thursday
08:00 - 21:30
Friday
08:00 - 21:30
Saturday
08:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 92 Church Street | Strangford Arms Hotel, Newtownards BT23 4AL, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Newtownards
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9181 4141
  • E-mail
Description
LeWinters at the Strangford Arms has an established reputation as one of the most popular dining venues in North Down. Major refurbishment in the Bistro, Bar and Restaurant has ensured its place on the map. We have taken an innovative approach to dining and are totally dedicated to offering great value food and wines of high quality at affordable prices. The exceptional and generous menu has something to offer every taste and appetite ranging from traditional, local favourites to the spicy, exotic dishes from all corners of the world. We only serve the best quality produce which has been locally sourced, carefully selected and freshly prepared. We take great care in our menu which can be tailored to suit any special dietary requirement. Open seven days a week, LeWinters is the ideal place for a breakfast, lunch or dinner with colleagues, friends or family. We are able to cater for all occassions, whether it's a romantic meal for two, a family gathering, celebrations or just a night out for good food and craic with friends. Our professional and welcoming staff are on hand to make sure you have a great dining experience. Whether it's a light snack or a full three course meal, you will always find something delicious at LeWinters.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing