We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Adelphi Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
67-71 Main Street | Adelphi Portrush, Portrush, Northern Ireland
+44 28 7082 5544
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 240: English reviews
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I had time for a wee catch up and booked the Adelphi, Portrush. Boy were we pleased 😁 The surroundings were lovely, the service was perfect and the found scrumptious. Can't wait to go back, and after tonight that will be very soon. Thank you Adelphi. 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Helpful?
Thank Francesknowles
AdelphiPortrush, Duty Manager at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Hi Francesknowles Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our bistro, We really appreciate it. Thank you for all of your kind words about the food, service and atmosphere here. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards Chris Cochrane More 

Horten Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

As someone with an allergy to gluten (Coeliac disease), eating out can be immensely frustrating. This restaurant was a highpoint of my visit to Northern Ireland. The people who run the restaurant have a coeliac in their family. I finally got to eat proper fish and chips again, with fish batter that tasted how I remember it from my youth--without... More 

Helpful?
Thank sallyg334
AdelphiPortrush, Duty Manager at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Dear sallyg334 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience in our bistro as we really appreciate it. Thanks for all of your wonderful comments about our staff and especially our Gluten Free menu. We understand how hard it can be when u have special dietary needs and try to offer as much choice as possible. We... More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped off in Portrush for lunch and happened to park next to the Adelphi -what luck! Comfortable interior, standard seaside menu, but far from standard food! The portion sizes are very generous, and the traditional food is very tasty indeed. Polite, helpful and unobtrusive service. Thoroughly recommend lunch here.

Helpful?
Thank NealeH
AdelphiPortrush, Duty Manager at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Dear NealeH Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our Bistro. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience. Thank you for your recommendation and your praise of our staff and service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Chris Cochrane More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Having tried several places to eat in portstewart / portrush without having pre booked we finally stumbled into Adelphi !! Very good food & service. My only suggestion to improve would be softer lighting which would add to the overall ambience of the restaurant. Other than that no complaints at all & would definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
AdelphiPortrush, Duty Manager at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Wendy M Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience in our Bistro as we really appreciate it. I am very happy you were impressed with the food and service and you would definitely return. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind Regards Chris Cochrane More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We visited The Adelphi for a meal last Sunday. We were able to be seated by friendly staff immediately without a reservation and in the last minutes of lunchtime. The food was delicious and plenty of it. My youngest daughter and her friend ordered from the kids menu ...I was worried they might be too small in portion size but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen D
AdelphiPortrush, Duty Manager at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Karen D Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our Bistro. I am very happy you and your family all had a pleasant experience. Thank you for your positive words about all of your food and the bistro staff who looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We dined here our 2nd & final night in Portrush. It is located a few blocks from the coast line, facing a street & was near our B & B. The atmosphere is relaxing, with easy listening American music (overhead) & a sign says they offer live music 2 evenings/week. They have special pricing of 2 or 3 courses for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liveshealthy
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us we really appreciate it. I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our atmosphere relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Amanda Holmes AIH More 

Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Three of us are here and enjoyed our meal. Small but nice dining area. Very friendly staff. We had a very nice mushroom soup. One had the salmon that was very good. Two of us had the gammon which was large and very juicy. We had the sticky pudding. The sauce was great but the cake was a bit dry.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable meal with us and found our staff friendly. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards Amanda Holmes AIH More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

My family stayed at the Adelphi Hotel on our recent Tour of Ireland. Since we were not familiar with the area, we decided to try the Hotel Bistro. What a surprise--a lively place with great food. Very reasonable prices. We were served a complementary breakfast the next morning. Cereal, sweet breads and fruit plus complementary water for our tour.

Helpful?
Thank Diane M
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Diane thank you for your glowing review we really appreciate it. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our prices reasonable and food great. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Amanda Holmes AIH More 

Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

had a simple soup and sandwich deal. Tasty, filling, fresh. Value for money. My wife had a roast of the day which was as expected.

Helpful?
Thank GEOFF W
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Geoff thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Amanda Holmes AIH More 

Clogher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Late lunch, only people there. Waitress was setting tables I don't like saying this but no pleasantries at all. The young man who brought some of food out lot better. Chicken pitta struggled to eat just not nice flavour and to much strange flavoured soupy sauce inside. Champ awful dark like old potatoes or boiled and sitting long time. Took... More 

Helpful?
Thank sharonkee1
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we value all guest feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your our Chicken Pitta and I will pass on your comments to our chef. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our Chicken Curry and Chicken Goujons. We hope you decide to return and dine with us... More 

Travellers who viewed Adelphi Bistro also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Adelphi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Irish, European, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 67-71 Main Street | Adelphi Portrush, Portrush, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Antrim  >  Portrush
  • Phone Number: +44 28 7082 5544
  • This restaurant is at Adelphi Portrush

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Adelphi Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?