We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
274
218
76
38
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
274
218
76
38
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie salad giants causeway inn coast rooms
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Smugglers on two occasions whilst spending a few days on the Nort Coast with my wife, daughter and Grandchildren. The first visit was for an evening meal. It was a weekday and parking was easy. We had booked so we're shown straight...to our table. Service was fine and the staff were helpful. None of our group wanted a starter so we all ordered a main course. My two Grandsons aged 4 and 7 both enjoyed theirs. My wife chose the salmon and said it was fine but uninspiring. My daughter ordered the chicken and said it was okay. I ordered the Sirloin rare and everything was fine but nothing to get overly excited about. The children had ice cream which of course was excellent as far as they were concerned. However, my wife and daughter were both disappointed with their Desert. I thought the bill was fair enough but couldn't help thinking a little more effort with the food would have made our visit just a little more enjoyable. If this had been My only experience I would have awarded the Smugglers a score of 3 out of 5. As we were only a few hundred yards down the road I thought my wife and I should visit the Smugglers and grab a pint of stout from the bar. This was a big mistake. The bar was nice enough and not busy at all about a dozen people at the most. On arrival we noticed it was table service so remained in our seats. We also noticed there was only one member of staff behind the bar and he was quite busy. We remained seated and could see the barman was looking quite stressed, some of the punters were calling him over regarding food orders asking for condiments etc. After 25 minutes the feeling of stress was palpable and not even being noticed we decided to go elsewhere. Not a nice experience at all. It is quite clear that the Smugglers is geared towards the tourist industry and as its in a prime location but as a resident of Northern Ireland I certainly wouldn't say its a great advert for the hospitality industry here. My advice look elsewhere there are much better spots locally.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

What a gem of a place to stay. View spectacular. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Have to praise the staff everyone of you made our stay so special. Special thanks to Sam and Teighan for looking after us so well. We ate in the restaurant and...the food and service was amazing. Thanks guysMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 8 August 2021

We stopped here for a bite to eat on the way from the Giants Causeway to Portrush - We sat outside as it was a lovely sunny & warm afternoon/evening. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a great choice on the menu for...dinner - we ordered chicken fillet burger and chicken with champ & veg. Both dishes were delicious. We were starving after our day at the Giants Causeway so were happy to find such a nice place to eat. We highly recommend the Smugglers Inn.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

We only stopped for a coffee as never been here before . Staff were lovely but absolutely terrible coffee! It appeared to be instant and was very bitter. Asked for 2 shots and got what appeared to be 2 spoonfuls of bad instant. Definitely need...a new barista!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

My husband booked us to stay overnight in Bushmills as a special treat and we came here for dinner. I was really looking forward to it, but it fell very short of expectations. Our meals were brought to the people next to us by mistake,...we heard the waitress say Pork? and the lady nodded, the other lady said she didn't order chowder and we looked at each other and said I bet that's ours. So they took away the chowder from our neighbours and after about 10 minutes set it in front of me and apologised that they had it mixed up. Look this can happen, but it meant me sitting with it getting cold waiting for my husbands. I took a sip and it was barely tepid. I asked them to heat it up and serve it with my husbands, jeez it should have been obvious we would want to eat at the same time! OK so the 2 meals eventually came. my husband said his was OK but mine was beyond bland seafood chowder. The mussels were little babies, tiny things, four of them and the fish wasn't the tender chunks I would have expected, but more large flakes interspersed with small lumps in the oddest tasting chowder, By this time I was starving and as it wasn't objectionable I ate it. They asked when paying did we enjoy our meal.......well with the mix up, the wait and the bland seafood it was no, and we explained why. We also told this to the waitress who came to ask if everything was OK just before clearing our plates. Hey, we cleared our plates, so yeh we should pay for it....... and my husband said his was adequate, but for a special meal and experience it fell short. The lady who took our first order was lovely, efficient and pleasant, but she wasn't with us after that, had she been it might have resolved things slightly. Genuinely disappointed in our experience.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

A fantastic family meal in The Smugglers. We were warmly welcomed and immediately felt the caring, family atmosphere from the staff. They even took time to interact with the kids. The table service by Stuart in particular was superb, well-mannered, efficient and effective. The food...was great...my wife had a chicken fillet burger, kids pasta and sausage and mash and a nice combo for myself. Only once you've experienced the Smugglers do you appreciate great service, a stunning view and staff who care. I look forward to returning and based on my experience tonight, highly recommend a visit. As for a few poor reviews...the fact staff offered a reply shows again their caring nature into a business that matters. Enjoy your visit!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Arrived and asked for a table, was told there wasn’t one, then saw someone else being seated and commented on on it, I was then told we could have a table effectively in a corridor with some staff having a coffee break. despite an empty...room full of chairs overlooking the coast being available. another couple came and were directed to sit in that room. After a while our drinks arrived and we were asked to pay the bill before we had even touched our drinks. Complained to the manager who explained there must have been miscommunication. There certainly was, we didn’t expect to get treated so shabbily.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Jenny M, Owner at The Smugglers Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Good evening, Let me first start by again apologising that you didn’t enjoy your time with us. I have been waiting for your review as you had stated you would do so when speaking to myself yesterday. I am however, quite surprised at how inaccurately...More

Reviewed 20 July 2021

The most shocking service we have ever received. Waited 15 minutes on a table. Asked the bar girl 3 times if we could order a drink. Had to ask to order our meal which was meant to be salt chilli chicken. Meal arrived very late...it was pathetic the chicken was not salt chilli it was pieces of dried up chicken. The garlic cube potatoes where hard. The child’s ham toastie had ham as thick as your door step. Place seems dirty too. Told the guy this when paying our meal he laughed and said they are trying to train new staff. Would definitely not recommend here.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Jenny M, Owner at The Smugglers Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Good evening, I am shocked and quite frankly appalled by your review, how dare you come online and straight up lie and make out like you complained and pretty much got laughed at. Statements like that could cost someone their job! Their livelihood! It is...More

Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

Lovely reception from staff and consideration made for us as we needed space for a high chair. Plenty room around us and a lovely relaxing atmosphere. Food was tremendous . The broth with the mussels was the best I've ever tasted. Friendly staff, very attentive....More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and can’t rate it high enough. Every staff member are a credit to the owners, so polite and attentive. Had Dinner the 3 nights and every meal my husband and myself had was outstanding will definitely recommend to everyone. The whole...building was spotless (credit to the cleaners)More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Causeway Hotel
1,136 reviews
1.54 km away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
2,511 reviews
1.66 km away
Bayview Hotel
946 reviews
2.16 km away
GolfLinks Hotel
227 reviews
7.76 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bushfoot Restaurant
14 reviews
1.41 km away
Causeway Hotel Bar & Restaurant
486 reviews
1.54 km away
Maegden
50 reviews
1.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bushfoot Golf Club
63 reviews
1.41 km away
Giant's Causeway & Bushmills Railway
167 reviews
1.10 km away
Causeway Fun Farm
22 reviews
1.07 km away
Portcoon jetty
8 reviews
1.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jennyn828
29 February 2020|
Answer
Response from K4530ZZmicheller |
What’s the question please
0
Votes
jennyn828
29 February 2020|
Answer
Response from Yamavan | Reviewed this property |
Very dog friendly, we were made very welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Smugglers Inn Restaurant

The Smugglers Inn Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4