We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

€€ - €€€, British,
Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
+44 1707 299342
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“duck salad” (7 reviews)
“ham” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 477 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Really enjoyed all three of my courses, would have to go every day for a month to get through all the menu choices i liked the look of....

Thank Jason B
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night. Firstly the front of house were nowhere to be seen to seat us. After waiting for a few minutes to be seated we were eventually shown to our table. The food was excellent! But it felt as though the staff...More

Thank LukeSPrescott
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic family gathering and lunch was superb brilliant staff thks so much, will definitely be back

Thank Mark J
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Mark J, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Red Lion, Welwyn and look forward to seeing you again soon ! Red Lion Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a great working lunch. The service was fast and the food was good. The restaurant is bright and welcoming, I would highly recommend.

Thank MelParkinson88
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad you had a good time. Hope to see you soon. The Red Lion Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Red Lion twice on our recent stay nearby. The restaurant is comfortable and has a peaceful atmosphere and has a good selection of foods on the menu. We had not booked either time but did not have to wait too long for...More

Thank chrisandsteph1232
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Red Lion, Welwyn. We're happy we could meet your expectations! The Red Lion Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very limited choice if you need a gluten free meal and no gluten free menu as such just an allergens folder you have to trail through. Also my husband ordered rustic bread as a starter which arrived as chunks of toast which makes you suspect...More

Thank Cheryl R
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Cheryl R, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. legally we have to provide you with our Allegan guide , however some of our sister sites are trailing Gluten free menus, so we are hoping this is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped into the Red Lion as it was my bday & both my husband & I were wfh. I've been here before very infrequently as I always feel the service lets the place down & unfortunately, Monday's visit was no different. The food itself...More

Thank HearneGal
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hearnegal, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. I can only apologise to you on this occasion, this is not the standard of service we like our guests to...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

On way back form Stanborough Lakes, stopped over at Red Lion. The site looked nice and attractive. It's was sunny so we requested to sit outside, went to the back to have a look, my god the tables were all over the place and dirty....More

1  Thank KPKenya
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kishor P, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. I have emailed you personally to resolve this issue. We sincerely apologise that your experience did not meet our or your expectations on this occasion. Warm Wishes The Red Lion Managemnt

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We always use this restaurant for business lunches and meetings. The atmosphere is always great and the staff always great you with a professional manner and a smile. The menu has a great choice and the food is always fresh and served quickly. The burgers...More

Thank Tinks3
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Tinks3, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We are thrilled to hear you use us regularly, We hope to welcome you and you team back again very soon. Warm Wishes The Red Lion Management

Reviewed 7 August 2017

I would describe the Red Lion as a restaurant with a bar, as the dining area is so large, smart and comfortable. Service is at your table and is good. The food is better than you get in most pubs and the 2- or 3-course...More

Thank foodrover
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We look forward to seeing you soon. The Red Lion Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Red Indian Restaurant
101 reviews
1.77 km away
Auberge du Lac
606 reviews
1.73 km away
Bill’s Welwyn restaurant
548 reviews
1.82 km away
Cote
270 reviews
1.70 km away
Nearby Attractions
Welwyn Roman Baths
87 reviews
2.04 km away
Stanborough Park
187 reviews
2.90 km away
Tulip Clinic
41 reviews
1.79 km away
Cat Survival Trust
45 reviews
2.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vanesa M
20 December 2016|
Answer
Response from alyson.johnson-smith_123 | Reviewed this property |
I do know that they can cater for Gulten Free and Dairy Free but I would phone them to check what the options are
1
Vote
Terry H
19 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Derek S | Reviewed this property |
Hi Terry yes they do as you can see. They can be bought by e mail or text up to £250
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 299342
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Red Lion - Welwyn serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing