We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thomas Daniell

€€ - €€€, British,
Infirmary Hill | Infirmary Hill, Truro TR1 2JA, England
+44 1872 858110
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“beef cheeks” (5 reviews)
“sunday roast” (15 reviews)
“pancetta” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Infirmary Hill | Infirmary Hill, Truro TR1 2JA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A group of work colleagues booked for lunch today, we all largely opted for the 2 course lunch. I would say that everyone except for myself were really pleased with their choices, I however was very disappointed. I ordered the chowder and was provided with...More

2  Thank susan n
Simon R, Owner at The Thomas Daniell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Susan N, Sorry to read this review. However I am pleased the rest of your party enjoyed the lunch. I know your were on a tight schedule and you didn't want to make a fuss, however its so important that you voice your disappointment...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having previously reviewed an August meal at The TD, expressing some disappointment at the service etc., I am back to say that - a couple of weeks back, we revisited The TD for a Friday evening meal. Our August experience was clearly a one off...More

Thank mumraaah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have eaten at this restaurant many times and have recommended it to numerous friends, however disappointed on a number of points today. Service a bit disinterested today, cold food on cold side plate... for a main meal... really ??? Gents toilets disgusting. Cocktails really...More

5  Thank pastorsmokey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great meal here this week. I had the squid starter and Ribeye steak main and would recommend both! The place has a very cool and rustic decor and was extremely clean, the staff were polite and helpful with nothing too much trouble...More

Thank Mark D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband had been wanting to try the Thomas Daniel for a while and thought what a perfect time to try it - for his birthday with some friends. We began with some bread - as there were four of us they recommended getting 2...More

Thank CelineClarke
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was fantastic from starters to desserts! We had crispy goats cheese and breads (big portion!) to start followed by steak and ale pie and fish and chips for main! All delicious. Warning - if you have the toast your own marshmallow to finish,...More

Thank Ashley L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As we were staying at the Merchant house hotel we decided to book a table here The food staff and drinks were fantastic Will definitely be returning very soon The craft ale was a surprise and very welcome and my wife just loved the gin...More

Thank smig9y
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place and great food, the bar has a good variety of ales and cocktails but you will need to book as not much space to sit and enjoy a drink. Lovely atmosphere and food was excellent

Thank kbaker627
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Called in on the off chance for lunch, what a treat. Club sandwich best ever. Really nice setting good service and every one else's meal that came out look good as well. Will try an evening next

Thank Tim_n_Stevie
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

The staff were lovely and the food was delicious! It was a clean tidy place and the cocktails were fantastic. However it was rather loud.

Thank leah d
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hooked Restaurant & Bar
718 reviews
.35 km away
The Cornish Vegan
113 reviews
.38 km away
Tabb's Restaurant
200 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Truro Cathedral
1,078 reviews
.56 km away
Hall for Cornwall
336 reviews
.44 km away
Skinner's Brewery
140 reviews
.60 km away
Royal Cornwall Museum
228 reviews
.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
commandercooke
16 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Diane H | Reviewed this property |
Not totally flat but the entrance part of the restaurant which opens out into a large room has plenty of space for a wheelchair if you notified them. Not sure there is much parking nearby and it is half way up a hill. I... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 19:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Infirmary Hill | Infirmary Hill, Truro TR1 2JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Truro District  >  Truro
  • Phone Number: +44 1872 858110
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing