We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3DR, England
+44 1756 794282
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (10 reviews)
“potatoes” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, International
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3DR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Ok, so it was a cold Tuesday night in October but no excuse for it being just as cold inside as it was out. Apart from a few locals we were the only ones in which didn't add to the atmosphere though the pub can't...More

Thank Tony J
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good afternoon. The fire was and has now been swept out, something we have to do annually. And rather interestingly I have no radiators where you were sat so I'm not sure what you felt you were holding that was stone cold but it certainly...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

I cant fault the place. Real village pub with lovely, helpful staff The chef went out his way to make me vegetarian gravy..the but roasts fantastic. Thank you all very much !More

Thank Gillian s
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

I remember your yourself, the chef came to me to say you'd immediately left a trip advisor but pressed send before realising the nut roast auto corrected to butt roast hehe. It was a pleasure to cook for you and we hope to see you...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We were on a visit to see some retriever Labrador puppies and called on at the Swan for a meal. The staff were extremely helpful and even googled the address we wanted for us. The meals were outstanding 1 pork chop with all the trimmings...More

Thank Jean L
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback about your experience. We hope to see you again soon and good luck puppy hunting

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Brilliant very tasty food, excellent service, very friendly, nice cosy atmosphere. Good selection of locally sourced food on the menu.

Thank David S
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback and comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 21 August 2017

Having travelled to visit a National Garden Scheme Open Day in the area, we visited Carleton Village - which is a lovely Yorkshire village with some interesting houses and mill building. We had wanted a drink or a cuppa but found both the pub and...More

Thank jerseygirl017
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hello. I'm so sorry that you were unable to get inside. We do not trade until 5pm monday-thursdsy, typical small village pub. The coffee shop is open 8.30am-12pm. We are trying to open the pub all day so watch this space. I hope you can...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Staying in village for a week's holiday with our dog. Called in first night having been told on phone they are dog friendly but were told dogs not allowed in pub, only the 'Coffee Shop' attached ?? Had a drink in there but place smelled...More

1  Thank Rogerbike
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Roger bike, didn't realise that there was such a think as stale fat. Anyway, 1star because we wouldn't allow your dog in. As a dog owner of not 1 but 2 I made the decision some 5 years ago when I arrived to have...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The inside of The Swan does need some refurbishment with some very tatty sofas. However the food was delicious. We ordered two steaks; a sirloin with blue cheese sauce and a rump steak with peppercorn. Both were charged cooked beautifully and tasted amazing with the...More

Thank Joanne K
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for the feedback and talk about perfect timing....the pub is in the process of losing its deep read colour to a new brighter fresher colour...and...the sofas albeit being comfy, are indeed a bit tatty and are on the list. As are new curtains...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Walked in to a lively pub, the young lady behind the bar was really friendly and helpful. The menu is typically British with lots of choice and the quality was excellent as was the quantity, you will not leave this establishment feeling hungry... Well worth...More

Thank Stephen H
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for the feedback, I'll be sure to let the team know and, hopefully we'll see you again real soon.

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

I actually live in Carleton and ashamed to say that I rarely eat at my village pub. However, when I do I always enjoy the food. I've had their burgers in the past but this time I had the rump steak. It was cooked to...More

Thank Paul N
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you very much for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you real soon.

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Been several times and yet again, it does not fail! Steaks are done to perfection, service is very friendly. Homemade chips, what a winner!

Thank simoene53
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback and we will also pass on your thanks to our local butcher 'drake and macefield'. They'll be pleased to know that we are serving it to your liking and that the quality is there.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street
847 reviews
2.37 km away
Balti King
152 reviews
1.86 km away
Coopers Cafe Bar
180 reviews
2.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jackson's of Cracoe
13 reviews
1.72 km away
Leeds and Liverpool Canal
88 reviews
2.53 km away
Skipton Market
124 reviews
2.56 km away
Craven Court Shopping Centre
55 reviews
2.63 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, International
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Skipton  >  Carleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1756 794282
Description
The Swan Inn at Carleton is a traditional English village pub situated in the Aire Valley, close to the market town of Skipton, North Yorkshire. The Swan Inn offers cask conditioned beers, ciders and lagers and an excellent selection of fine wines. Using locally sourced produce, The Swan Inn serves freshly prepared delicious home cooked meals, available to eat in the pub, restaurant or take-away. From a pint to a cocktail, from a sandwich to a business lunch, whether you're having a snack at lunchtime or coming in for a drink with friends in the evening, you'll be assured a warm welcome everytime. Well behaved children accompanied by an adult are welcome at The Swan Inn until 8pm and free WiFi is avaliable. Experience the welcoming atmosphere, with open fires and friendly staff.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing