We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Inn

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3DR, England
+44 1756 794282
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Wed 17:00 - 23:00
Thu 17:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Kelbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the pub , a nice atmosphere has we entered . straight to the bar and served promptly . easily settled in. Open fire and good choice of beverages. Food is spot on / kids eat free ... Menu has a good choice . would recommend to couples and families alike

Helpful?
Thank alexwilliams492131
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We aim to please all of our visitors both old and new and always welcome feedback. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visit the Swan late afternoon, live pretty locally but not ventured there before in 18 years 😂 Its a lovely traditional pub, lovely hostess and a menu that had enough Gluten Free options to satisfy any coeliac or gluten intolerant. Both of us opted for Burgers, both chicken and beef for the other half. Gluten free roll for me is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oakhead5
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Gluten free is something that has and is becoming more and more of a dietary requirement and so we have been adapting and changing where we can. All of our stocks that we use now are all Gluten free so we are able to cater more and more for what people want. We hope to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

After taking friends advice to stop for a couple of drinks, we decided to pop in and enjoy a few beers and some lovely food. The staff were very welcoming and made sure we were well looked after. Anna, the young bar maid made great conversation with us and we enjoyed our evening very much so. Lovely food, and lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben M
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback it's greatly appreciated and I will pass on the feedback to Anna. More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

A reet good proper village wedding venue enjoyed by all who attended. Landlord Paul excellent host. Great food, great atmosphere and a great way to start married life. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank backstreetboy
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. We hope to be able to do more weddings here at the Swan. 2 done in 2016, another one booked for 2017. Enjoy married life guys More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016

We had a lovely family meal last week. There was lots of choice both on the main menu and the specials board. There was also a 2 for £10 offer on some of the meals during the week. Both my husband and I had the homemade pie which was delicious. The kids enjoyed their lasagne and cheese burger. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank JuliaSW
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

thank you so much for your feedback. We have changed the way we do our specials here at the Swan and have gone back to real traditional, locally sourced homecooked pub grub. Hearty, filling and very tasty. I am glad you enjoyed the choices made available to you and i hope that the team at the swan will see you... More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute choice for Sunday evening. Pub was very quiet Pleased to see that the Sunday beef roast was still available and this was the choice of all 5 of us Enormous plates made the meal look insubstantial which it really wasn't. Quality wasn't bad. Just basic pub grub. Deserts were poor and expensive. The main course... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bbbbbiiiiii
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

A mixed review but thank you nonetheless. I'm sorry you felt the desserts were poor and expensive, we very rarely get a complaint and certainly not regarding our desserts, however, we will take note and make sure that they are presented better next time. People do eat with their eyes a lot of the time (as in good presentation). I'm... More 

Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Booked a table so not to be disappointed as last time we visited it got very busy.had drinks by the fire and waitress took our order and advised us she would show us to our table when it was about to be served.The Sunday roast beef was excellent as was the chicken on the specials board and the service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank phillip r
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We aim to please all our diners when they visit us here and I am pleased that both front of house and kitchen team delivered the service and food you were after. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

we held our wedding day and evening function at the swan in carleton, what a fantastic day we had from beginning to end, the landlord paul and all the staff couldnt do enough for us, the wedding breakfast was served fantastically, from the starters to the mains everything came out perfectly [ and for 55 people working in a smallish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie3041966
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Mr and Mrs Bradley for the opportunity to cater for your special day. I'm really glad you had a wonderful time and that the team here delivered to your expectations. please do pop in for a meal or a drink some time it would be great to see you. On behalf of the Swan, thank you for your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016

WOW what a great day and night at our good friends wedding, food and service first class! Well done to Paul and his team and thank you for making their day perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. I'm glad it went well for both me and the team and I'm thrilled they had a great wedding. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2016

After leaving our day destination early to order a meal largely in the 2 for £10 deal shown on the menu, we were charged full price. Portion sizes were smaller than at the weekend (we were told when we questioned being charged full price that portions are smaller within the deal). Food was okay, waitress was really lovely and offered... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlyseBurnett
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hello...the 2 for £10 like all promotions is something the customer has to request when ordering. We are not in the business of giving food away but equally...our smaller portioned 2 for £10 appeals to a lot of our customer Base. If a customer doesn't request it how are we meant to know. Our food is all freshly locally sourced... More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Skipton  >  Carleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1756 794282
Description
The Swan Inn at Carleton is a traditional English village pub situated in the Aire Valley, close to the market town of Skipton, North Yorkshire. The Swan Inn offers cask conditioned beers, ciders and lagers and an excellent selection of fine wines.

Using locally sourced produce, The Swan Inn serves freshly prepared delicious home cooked meals, available to eat in the pub, restaurant or take-away.

From a pint to a cocktail, from a sandwich to a business lunch, whether you're having a snack at lunchtime or coming in for a drink with friends in the evening, you'll be assured a warm welcome everytime.

Well behaved children accompanied by an adult are welcome at The Swan Inn until 8pm and free WiFi is avaliable.

Experience the welcoming atmosphere, with open fires and friendly staff.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?