We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aunt Martha's

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Branch, Drybrook GL17 9DB, England
+44 1594 824514
Wed - Sun 12:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 189: English reviews
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Would never go there again and would not recommend it. Lovely grounds in the summer, venue cold in the winter, food over rated and over priced.

Thank _jennifer298green
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My sisters and I took our Grandparents to have Cream Tea and it was super. As soon as we stepped into Aunt Marthas the experience began. Staff and the atmosphere was excellent and made the afternoon a rememberable one. I would highly recommend a visit and will be returning.

Thank Sam G
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were made to feel like guests from start to finish. The food was superb, trying some very different and delicious tea added to the experience. The friendly service was first class. It was a real treat to step back in time into the Victorian theme.

Thank werty2015
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

read about 'aunt marthas',so a 65 mile round trip, what a waste of time and money, and petrol, give this amiss, if your in the area, try the cafe ;the engine shed, ross garden store, nice tea/coffee and home made cakes, this made up for the trip

Thank artmarketing
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Naturally we are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit yesterday lunchtime. It was unfortunate that the cold weather had caused some cancellations meaning that you ended up being the only people in at that time; after you had departed we filled up nicely which always adds to the overall Victorian atmosphere and in consequence the enjoyment of guests.... More 

Newnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited with some work colleagues for afternoon tea. We had a roll, a scone and a piece of cake all of which were home made which was great however they were not freshly baked. A quaint place and worth a visit.

1 Thank wookeroo
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. As you quite rightly say the food served is all home baked however I would take issue with the comment that it was not ‘freshly baked’. With some of the food we serve, like our artisan bread rolls and scones, the recipe and ingredients - no preservatives here - we... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

Aunt Martha's is a step back in time where all staff and some guests alike act in a manner fitting the Victorian theme. My friends and I atteded the Sinterklaas afternoon tea! We had lovely savouries and the most amazing sweets I have ever tasted (Even bought some biscuits and a piece of cake to take home) As this was... More 

Thank heather A
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stopped by aunt Martha's tea room. You could hear the "staff" in the kitchen talking about old staff that worked there. "Mrs Hillary" spoke to the girls like she stood in poo. She spoke appallingly to the girls. Me and my boyfriend was discussed. I would never pay £5+ for a meal with stale bread, the... More 

Thank Althea234
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Aunt Martha’s multi award winning 32 cover restaurant is a ‘step back in time’ experience where you are transported back to the year 1897 – the year of Her Majesty Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee. From the moment you arrive we have endeavoured to create that atmosphere, from the ‘bric a brac’, which some might see as ‘clutter’ to the social... More 

Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

We did,nt expect a lot but by jove we were not disappointed, the welcome was novel the room was quaint. the food was awful stale bread, basic fillings, the scones could be stones.the hygiene was not good would we go back NO

1 Thank webb w
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Noting that this reviewer tends to post in batches, I have no idea when this review relates which from a management perspective makes it difficult to deal with. We always seek understand the background to comments and make corrections. In this instance the comments made are entirely at odds with most other reviews and all that we are being told... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We have been to Aunt Martha's a number of occasions, however today we paid an impromptu visit for lunch. The Prince of Wales Repast, or if you will, cheese on toast, was a perfect autumn lunch. Home made bread, locally sourced ingredients, a most fabulous waldorf salad, potatoes and coleslaw, and of course Old Smokeys Chutney, which I'm pleased to... More 

Thank Spooky M
Mitcheldean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

Friends had suggested we visit Aunt Martha's but hadn't given any background information. We hadn't expected the staff to be in period costume, and it really added to whole experience. The service and all contact with the staff was excellent and to top it all our lunch was delicious.

Thank Warienosmum

Travellers who viewed Aunt Martha's also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Longhope, Gloucestershire

Been to Aunt Martha's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$31
British, Gluten Free Options
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 - 15:00
12:00 - 15:00
12:00 - 15:00
12:00 - 15:00
12:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Branch, Drybrook GL17 9DB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Forest of Dean  >  Drybrook
  • Phone Number: +44 1594 824514
Aunt Martha's provides traditional classic dining in the elegant setting of the Victorian era.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aunt Martha's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?