We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Fisherman

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Shabbington €€ - €€€ , British,
Mill Road, Shabbington HP18 9HJ, England
+44 1844 201247
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (4 reviews)
“lasagna” (4 reviews)
“pork” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mill Road, Shabbington HP18 9HJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Booked a table two days in advance, nice table with a view over the river, meals served to my wife and I were excellent, attentive waiter and good wine-----we could not ask for much more---maybe a sunny evening.

2  Thank bobbypigeon22
Reviewed 1 week ago

Recommended by friends of friends who live locally to pub. Arrived midday Sunday sat outside, patio not swept clean, dirty paper napkins on the ground and birthday confetti from ?? previous evening. Grass needing cutting and garden could be tidier, looking a bit shabby. Ordered...More

1  Thank 444Floss
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking time to review, please accept my apologies that your experience did not warrant your friends recommendation; I'm disappointed that you did not raise your concerns with one of the team at the time. Please be assured that we do not use...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely friendly pub by the river, good outdoor seating area where you can sit with the family. Food is reasonably priced and good choice. Can get booked up at busy times so advisable to book.

1  Thank susieq257
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review Susie, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in last week after several hours in Oxford having only been there one other time some years ago. The location is gorgeous and I had a very relaxing drink by the river. I'd ordered a couple of starters rather than a main meal as...More

Thank Lynne F
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review Lynne, I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. I look forward to your next visit when I hope we can have a conversation about your food experience.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been a few times recently, the latest being with my wife. We sat in the outside patio area overlooking the stream which was lovely. The service was good although they were understaffed, they just worked so hard as a team. The food has always...More

Thank matt9ah
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review Matt, It's great to read that you are a frequent visitor to The Old Fisherman. Sorry to hear that you suffered some availability issues on your last visit, I am working closely with the kitchen team to prevent this happening.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dreadful. One hour 25 minutes for over cooked steak and chips. £1.80 for lime & soda. Surly, rude blonde barmaid and manager James, who walks away when being talked to and does not front up when asked for. A lovely setting for a great pub...More

Thank Stuart H
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm vey sorry to hear that you didn't have a great visit Stuart. As you will have experienced for yourself the Old Fisherman is a very popular pub with many returning guests which sometimes leads to delays which we do communicate at the time of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely location by the river and great Sunday dinner. Can get packed when the sun is out though. Only moan I have is that they allow dogs into the pub/resturant when there are places to eat outside with them and no wifi only the cloud...More

2  Thank Derek P
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Derek, many thanks for your 5 star review of The Old Fisherman. As a country pub we feel that allowing guests to bring their dogs with them is an important part of what we do, dogs are permitted in areas with a hard floor...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well we had a lovely meal at the fisherman last night ... great service lovely food steak cooked perfect ! And just a nice evening ... the only downside was we booked in advance and had to wait till 9pm to eat ... two of...More

1  Thank pdonna133
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review of our pub, I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your celebration with us. We are very happy to cater for large parties such as your own though it is vital for us and you that we take your booking...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017

This is such a pretty setting, with a lovely garden but our enjoyment was ruined by the restaurant experience. We sat at our table exactly at the time we had booked, a special treat for father's Day. No-one offered us a children's menu even though...More

Thank KrysEH
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Many thanks for your review. I'm very sorry that we did not meet your needs on this occasion however I have fully investigated your guest journey and discovered that you chose to go outside for drinks when you initially arrived hence you were seated some...More

Reviewed 15 June 2017

We were in the area for a short break and wanted somewhere to eat out. Following the signs we found a very pretty pub in a beautiful riverside location, checked the quality of the beer, studied the menu, enjoyed sitting by the river - then...More

2  Thank Brian W
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Many thanks for your great review Brian. I enjoyed reading about your visits to the Old Fisherman and am sure other travellers will too. The team look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rising Sun at Ickford
31 reviews
2.12 km away
The Clifden Arms
129 reviews
3.29 km away
The Angel Restaurant
313 reviews
3.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Oxford Belfry Spa
105 reviews
3.39 km away
Waterperry Gardens
170 reviews
3.72 km away
Waterperry Gardens
9 reviews
3.73 km away
The Big Shoot - Aylesbury
8 reviews
4.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amanda S
5 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Rich W | Property representative |
Morning Amanda, we serve food from 11am right through until 10pm seven days a week. Bookings are strongly recomended.
0
Votes
Peter B
1 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 425PaulB | Reviewed this property |
I'm a diner not the patron - Suggest you contact the owners!
1
Vote
Alangelson
21 April 2015|
Answer
Response from FoodPro75 |
Hi, many thanks for your question. We are able to offer a number of menu choices for people who wish to avoid gluten. All of our team are able to advise on the known allergens and suitable dishes.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mill Road, Shabbington HP18 9HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Shabbington
  • Phone Number: +44 1844 201247
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing