We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trewern Arms Hotel

€€ - €€€, British,
Nevern SA42 0NB, Wales
+44 1239 820395
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good19%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (12 reviews)
“sandwiches” (3 reviews)
“salmon” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
€€ - €€€
Nevern SA42 0NB, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We came across this place which is under new management. The owners are friendly and the beer and food fantastic. The chef special pie and root vegetable hash were amazing. Will definitely be returning very soon.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Purplepower-14
James M, Owner at The Trewern Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind feedback. Indeed we are new owners and we're still finding our feet, so it's particularly good to hear you enjoyed visiting us.

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped for drink and lunch. The food was bordering on disgusting (and left uneaten) and the service surly. When we complained the waitress tried to argue and blame it on us. The tables were sticky and the place smelled of disinfectant. Altogether a nasty experienceMore

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Katherine C
James M, Owner at The Trewern Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Hi Katherine. I'm sorry you had a bad experience. We have since bought and taken over the business and have made significant improvements to the food and the service. The tables were probably sticky because the varnish has degraded over time; we've taken your comments...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Visited for light lunch as we were passing. Cheese and pickle sandwich at £6 and what did I get? 2 pieces of brown bread with loads of pickle and hardly any cheese. (Couldn't taste the cheese a talk). The salmon and cream cheese sandwich was...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Houli2
James M, Owner at The Trewern Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Hi Houli. We took over the business in October some time after your visit and are working on making numerous improvements. We certainly don't use tinned salmon, and hope that our food now presents better value. If you do come back and things are not...More

Reviewed 22 July 2018

Pub was up for sale when I visited. Inside tired and food average service ok . Lovely village to explore and walk and it's a shame the pub felt a little tired

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Neil W
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

So friendly. Went there twice for a drink and to use facilities. Will definitely return for a meal sometime. Nevern is so beautiful and should be awarded friendliest village due to the pub.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Nicky B
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Stopped by on the off chance for a lunch and we're pleasantly surprised by the welcome and meal that followed. I had the gammon which was excellent whilst my wife had the curry which was good. The only criticism was the popadom which was covered...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank PAH1953
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

A good selection of drinks and a decent pub menu. It’s not dog friendly due to having a kitchen near the main door - seems a bit of a missed opportunity. If you have a dog you can sit on one of the handful of...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Originaltigger
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Today myself and partner went here for Sunday lunch. When it came the beef was so tough we had to ask for steak knives, but even with that the meat was to hard to chew, we were offered an alternative of pork which my partner...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank lgillies88
Reviewed 18 March 2018

I must first confess I never went there under the old management, but my friend lives part time in Nevern and this is the first time I’ve been down and used the pub, which I believe closed down last summer and has been reopened. And...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank lynnebl
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Recently reopened under new management. Lovely fair priced food, well stocked bar and newly refurbished rooms. All in all excellent.

Date of visit: December 2017
3  Thank GrahamJones1959
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
479 reviews
5.65 km away
The Gwbert Hotel
512 reviews
12.80 km away
Cartref Hotel
136 reviews
12.91 km away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
1,084 reviews
12.93 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Canteen
496 reviews
2.68 km away
Penrallt Garden Centre & Cafe
112 reviews
6.45 km away
Bara Brith
55 reviews
7.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
Castell Henllys
235 reviews
2.25 km away
Pentre Ifan
158 reviews
3.18 km away
Bluestone Brewing Company Ltd
38 reviews
3.79 km away
Dyfed Shire Horse Farm
249 reviews
5.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
20 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kate R | Reviewed this property |
We were recommended to this pub by a local who told us the bar was dog friendly but we didn't take our dog in as it was such a nice day. There were dog water bowls dotted around the lawn though, so no reason to doubt the... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Television
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nevern SA42 0NB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Nevern
  • Phone Number: +44 1239 820395
  • E-mail
We took over as new owners in October 2018. Our new chef has launched a new menu, but our beautiful, peaceful rural setting and the warm welcome you can expect have not changed. Our remote rural setting means our telephone connection is unreliable, so if you can't get through then please email us and we will call back as soon as we can. The Trewern Arms near Newport is a picturesque 16th century Inn with 10 recently refurbished ensuite bedrooms, situated on the banks of the River Nevern. It is the perfect base to explore the Pembrokeshire National Park. Whether its seeing Carningli & the beautiful Preseli Mountains or walking the breathtaking coastal path. The hotel boasts a lovely riverside restaurant, the Wheelhouse bar, and Twmpath function room, where you can find some of the best quality produce Pembrokeshire has to offer, we try to use local suppliers where possible some of which are based in Cardigan, Fishguard & Newport. Free WI-FI throughout for all our guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing