We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Marina

Mtwapa 80109, Kenya
+254 20 2434726
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good31%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (23 reviews)
“steak” (9 reviews)
“soup” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mtwapa 80109, Kenya
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It pains me to see such a place go waste. The bar guys are friendly and quite helpful but there are no clients. One thing this place won't lose its glory- the majestic views. Perfect place for romantic dinners and amazing sundowners. Hope to be...More

Thank knjenga9
lamarinarestaurant, Manager at La Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you very much Njenga for the review. You must have visited La marina Restaurant on one of those days when business is down but i must commend you for your honest opinion. It does happen from time to time as restaurant business is very...More

Reviewed 1 June 2017

The staff and scenery are lovely. The food is not great...overpriced and average. It is a lovely place to go and sit by the water for a couple of drinks. We preferred not to eat there. Try the "Dawa", a tropical drink from Kenya.

Thank debsitar
Reviewed 17 May 2017

My judgement of four is for the food. For arrangement: I asked the restaurant to fix 65 persons. Alice is the most wonderful host, giving everything she has to make your evening the best. 5 stars. The food was nice. The best I have had...More

Thank Ditte M
Reviewed 20 April 2017

The directions to the Restaurant not clearly marked. However, a great location serving Italian and Sea food

Thank Sanjeet S
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We were a large group, so had done booking in advance. The day was just perfect for a lunch near the ocean and the place was just amazing. The view of the creek, nice cool breeze and the outdoors :) The food was just perfect......More

Thank Zulfikar H
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Again we had a fantastic lunch with four friends. Wonderful food and great service. This place cannot be faulted. My favorite restaurant on the Kenyan Coast

Thank IanGG
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Had lunch for four people. Four main meals and drinks. Steak with pepper sauce and sides - well cooked. 1500 ks Steak with mustard sauce and sides - well cooked. 1500 ks Calamari as a light main meal with fries (300ks) total meal 680ks Chicken...More

1  Thank Mmm_72_70
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

As many others have said: great location, good menu and good cooking, right down by the creek. My only complaint is the music - just turn it off completely and let guests enjoy the sounds of nature: the coast breeze through the palms, the birds,...More

2  Thank thomas Y
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Loved the place and the food. Though kind of pricey I enjoyed the view and the breez from the sea. The service was great

1  Thank Daido A
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Never seen a place like that in Kenya beautiful location clean and quite sea food was delicious those people can cook definitely will come back again it was 👌More

2  Thank Kiango K
lamarinarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at La Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you so much Kiango, we appreciate your awesome comments and glad that you had a memorable experience at La Marina restaurant Mtwapa. We always try to maintain high quality food standard and are delighted that we met your expectations.Will surely look forward to your...More

Ask a question
Questions & Answers
linneothieno
31 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Munir T | Reviewed this property |
depending on what you eat but our experience has been kenya shillings 4,000/=(ksh four thousand only)
1
Vote
Eve J
8 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elcaboos L | Reviewed this property |
yes they do
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$31 - US$55
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Full Bar, Delivery, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mtwapa 80109, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Coast Province  >  Mtwapa
  • Phone Number: +254 20 2434726
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing