We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Cafe, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (195)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
137
32
6
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
137
32
6
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger pancakes side salad chicken worth the wait lovely cafe attention to detail nice coffee generous portions amazing breakfast irish breakfast wait for a table nice atmosphere hidden gem tastiest premises ireland
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is an amazing cafe and a family favourite when we are visiting our son. It has a superb brunch menu and the cappuccinos are amazing. Food is cooked to order and always very fresh. There are dining rules for well behaved dogs who, if...they are lucky enough, can enjoy a pup cup. Super friendly staff. Clearly a great success as it always seems busy.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have had many a lovely meals in here over the past year unfortunately this time was not a pleasant experience. Having been shown to our table and order been taken we sat for nearly 40 minutes with no food and when we asked about...our order we were told it’s on the way. Another 5 minutes and nothing . There was no explanation or real apology forthcoming which was really disappointing. We explained that we couldn’t wait any longer and were further disappointed by the nonchalant attitude of the lady at the counter.Explanations and apologies go a long way in customer service.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to Rye River Cafe on a Thursday morning and, upon arrival, was seated in the main (downstairs) section by a member of staff who's attitude left a lot to be desired! There were a good few empty tables at this time. I was...given a menu and left waiting ages before someone came to take my order. When the server eventually came over, I ordered a flat white and almond croissant. She asked me if that was all I was ordering (!) and when I said yes, she told me in an impatient tone that they have a coffee and pastry seating area upstairs. I was taken aback and asked if she was implying that she needs the table for someone else. She said 'no, not for now but if we get busy, we might.' I found this to be a very disrespectful attitude to take with a paying customer. I said 'well, I was seated down here by a member of your staff.' When I was originally seated, no one asked me whether I would be ordering coffee or a meal, so I had no idea about the separate area. I felt unwelcome and rushed, and to be honest, couldn't wait to leave. Any staff members I encountered during the rest of the experience were not attentive at all. I was left standing at the counter waiting to pay for ages while a few servers (who clearly saw me) faffed around and had a generally flat attitude. Overall, very disappointed with this cafe. The food looks great but the staff and general attitude is a complete flop.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

We visited Rye River this morning as many times before with our little pug, Lola. She always sits on a chair as she is not used to be on the floor but we always carry a cushion so she doesn't touch the furniture. They never...said anything to us before, all the contrary, they always smile and pet her as she is super well behaved. She just sits and chills. Once they even gave her a birthday hat when celebrating her 6th! Then, who I believe was the manager came to take our order but looked at Lola with a pretty disgusted face and told us 'the dog cannot sit on the chair. Has to be on the floor. We told him that she always sits with us and we never had a problem before but he said that unfortunately those are the rules. I understand that big dogs usually lay on the floor but Lola is tiny and she is a senior and she doesn't bother anybody. We were super disappointed. We stood up and left and obviously we won't be back. You cannot call yourself petfriendly when you have a manager or member of the staff so rude who looks at doggies the way he did. I must say we left heartbroken as we really loved going there. I also have to mention that the tables around us expressed their disappointment when we were leaving.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2024

The food was lovely and the young staff were very pleasant and attentive. This I can’t fault. I came here to meet a friend for breakfast and a catch up. We rarely get the opportunity to meet so when we meet up we like to...relax and chat without any pressure. Sadly this is not what we got. I couldn’t criticise the food or the young staff on this Sunday morning, but the manager on the other hand was so rude and wanted us out as soon as we put our forks down. The place was not packed, there were plenty of seats and tables and an upstairs area also. So I don’t understand. I wish I had known there was a time limit on how long you could stay in their cafe. We bought a breakfast and a second round of coffees, which we didn’t get to finish. He came over to our table mid coffee, so abruptly, and asked us to pay our bill and if we wanted to stay we would have to go upstairs. He then proceeded to stomp up and down past our table. I felt such stress myself and friend decided to just go to Costa instead so we could finish our conversation without this rude man doing laps around our table. I let feeling so annoyed and embarrassed that my friend had to experience this behaviour in my local town. Never have experienced the likes. I wouldn’t mind but I supported this business during covid. I speaking to friends about this experience, they have also had the same reception from this man. I will not be returning every again.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2023

Lovely meet-up place in the old school house in kilcock. You can't reserve a table but waiting was no hardship in the mezzanine area. Unique brunch menu and food & service really good. Friendly staff . Worth a visit!

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023

Popped in recently with our German Shepherd puppy for a quick lunch. Although it was busy, we were made to feel very welcome. Food delicious as always and staff were so friendly and helpful. We were anxious bringing a young puppy that's still very much...learning but we were quickly put at ease and made to feel as important and welcome as anyone. The staff took time to chat with us about dogs that visit and advised us what to do in the future. We can't wait to return.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2023

Visting the area & called in, left empty handed & very upset an extremely rude male manager, condescending staff at coffee bar. No apologies for an error on their behalf, smug & made a liar out of me. Terrible experience the place is chaotic &...they need to attend training on customer service.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2023

I come here all the time as it is local and suits all picky and non-picky eaters I know plus vegan options. The aesthetic will have you leaving with no phone storage including the bathroom! The staff are so lovely and give off great energy!...If you only want a coffee there's an upstairs with low tables, couches, a decent sized bookshelf and piano! Great idea! Loads of alternative milks, syrups, pastries etc. They have both matcha and chai lattes! My only complaint is that the quesadilla (or enchilada I can't remember) was removed from the menu a while back it was my go-to order. Granted it made me try new lovely things off the menu but still was my fav. The service is fast but not rushed, although they do get very busy. Shoutout to Pamela she's usually the hostess, so kind and chattyMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2023

I visited here with my sister in law and my daughters dog Bella. Its so nice to have a cafe dog friendly. From the minute we entered the cafe Bella was centre of attention an she loved every min of it. Staff are amazing, so...professional an very pleasant. The food was beautiful. This place gets 100% satisfaction from us an will be our local each time we come to KilcockMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023 via mobile

Excellent lunch, older kids loved the variety of burgers chicken, I had the salad was lovely. Really nice friendly staff.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023 via mobile

Me and my wife are coming to Rye River cafe for good while now and we can't complement staff enough. Always very attentive and polite. Food is always very tasty and consistent. I have to say I'm shocked by all those 1 star reviews for...silly reasons. I don't think people understand how badly this impact a business. Just to let you know that you're doing amazing job and you're amazing addition to kilcock. Well done Alan, Shona and all the team!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2023

Excellent Breakfast and Atmosphere in this place thoroughly enjoyed it staff were brilliant also would highly recommend

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2023

We live relatively near so called in for a coffee etc as the building looks nice. When we arrived there were 3 dogs near us. I'm not a fan of dogs near food but these were at least quiet. Within half an hour the place...was overrun with dogs. This is not an exaggeration!! Dogs of all sizes and breeds. Some were very badly behaved. The last straw was when a very large dog, which was out of the owner's control, jumped on the table knocking my glasses to the floor. At the counter I spoke to a young man who said he was the manager. From the start he was tetchy and defensive. He asked if I had booked. I had not. It is a café! He told me if I had booked I could have chosen to be seated in the dog free area. This is a tiny space at the back with a low ceiling. The main space is for people with dogs. Incidentally, the café has a large outdoor area, which would be very suitable for dogs and their owners. I told him about the large dog jumping on my table. He had no interest. The same dog had jumped and barked at the checkout just beside him. I asked him if he thought that was acceptable behaviour. His reply ' I can't be telling people what to do". He had no problem Putting me in my box. I went to him with a valid complaint and he was rude and defensive. He kept coming back to the fact that I was a 'walk in' and had not booked. Evidently, the priority here is dogs, irrespective of their behaviour and not paying customers who want to have coffee and food in peace!! I will not return!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shona Bourke, Owner at Rye River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2023

We are very sorry for your dogged experience at the cafe. It seems like you had a ruff day. We are one of the few dog friendly cafes in the area and we do strive to make Rye River a place where dog lovers and...More

Reviewed 16 June 2023

So we were driving through Kilcock and found this place by accident!! We took the wrong turn and ended up driving by this beautiful building and saw pp entering/ realized it was a café!! We decided to check it out. Parking was a little tough...however the Rye River is well worth the effort. We were greeted on arrival, seated, received prompt friendly service. We tried the special Lasagne and Niall's salad with were both amazing. What I really liked about the lasagne was that it was made 24hours prior and I always find it tends to soak up more flavours, amazing taste and a perfect balance of cheese, sauce, meat. lovely side salad and slaw, skinny fries. Niall's salad, moist tender chicken, perfect balance of dressing, we had to ask for take away boxes as we couldn't finish everything. Yes is was busy, the place was full, pp waiting to be seated, we felt very comfortable, not rushed and staff followed up twice to make sure we had everything we needed. I might suggest more signage for this location, had we not taken the wrong road we would never known about it. A lovely find indeed and well worth another visit soon.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shona Bourke, Owner at Rye River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2023

Thank you so much

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Glenroyal Hotel
1,126 reviews
5.70 km away
Carton House, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
422 reviews
6.73 km away
Barberstown Castle
635 reviews
9.55 km away
The K Club
1,505 reviews
10.73 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Timeless Cafe
184 reviews
.23 km away
Bujolle
84 reviews
.19 km away
The Canvas Restaurant
17 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Clonfert Pet Farm
291 reviews
4.05 km away
Maynooth Castle
167 reviews
5.30 km away
Donadea Forest Park
132 reviews
7.82 km away
St. Patrick's College
101 reviews
5.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
confey25
1 August 2020|
Answer
Response from 573sineadc | Reviewed this property |
Yes its open on Sundays
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RYE RIVER CAFE, Kilcock - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rye River Cafe

Yes, Rye River Cafe offers takeaway services.

Rye River Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5