We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Newenden €€ - €€€ British, , Pizza
Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
+44 1797 252166
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good34%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (14 reviews)
“egg chips” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
British, Pub, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly
€€ - €€€
Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 158 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here with my family for Sunday lunch. They were offering a set meal with prices for 1, 2 & 3 courses. I wasn't feeling particularly hungry so asked if they would offer a slight reduction if I had a starter and a cheese...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am sorry to read your review, especially as you have no complaint to make about the size and quality of the roast dinners you were served. We do offer a meal deal on a Sunday which offers exceptional value for money. But it is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We vivted this restaurant on speck when we were staying in the area and it turned out to be a good choise.We were welcomed without an appointment and as we entered the locals spoke to us and made us feel at home. The restaurant was...More

Thank poyz533
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Lovely to hear that you were glad you dropped in whilst in the area and enjoyed a pleasant night out. We pride ourselves on being a proper village pub and our locals are very friendly and welcoming, something that we love and is often commented...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited over the May bank holiday. Which maybe the reason for our lack lustre experience. Highlights. Location and Garden. Beer was great and the couple of wines we tried were good quality and enjoyable. It was the food that let down the experience. Number...More

2  Thank Peter_Cambridge
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, good to hear that you found our location, large garden, beer and wines to your liking. The bank holiday was incredibly busy and at the time of your visit some items had unfortunately sold out. I wonder if you brought...More

Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Came here for dinner with friends. The pub is a nice country pub with a lovely garden. That's the niceties done! The young male waiters are lack lustre and clearly do not want to be there. Before ordering our food we were told that there...More

2  Thank familyford123
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Firstly, thank you for your opening comments, we pride ourselves on being a traditional village inn and as you point out have a fabulous garden (soon to be made even better by the arrival of new children's play equipment) which is the perfect venue for...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017

Went here recently for an evening meal with friends. Great food! Recommend the scotch egg starter.. delicious. Not bad value too. Bonus! Only small niggle was service a bit hit and miss, expected early in the evening when busy but didn't really improve as it...More

1  Thank Paula L
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it's great to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your evening. I will of course look into your comments regarding service as we always aim to provide warm, friendly and efficient service. Thanks again...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

What a breath of fresh air to the village.The pub has been totally refurbished in the bar and restaurant and has a relaxed homely feel to it. The menu has been updated with the addition of homemade pizzas . There is a great choice of...More

1  Thank Dave W
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you very much indeed for your glowing review! See you soon!

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This pub is one I worked in nearly 50 years ago, and it has changed immensely and even more so after the flood they had. The food was massive and delicious in all respects and good value. The service was pleasant and the beer excellent...More

1  Thank timpd5
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Many thanks for your review. How lovely for you to return after working here nearly 50 years ago! We are really pleased to have emerged from the flood in January in style and be serving great food and drink once again! We hope you take...More

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Good beer and friendly atmosphere. The pub reopened the day we visited after a pub made it close for a while. Redecorated and the pub has live music and a games room

1  Thank andywthebass1
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Great to hear that you enjoyed the beer and friendly atmosphere and hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 9 April 2017

For 25 years I've been regularly driving past this lovely 500 yr old pub on the East Sussex/Kent border, always meaning to stop for a pint of Harvey's but never quite making it. Well, on Saturday evening, 8th April, I finally managed it, and found...More

3  Thank acoustic_willi
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

What a fantastic review! We're very pleased that you finally popped in for a pint of Harvey's and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 24 February 2017

We stayed at your lovely pub several times during 2016 in room 4 with our two grandchildren and found all the facilities to be ideal, especially the outside play area. Sorry to learn about the water leak, hope that you are back in business soon...More

1  Thank C7225YWinfo
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for your message, it's lovely to hear that you have enjoyed the times you have stayed here with your grandchildren. The play area is a lovely space which we are updating with new equipment ready for the summer. Hopefully we will welcome you...More

Nearby Restaurants
Lime Wharf Cafe
110 reviews
.23 km away
Sahebs Indian Restaurant
126 reviews
1.49 km away
Rose & Crown
10 reviews
3.76 km away
The Bull Inn
224 reviews
4.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bodiam Boating Station
140 reviews
.26 km away
Great Dixter House & Gardens
419 reviews
2.58 km away
Oxney Organic Estate
7 reviews
3.69 km away
Bodiam Castle
1,383 reviews
5.15 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Is The White Hart dog friendly? (Due to stay locally soon and were wondering if we can bring our dog along).
9 June 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Dave W | Reviewed this property |
Dog friendly with big garden as well no dogs in dinning room though
Ruth G
Hi there...cant seem to find prices for March...thank you x
20 February 2017|
Response from Paul V | Reviewed this property |
Apparently they had a burst water main flood and had to close temporarily. Suggest you call them to find out latest info 01797252166
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Newenden
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 252166
  • E-mail
A traditional village inn situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing