We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Church Mouse

€€ - €€€, British,
Front Street | Chester-le-Street, Chester Moor DH2 3RJ, England
+44 191 389 2628
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good30%
  • Average18%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (30 reviews)
“sunday roast” (15 reviews)
“pies” (14 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Front Street | Chester-le-Street, Chester Moor DH2 3RJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Came here with friends as hadn’t been for ages and was not disappointed. Staff were friendly and service was quick. Food was delicious and very good. There was a large menu and there was something for everyone on it. Decor of the church mouse is...More

Thank Holiday-Lady25
Reviewed 1 week ago

13 of us called for Sunday lunch, service was very good meal was very nice all in all a nice afternoon, thank you Church mouse!

1  Thank jackielad
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jackielad, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Church Mouse! We sincerely thank you for the positive review, and look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well I guess the title of this review just about sums things up . For my starter I had Scallops & King prawns . There was one or 2 scallops, I couldn't tell because it/ they had been chopped up into little bits along with...More

Thank Alan S
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Alan S, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. it shocks me to hear you didnt enjoy you scallops and prawns, but i...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always a warm friendly atmosphere. Staff are always helpful and obliging. The menu is varied and currently working our way through the menu, have always had lovely meals and the portions are a nice size too. Desserts are always a treat...yummy.

Thank Alicyn K
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Alicyn K, it's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated! We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. If there's anything further we can do for you, we are happy to help! Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the travel lodge next door (which was also great) for a week whilst working away. Ate here twice, 2 courses for £14.50 and the quality of the food, presentation & service was un-faultable. Would recommend to everyone.

Thank Martin S
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Martin S, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. Thank you, and have a fantastic day! Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten in the Church Mouse many times without problem, Visiting from the Midlands decided to eat there again with family. I had the beef as the previous r/v stated the beef looked as if it had been carved hours prior and kept warm,...More

Thank vhs2
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi! It's upsetting to hear that your experience was anything but stellar, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having eaten at the Church Mouse a number of times and never had a disappointing meal, today's experience was both surprising and very disappointing. Whilst the starters were good, the same couldn't be said for the main courses. Two of our party picked the "pub...More

Thank David P
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

David, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us, here at The Church Mouse, we strive for excellence, and are disappointed to hear that you received anything less. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went last Saturday and the two ladies decided to go for the three course special but when the bill came they had both been charged extra, when we queried it we were shown the very small print with extra charges, this did not spoil...More

Thank silversurfer7346
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Silversurfer7346, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We asked our great niece where she would like to go for dinner and age chose Church Mouse as it is her favourite place. We were disappointed that a few of the meals were already sold out by the time we arrived at 6pm!!!! Heaven...More

1  Thank angelascott64
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Probably the most dreadful visit ever We visit often as a family and it never surprises me. The service delivered as a waiter as far as food is concerned is good however a very poor bar service where as a business could make a lot...More

Thank Julie A
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Here at The Church Mouse, we strive for excellence, and are disappointed to hear that you received anything less. Regards, Jake.

PreviousNext
12345686
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Chester Moor Hotels
The Old Power House
6 reviews
1.31 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
2,212 reviews
3.07 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
818 reviews
3.14 km away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
105 reviews
4.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Le Raaj
507 reviews
.35 km away
The Chester Moor Inn
498 reviews
.25 km away
Red Lion
314 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Riverside Park
68 reviews
2.22 km away
Thought Foundation
9 reviews
6.21 km away
Church of St Mary and St Cuthbert
21 reviews
2.52 km away
Lanchester Roman Fort
7 reviews
4.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrew W
16 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from André G | Reviewed this property |
If you are planning to watch Leeds beat Sunderland on Saturday eve, I'd definitely book there- think they do!
1
Vote
Christine H
17 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Steven A | Reviewed this property |
Sadly there is no kids playing area.
0
Votes
GLP1977
16 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ShawDurham | Reviewed this property |
Dogs are welcome outside most places these days, they always have a large bowl of water outside for your dog. X
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$31
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Front Street | Chester-le-Street, Chester Moor DH2 3RJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Chester Moor
  • Phone Number: +44 191 389 2628
Description
The Church Mouse in Chester-le-Street is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing