We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whitmore Arms

€€ - €€€, British,
Rectory Road, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3LB, England
+44 1375 891259
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“liver” (20 reviews)
“potatoes” (22 reviews)
“banoffee” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rectory Road, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3LB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Me and my wife recently visited this establishment for lunch. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and made you feel at home. We had the pie of the day which was steak, with mash and fresh vegetables. The meal was very nice and hot,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 321CIB
Reviewed 6 days ago

Met with friends to have lunch. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Very good service. Food was lovely.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank amandaward71
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us visited here for lunch on Friday afternoon. Loved the fish and chips and bangers and mash. Great service, smashing food and reasonable prices. Four big lunches with drinks.. £74. Looking forwards to going back.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank RobertLondon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We often go to this pub for either lunch or dinner but last night the food was a really poor quality. Would not recommend and may not go again. Has it changed hands?More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank juliesA3252QZ
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We sincerely apologise the pastry on our home made pie you ordered Wednesday evening was not of our usual standard. We did apologise at the time and we replaced your meal straight away with another dish of your liking. We are the same owners and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in on the off chance, tabled in approx 20minutes, not a problem as a good atmosphere and chatty staff Once seated, was attended to quickly, food arrived fresh and piping hot. Thoroughly enjoyed it, to full to order desserts. Will definitely go back again,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank stumpy1954
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted to read you popped in and you enjoyed your time here with us. We do look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards Victoria Steadman

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was lovely, I do love a Whitmore fish starter followed by a roast, food was amazing and service was great as usual

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Michelle M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We been celebrating birthdays, Christmas and New Years at the Whitmore Arms for the last fifteen years which was amazing in the early years where the food was served red hot and plenty of it. The food was served in bowls which was shared with...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank N13KHY
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This looks like a traditional English Pub but the emphasis is on home cooked food of a good standard in a pleasant setting. When we visited the Whitmore Arms there were several parties enjoying a pre Christmas meal.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Alan C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great service and food for party of 32 in December. all food came out hot and was served table by table, so no one was waiting. no issues with wrong orders and was very well organised. waiting staff really pleasant and couldn't have been more...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank dwhallcarpentry1
WhitmoreArms, Owner at The Whitmore Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It was a delight to welcome you all here. We are very pleased to read your review and grateful you would recommend us to others. We hope to welcome you again soon whether that be for a drink, intimate meal or part of a larger...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What an Excellent Christmas Lunch we had today. It was a perfectionist meal. It was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. Compliments to the Chef. Very friendly Staff that are also very accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Great value for money and would truly...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Noahandesme
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Orsett Hall
977 reviews
.71 km away
The Bell Inn Hotel
337 reviews
2.87 km away
Stifford Hall Hotel
611 reviews
4.13 km away
Ye Olde Plough House
299 reviews
4.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Voujon
174 reviews
1.18 km away
Kings Arms
38 reviews
1.28 km away
The Garden Brasserie
180 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kukana Spa
74 reviews
.68 km away
The Swan
27 reviews
2.79 km away
DiveMania Scuba Limited
77 reviews
3.04 km away
Grangewaters Outdoor Eduction Centre
18 reviews
3.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Teresa H
13 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from 516ronnied | Reviewed this property |
yes, right next to it. Large enough for about 20 cars but it does fill up. Hope this helps
0
Votes
LesleyC1276
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from shebilly | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I don't have the answer to you question. The best thing to do is call The Whitmore Arms, and ask them yourself. Good luck.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rectory Road, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Thurrock  >  Orsett
  • Phone Number: +44 1375 891259
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing