We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Leo's Tavern

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Irish, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Meenaleck,, Crolly, Ireland
+353 74 954 8143
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:45
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 - 00:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:45
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Gweedore, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Now this is a place where, on the right night, you get dinner and a show. Staff are the friendliest, full of craic and great service, can't say enough about one of our local gems.

Helpful?
Thank Aisling G
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Aisling. Thanks for your review and kind words. We cant always promise music (seasonal trade ) but friendly staff and great service should always be abundant!! Hope to see you again. More 

Europe
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016

I had no idea this place existed, nor its history - the advantages of traveling with a local. What a surprise, plus the scenery along the road from LetterKenny was breathtaking. We got settled and ordered drinks and food. Service was friendly and helpful, funny actually. The food was to live for - a giant fish and lots of salad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Michael B. Super delighted you enjoyed your visit to Leos Tavern and even happier you had a great time. Look forward to having you back again. Cameron More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We are currently holidaying in the fabulous Waterfront Hotel, Dungloe. Last Sunday we made the bad mistake of visiting Leo's Tavern for a meal. Despite a near empty lounge, we were totally ignored by the staff(7pm in the evening). After sitting for over 10 minutes we decided to leave, which was quite upsetting for my husband who has a disability.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 414mariac
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi 414mariac Well - clearly not our best night!!! I apologise for the lack of attention... and that you and your husband left without service. Were you shown a table or just grab one yourselves? Did any of the staff catch your eye at any time? Staff making a mistake is unfortunate (although human)... staff repeating a mistake is a... More 

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

We were travelling through Donegal and being fans of Clannad we decided to visit Leo's Tavern for lunch. Not only does great music have its home here - so does great food. My husband enjoyed his huge bowl of mussels and my vegetable soup and wheaten bread were also delicious. The pub has a nice feel inside and is decorated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Heather B. Delighted you and your husband enjoyed your visit to Leos Tavern and we look forward to you calling in again sometime soon :) Regards, Cameron More 

East London SA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

We had a wedding reception at Leo's for our guests who came from the 4 corners of the world. Bartley and his team pulled out all the stops and more (!) to make the event a very memorable one. Tables were beautifully set and live Irish music on arrival was a great touch. Locally sourced food was another highlight. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blarney8
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Blarney8 Very very happy you and your (new) wife enjoyed your wedding reception at Leos Tavern. You are both welcome back anytime Regards, Cameron More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Nice bar with friendly staff Pints good. Food OK got the fish which could of been better , kids enjoyed there meals

Helpful?
Thank John S
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi John S, apologies for the late response... Thank you for your review. Presumably you ordered the Fish & Chips (?) which is our most popular dish... if it could have been better - how did we disappoint?? Under cooked/ over cooked, too big/small... Although we cant keep everybody happy - it is nice to know where we let customers... More 

Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016

My friends and I visited this establishment recently and what a pleasant surprise we got to find this place for our lunch, there were 4 of us and each of us had a very tasty lunch, would definitely recommend and will go back next time I am that way. Thank you Leo's Tavern.

Helpful?
Thank 864Paula16
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Paula. Delighted you and your friends enjoyed your visit to Leos Tavern and had a great meal. We look forward to you calling in again sometime soon :) Regards, Cameron More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

I have been here a good few times over the years and always had a good time the food is good and if you want a good night the bar is great especially when the fire is lighting one bit of advice try to avoid when the tour buses arrive it can get very full.

Helpful?
Thank celts69
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi celts69 and thank you for your kind review. Delighted you enjoyed your visit to Leos Tavern. Yep it does get busy for an hour or so when the buses land and it may not be everybodies cup of tea however it all goes with the territory. We look forward to you calling in again sometime soon :) Regards, Cameron More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Called here today with our 5 kids, one of whom we were meeting up with from the Gaelteacht for some food and a catch up. Staff were lovely and friendly, food was great and a nice place to just relax and unwind. The only downside was that it was a tight squeeze for a large family but we managed all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DeliaGildernew
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Delia and apologies for the late response. Delighted you and your family had a good visit to Leos Tavern and enjoyed the food and service. Yep - seats can be at a premium sometimes... but glad you had a good time in spite of the tight squeeze!! We look forward to you calling in... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016

On entering Leo's Tavern at about 5.00pm we were seated at a table but after waiting about 15 minutes, my husband had to approach a waitress at the bar to ask if they were still serving food. We were finally given a menu although diners who came in after us were given a menu before us and in fact their... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sorcha_7
Cameron C, Guest Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Sorcha_7 Only seeing this now and apologies for the late response. I'm very sorry that you and your husband didn't enjoy your visit to Leos Tavern and that the meals were so disappointing. By and large the vast majority of our customers do enjoy their visit and the food - however clearly (judging by your comments above) we don't... More 

Travellers who viewed Leo's Tavern also viewed

Dungloe, County Donegal
 
Kincasslagh, County Donegal
Dungloe, County Donegal
 

Been to Leo's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$43
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:30
Monday
12:00 - 00:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:30
Thursday
12:00 - 00:30
Friday
12:00 - 00:45
Saturday
12:00 - 00:45
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Meenaleck,, Crolly, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  County Donegal  >  Crolly
  • Phone Number: +353 74 954 8143

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Leo's Tavern and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Leo's Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?