We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pier House

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Merley Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1JU, England
+44 1237 477777
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 10:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,067 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,065: English reviews
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We are local to north devon and eat hear on a warm sunny day when you can sit outside and enjoy the outstanding view. We also eat inside sometimes - dogs are welcome outside and in the bar area. It is always clean with friendly staff and good food.

Helpful?
Thank Clare M
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

One of the best places to eat in north Devon you will have to book in advance as can get very busy .. loads to choose from on the menu .. the view is fantastic out into the Atlantic ocean .. great place to eat and see 5⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Helpful?
Thank Brett-lara S
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Pier House is a lovely restaurant and bar which enjoys a beautiful view of the beach and rock pools at Westward Ho. There is a lovely 2 level decking outside, which was so comfortable to sit in the sun just enjoying a drink. We ordered the Seafood Platter to share, which was huge and packed with flavour (and reasonably... More 

Helpful?
Thank PPPPPeterr
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was delicious, we both had steak which was cooked perfectly & beautifully presented. Waiters really attentive & offered a great level of customer service. But its the view that makes this place! Will definitely be back again & can highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank muppetchef
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the pier house for a meal whilst having a short break in Westward Ho! Mixed reviews on trip advisor but decided to give it a go. Didn't book a table, thinking that it was a Tuesday and the weather was wet and miserable. When we arrived at about 7pm, the restaurant was very busy but the waiter was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank sabrinasilom
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good food, not too badly priced Good service and if you get a window seat great view. The down side is the ridiculously priced drinks. No beer under £3.90. Shameful rip off.

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
fareham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here 3 times in a week. First 2 times sat outside. Beautiful location. The food was plentiful and very tasty. Service was good and staff polite and friendly. On our last night went back for meal with our family and had to sit inside as raining. Although we new it is a dog friendly place we were upset and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carol b
Braddicks, Restaurant Manager at The Pier House, responded to this review

So sorry to hear of your recent disappointing visit with us. I am glad you enjoyed your first two visits with us but it's a shame they were let down by misbehaved dogs. We hope you return again soon. Many thanks, Josh Davies. More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant is in a lovely location. There was a good choice on the menu. Food was good but service was slow and we had quite a long wait between each course. Staff were apologetic for the wait and were generally very helpful and friendly. A very nice restaurant but quite pricey for what it is.

Helpful?
Thank garethcollinson72
Braddicks, Restaurant Manager at The Pier House, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that there was a long wait between courses on your recent visit with us, I'm glad my team made sure you were looked after during this time. I can only apologise for the long wait and further investigate to find out the problem. I hope you return with us again in the future. Many thanks, Josh Davies. More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our daughters wedding reception here and would highly recommend it to anyone, the service was fantastic and nothing to much trouble, the food was excellent, many thanks the Pete the events manager and his team ,

Helpful?
Thank Andyandmaggie H
Braddicks, Restaurant Manager at The Pier House, responded to this review

I'm so glad everyone enjoyed such a great occasion, I'll make sure to pass your comments onto Pete and all the team who served you on your daughter's special day. Hope to see you all again soon. Many thanks, Josh Davies. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect location. Very friendly staff, very accommodating. Had a lovely dinner in a window seat with a clear breathtaking view of the sunset. Food was exceptional and very well priced.

Helpful?
Thank Chris N
Braddicks, Restaurant Manager at The Pier House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your recent visit with us and thank you for your great review. I do hope we see you again soon. Many thanks, Josh Davies. More 

Travellers who viewed The Pier House also viewed

Westward Ho, Bideford
Westward Ho, Bideford
 
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to The Pier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Merley Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1JU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Torridge  >  Bideford  >  Westward Ho
  • Phone Number: +44 1237 477777

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Pier House and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pier House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?