We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Holehouse Lane | Whiteley Green, Macclesfield SK10 5SJ, England
+44 1625 574222
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good20%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Holehouse Lane | Whiteley Green, Macclesfield SK10 5SJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Group of 6 went for Sunday lunch. Service was disorganised, each time a different waiter would come to the table. Sunday roast portion was small for the price and the 'roast' potatoes were just cooked potatoes, not crispy at all. No one checked to see...More

Thank Rolo_Manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Gorgeous looking pub both inside and out but everything else mediocre at best, overpriced average food, this place wouldn’t last 5 minutes without the beautiful setting, so disappointing.More

1  Thank suel3382018
Windmill_Landlord, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for noticing all the hard work and effort that goes into making the pub look good, it is a huge task carried out by all the team here at The Windmill. I'm disappointed you feel we wouldn't last 5 minutes without the setting as...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the cheese burger because the computer says they don't do sandwiches and wraps after 2.30pm. Came with chips you had to eat carefully otherwise you'd break your teeth and onion rings that looked like they had been fried more than once with a...More

Thank GarryC1962
Windmill_Landlord, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

No Sir, The menu clearly states, as it has for six years, that sandwiches are served from 12pm until 2.30pm throughout the week. I apologise that your fries or onion rings were not satisfactory on this occasion, but at least you enjoyed our hospitality and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there with another couple and we all enjoyed our meal. I started off with the Hot Mexican Tequila Chicken Salad, Salsa & Sesame Seeds, followed by Thai Style King Prawns, Fresh Mango, Radish & Pine Nut Salad, Coconut & Chilli Dressing - both were...More

1  Thank lp0well
Windmill_Landlord, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks so much, see you again soon Pete.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst it was a lovely setting sat in the sunshine, the food left a bit to be desired. The pork pie on the ploughman’s was supermarket standard and had obviously been frozen. Not pleasant.More

Thank Cath T
Windmill_Landlord, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Cath Sorry the pork pie was not to your liking, it definitely isn't frozen. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of the items on our Ploughman's as we usually receive rave reviews about them. Hope you will give us another visit soon. Many...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the windmill today. Food was beautiful and extremely filling. The beer garden looked lovely such a shame it was raining. The staff here are really friendly. We will definitely be back.

1  Thank Amanda M
Windmill_Landlord, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks Amanda Hope to see you again soon. pete.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table for my birthday weekend and we glad we did. The place was very nice and relaxing, we choose the windmill due to allowing dogs which we brought with us. The food was amazing and couldn’t be faulted but we felt the...More

1  Thank N4bro
Windmill_Landlord, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many Thanks Pete.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for lunch and food was very good at reasonable prices. Its obvious they make a real effort and while cheaper can be found this represents good value when quality of the offering is considered. Away from food it also has a nice beer...More

1  Thank johnrmartin
Windmill_Landlord, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks John. Glad you enjoyed everything. Pete.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited as a party of six last Sunday the 20th May to celebrate my daughters 30th birthday. One of us had fish and chips. The fish was no bigger than a large fishfinger and the chips were next to cardboard. Three of us had...More

1  Thank mrowl18400
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Came here after a short walk on the Middlewood way. Nice choice of beer and nice lamb burger. Chips were a little below par but still hot and tasty. The beer was local and very nice. Staff nice and friendly

Thank Andrew H
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Macclesfield
Hollin Hall Hotel
373 reviews
1.90 km away
Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa
3,019 reviews
2.06 km away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
501 reviews
2.52 km away
The Bridge Hotel
353 reviews
3.05 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Vale Inn
231 reviews
1.02 km away
The Green Bollington
55 reviews
1.61 km away
Pappas
49 reviews
1.57 km away
Olivae Pizza
11 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clarence Mill & Adelphi Mill Canalside
16 reviews
1.21 km away
Northern Makes
5 reviews
1.21 km away
Bollington Arts Centre
7 reviews
1.20 km away
Middlewood Way
8 reviews
1.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Windmill Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Holehouse Lane | Whiteley Green, Macclesfield SK10 5SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Macclesfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 574222
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;