We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cock and Pheasant

) #41 of 159 Restaurants in Macclesfield €€ - €€€ British, , Vegetarian Friendly
Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
+44 1625 573289
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“ham hock” (4 reviews)
“trifle” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped into the pub for the snack menu and were presented with a varied menu and plumped for the squid and soup. All food was delivered promptly. Would have liked to go for dinner but no time sadly.

Thank bewise56
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello bewise56, That's a nice little combination of our starters you had. Next time make sure there is enough time to try our full menu you won't be disappointed! Thank you Ella Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

The atmosphere was lovely, staff very friendly; food good, service first class - nothing too much trouble.

Thank susanpbvm
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there susanpbvm, Nothing is ever too much trouble when it comes to our guests! 😁 Thank you for the five stars and hopefully we will see you again soon! Many Thanks Ella Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been visitors at this local pub for many years. It's had its ups and downs. We last came recently one Saturday lunch time with relatives. We were very impressed with the menus , especially the specials that were a bit different. We went...More

Thank Jennie G
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Jennie! Ah the sea bream with pac choi is a favourite special of mine... Our specials change regularly so you have to sample them as soon as you can! We're really pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us, yes when the weather...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took my eighty year old mum to the Cock & Pheasant for a treat one Sunday night last month. However, by the time my steak arrived my mother and my wife had almost finished eating their meals. And when it did arrive I really...More

Thank Andrew M
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Andrew, I apologise for the experience you had with us, unfortunately I haven't received an email regarding your visit. I appreciate your feedback and again, I sincerely apologise for your visit which has fallen well below our usual high standards. If you'd like to...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very good food, pleasant surroundings,very good and pleasant, helpful staff. Very comfortable and roomy inside with an outdoor play area, also a covered outside area. Plenty of parking

Thank Judy N
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Judy, Thank you for your feedback, we're really proud of our pub and it's surroundings. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon! Many Thanks, Ella Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Met a friend for lunch as we were in the area. The staff were really friendly and attentive to our needs. The decor is beautiful. We shared a sticky platter and it was cooked to perfection. Highly recommend a visit, we'll be back for sure!

Thank CheshireEastSmiler
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I am really pleased to hear that you would highly recommend us! Thank you for the 5 stars! The sticky platter is a really good one to share as you get a bit of everything!! See you again soon! Ella Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Fantastic atmosphere, great location, great food and really nice staff, the service was great and felt really welcome

Thank tessangoder
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to come very laid back place and has a play area for kids to would recommend for a lovely meal and a few drinks

Thank tanya b
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Hi there Tanya, Thanks for the 5 stars!! We are relaxed and we are pleased that you have recognised this even though we still offer great service! We shall see you soon. Ella Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 12 May 2017

We are regulars at the Cock and Pheasant so when we needed a table for 20 for Sunday lunch for a big family get together we asked if they could accommodate us."No problem" was the reply and we didn't need to choose our food in...More

Thank Pat M
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Hi Pat! Brilliant!! We're proud of everything we do at the Cock and Pheasant and thrilled you've enjoyed a large family party with us! Thanks for the 5 stars and we shall see you soon!! Ella Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 7 May 2017

We stopped here for lunch on the way to our Hotel in Bollington. Nicely decorated with a friendly feel. The barman was friendly and efficient as I placed our order and got drinks. The food arrived within a few minutes, nicely presented and plenty of...More

Thank susieQzee
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hi there Susie, Thankyou for reccomending us! We hope that you've enjoyed your stay in Bollington as much as your visit with us! If you're ever around again don't be shy, pop in and say Hello!! Thanks for the four stars!! Ella Guest Relations Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lord Clyde
261 reviews
.79 km away
The Vale Inn
198 reviews
1.45 km away
Butley Ash
442 reviews
1.27 km away
The Coast Prestbury
167 reviews
1.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
White Nancy
46 reviews
.60 km away
Bollington Arts Centre
7 reviews
1.04 km away
The Lord Clyde
24 reviews
.79 km away
The Tytherington Club
51 reviews
1.20 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
honestyrules
Do you cater for food intolerance
12 September 2015|
Answer
Response from General Manager D | Property representative |
Yes we do cater for intolerance and allergies. We have extensive allergen menu's, just ask one of our friendly team.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Macclesfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 573289
  • E-mail
Description
Cock & Pheasant in Macclesfield is a country pub oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing