We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The River House

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Castle Business Park | The Castle Business Park, Stirling FK9 4TW, Scotland
+44 1786 465577
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

927 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 921: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the River House restaurant for lunch today for the first time. On entering it looks lovely, very nice decor with a wood burning stove. We had booked a table and were shown to our seats, there were 8 of us. We ordered drinks quite soon after arriving, after a short time our order for lunch was taken, sometime... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the River House for lunch. Having had an opportunity to discuss your comments with the team I am sorry to note that you waited longer for your food and drinks due to other tables orders at the same time. I have informed our team how to better communicate these timings... More 

Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of us visited here on 20th November 2016. Where do I start. The food was of a terrible standard. 4 of us ordered the steak burger and 2 ordered the beef roast. We also ordered 3 kids meals. The burgers were massively over cooked and the buns were burnt. Not much else to say about those. The beef... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thejono78
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear thejono78, Firstly id like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience and for giving feedback. As the newly appointed manager I am seeking to enhance the experience for our customers and ensure the training for the team assists in doing so. Using the feedback received we will be ensuring training and new procedures will... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sorry to say that there are lots of deficits in this establishment. Certainly from our experience, all of which I feel are mainly management issues. On our visit we experienced poor, poor service, we felt due to lack of staff. The restaurant was becoming busy on our arrival & getting busier. There appeared to be only two members of staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JessBG42
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear jmgillies, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience and for giving details that we can look into. As the newly appointed manager I am seeking to enhance the experience for our customers and ensure the training for the team assists in doing so. I would welcome further feedback directly and can be contacted at the... More 

Crossford, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with family for a pre theatre dinner which is called a 'Braw Deal' on the menu. Super friendly service from Ewan and Jade without being intrusive We each had the 2 course option which was £9.95 per head. 3 courses £13.95 Drinks served promptly and food orders came out in in nice time between courses. The food was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie B
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Lizzie B, Thank you very much for your review of your recent meal with us. We have passed on your comments to Jade and Ewan who are extremely grateful and delighted that you enjoyed their service. We are committed to ensuring our customers enjoy their experience with us and welcome all feedback. Our festive decorations are now up and... More 

scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've eaten here several times, I think I may even have reviewed it before (with a higher score), but I was disappointed this time, I do hope it's not starting to slip. This time last year on a rare bairn free day the missus and I popped in here for breakfast, and I loved it. We were sat by the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank frootloops
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear frootloops, Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the River House for breakfast. Having had a rare bairn free day, we are delighted you chose to visit us and welcome you to bring them along on your next visit as we are child friendly. I have noted your comments regarding those having meetings in our lounge... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Come here regularly for breakfast. Served in a cosy side area off the main restaurant with a wood burning stove and comfortable chairs and sofas. Good value: bacon roll with complimentary coffee (mon to fri) for £2.95. Often busy with local business people from the nearby business park. Occasionally slow service but friendly.

Helpful?
Thank 39stepsBrussels
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear 39stepsBrussels, Thank you for your review regarding Breakfast at the River House. Indeed we are very popular for coffee and breakfast in the mornings and are delighted that you enjoy visiting regularly. Please do introduce yourself on your next visit so that we can personally thank you for your review. Regards Keith Docherty More 

Upland, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Refered here by the place we stayed and had a nice dinner with live music. Enjoyed watching the Ducks out side of the windows in the pond. Food was good but upset that when i ordered water they brought a glass bottle of water and charged L4.50 for it.

Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Ronald C, I am very grateful for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed the view of the loch and the ducks playing on it. Our Friday night live music is becoming very popular and we do hope you will be able to visit again soon to enjoy this. I note your comment re the water and we always offer... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This modern airy restuarent shares the business park with the park and ride so has a large free car park and is popular for business meetings. we booked a table for ten at six and I chose fish and chips as I did not want to miss the start of my meeting at 7.30 pm I missed it by ten... More 

Helpful?
Thank docmartin-11
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear docmartin-11, Thank you for your review of your recent dining experience at the River House. Our team have been alerted to the importance of listening to our customers needs and will ensure that should you require a faster service upon your next visit that we can deliver this to you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not going to ramble on just a small list of problems with the evening, No Sunday roast left at 6pm Asked for non alcoholic cocktail and was served an alcoholic one Told the soup was carrot and coriander, only to be served tomato, Main course was incomplete, did not get any veg as stated on menu When I complained about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to us at the River House. We take all responses seriously and use it to assist in our training for our team. I was sorry to note that you were unable to have the Sunday Roast as we had sold all of our roasts by then and do hope that if you... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016

first off booked the meal online and decided to go for the 'braw meal deal', then phoned and we were TOLD that the al'a'carte menu was also still available. We arrived and were told that the al'a'carte menu was not available which was very disappointing as we were celebrating a 25th anniversary meal. From the 'braw meal deal menu', we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie M
venue_support, Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Jamie M, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and listen to all our customers feedback. We unfortunately experience a couple of minor issues which restricted our offering at the start of this week, please accept my apologise on the mixed communication you recieved regarding our available menus. There is no excuse to be had with... More 

Travellers who viewed The River House also viewed

 
Stirling, Stirling
Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$44
Cuisine
European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Castle Business Park | The Castle Business Park, Stirling FK9 4TW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Stirling  >  Stirling
  • Phone Number: +44 1786 465577

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The River House and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The River House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?