We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tipsy Laird

) #1 of 14 Restaurants in Kingussie €€ - €€€ , British,
68 High Street, Kingussie PH21 1HZ, Scotland
+44 1540 661708
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good43%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lasagna” (12 reviews)
“pie” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
68 High Street, Kingussie PH21 1HZ, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Every time I pass Kingussie I need to stop at the Tipsy for dinner. Little did I know this time the place was going to be so busy. (You need to book) The young girl told us there would be a 40min wait for a...More

Thank marybabes
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal tonight, all different dishes between the 5 of us and all very good. 4 staff on but service incredibly slow.

Thank Dallal66
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate at the Tipsy recently and had a lovely meal. We both had the scallops and the goats cheese for a starter. I had lamb rack for my main and my husband had fish and chips. There was a bit of a wait for...More

Thank Judy D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I have just had a bad experience at The Tipsy Laird. We chose the restaurant after reviewing the complimentary TA reviews. After arriving for a 6.30 booking we were ushered to a two seater table, placing my wife next to a kitchen...More

Thank MikeAlport
kiwiscot2013, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mike Alport, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I would like to sincerely apologise for a dining experience we are not at all proud of. Although one star reviews are certainly not ideal, we most definitely use them as they are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here on our way to Fort William and stopped for a spot of lunch having checked TripAdvisor for inspiration. Sadly on this occasion we were disappointed. The staff member behind the bar wasn't very inviting or friendly-first impressions matter a lot. I had...More

Thank Kelly S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service and dinner. We had a lovely evening with some great pub food. Nice choice of beers and whiskeys and affordable menu.

Thank Marieke V
kiwiscot2013, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Marieke, Thank you very much for your kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal & hope to see you again soon!! Kind Regards, Lisa Copland

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Burger was nice but the tuna was cold and the sauce ok. Service was slow. Some of the staff were great and others not so. Disappointing given the ratings.

Thank Adam D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We tried a variety of dishes between the four of us. All were good. Nothing spectacular. Good drink selection.

Thank Scott C
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just had a meal here and as a chef I was really disappointed. Not only was the meal, but my table, the staff and of course , the food. I did tell the waitress that my pork belly was undercooked, left it to show her...More

Thank margaret k
kiwiscot2013, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Margaret K, I know you requested I don't respond to your review, however it is reviews such as yours that make me thankful that restaurant owners have this option. Your meal was checked on by one of our waitresses, to which you responded that...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

A very handy place to eat if you're staying in Speyside (but booking is advisable as it's justifiably very popular!). We ate in there 8 nights running. There's a wide ranging menu and we tried lots of different options. Everything was perfectly cooked and very...More

Thank Andy P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Garden Restaurant
99 reviews
.35 km away
The Restaurant at The Cross
102 reviews
.39 km away
Joe's
57 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Highland Folk Museum
793 reviews
3.42 km away
Highland Wildlife Park
1,443 reviews
5.45 km away
Ruthven Barracks
173 reviews
1.12 km away
Highland Horse Fun
61 reviews
.54 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Tipsy Laird staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 01:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 68 High Street, Kingussie PH21 1HZ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Badenoch and Strathspey  >  Kingussie
  • Phone Number: +44 1540 661708
  • E-mail
Description
Under new management since August 2016, The Tipsy Laird is a traditional village pub in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park with a great range of local Malt Whiskies, Scottish Gins & Cask Ales, and a fantastic food offering at affordable prices, with daily specials as well. The Tipsy Laird boasts a stunning South facing beer garden, perfect for lunch on a weekend or a quiet pint in the evening. Or if you prefer the indoors, we have plenty of seating in the bar & restaurant areas, with a roaring fire for the winter months. We are family & dog friendly, although please note persons under the age of 18 (this includes babies) are not permitted on the premises after 8.30pm unless consuming a meal. Please note that restaurant service concludes at 9pm every night. Dinner reservations are recommended, especially from May - September & during school holiday times.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing