We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pencil Cottage

2 Church Road | Shanklin Old Village, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
+44 7872 619876
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (44 reviews)
“cake” (25 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Church Road | Shanklin Old Village, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Called in to get a latte to take away, £1.95 for the smallest latte ever and only half full. Asked for more milk and was give a splash of cold milk - ended up throwing it away.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank CT9
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Not sure this review relates to us!!!. We charge £1.90 for Latte (never £1.95) and we serve a 9oz takeaway measure which is the same size as we use for our large cups in the garden. We serve takeaway in a 12oz cup to enable...More

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We could not fault the service, environment or the food, stopped off for a baguette at lunch time, it was a very pleasant surprise, nice buzz in the outdoor area and service was prompt and with a smile, well done everyone.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank ryang783
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back. Lisa & Derick

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Looked forward to a Shanklin old village cream tea as much recommended. Sadly this punched well below it's menu. Scones underbaked & doughy sadly & the fruit scone sported 2 raisins! Poor.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 654beverlys
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. All of our scones are freshly made and baked and we have never had any complaints about the quality of the baking or the quantity of fruit. If you had raised the matter at the time, the...More

Reviewed 12 May 2018

Stopped to show our NZ friends Shanklin. Never really stopped there before but wanted to look at the old town. Had a great lunch - recommend the jacket potatoes with a large variety of fillings. Had the Pork and Leek sausage with baked beans -...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Antony S
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that our toilets met with your approval (we think this is an important aspect of any establishment serving food). We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 8 May 2018

Stopped for a couple of hours in Shanklin to explore the old village, chine and view the beach. Was spoilt for choice with where to have lunch, so I looked to Trip Advisor for some suggestion, and they listed Pencil Cottage as number 1 in...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank hipzy
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very proud of the fact that we are the highest rated tearoom/garden on Tripadvisor and our team work very hard to justify that ranking. We look forward to welcoming you back next time...More

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a drink and a cake after walking back from the beach. Relaxing garden would recommend if you want to chill and enjoy what Old Shanklin has to offer.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank DeborahT310
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our garden is well away from the road so we think it is the ideal place to 'chill'. We look forward to welcoming you back. Lisa & Derick

Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

What can I say wonderful Island cream team (plain scones for a change - hooray). Excellent surroundings in the old Village what more can you ask for. I would highly recommend

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Josie001
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased your enjoyed your visit (and your plain scones) and look forward to welcoming you back. Lisa & Derick

Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

I had a lovely prawn cocktail and my partner had a cream team. It was lovely. The staff were really friendly and came over and gave our two doggies a treat. Would really recommend!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Shandelle1
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you and your dogs back in the future. Lisa & Derick

Reviewed 17 April 2018

Having visited the Isle of Wight many times we have never been to this cafe until now. It is perfect for lunch. The sandwiches are excellent. Lovely soft bread. The whole cafe is immaculately clean and has very hospitable staff. Excellent!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank KK48
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that enjoyed your visit and, now that you have found us, we look forward to welcoming you back. Lisa & derick

Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Came across this super little gem on a short break on the Isle of Wight. Attentive welcoming staff, spotless cafe, and scrumptious food - the brie, bacon and cranberry baguettes were to die for! Everything just perfect, good hot coffee. Will make a beeline here...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank David C
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and our food. It is really good that our efforts are appreciated by our visitors. We look forward to welcoming you back any time. Lisa &...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Isle of Wight
Holliers Hotel
435 reviews
.04 km away
The Braemar
60 reviews
.09 km away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
202 reviews
.17 km away
Daish's Hotel
983 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Keats Cottage
338 reviews
.22 km away
Pendletons
892 reviews
.12 km away
Vernon Cottage
749 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shanklin Theatre
625 reviews
.25 km away
Shanklin Beach
205 reviews
.53 km away
Rylstone Gardens
280 reviews
.12 km away
Shanklin Chine
2,370 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pencil Cottage staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Church Road | Shanklin Old Village, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin
  • Phone Number: +44 7872 619876
  • E-mail
Description
Described as a tea room, but serves very good lunches
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing