We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Inn

€€ - €€€, Seafood, British
19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
+44 1983 863023
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (44 reviews)
“salad” (53 reviews)
“burger” (49 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here several times and always great but just average this visit for lunch. Me and my son wanted to share a pizza but my request for half and half on the toppings was declined so we opted for my sons preferences of margarita. When...More

Thank NeilAEssex
Vincent B, Owner at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valued customer, Sorry to read that you have been disappointed. Please note that our pizza are made in house, with fresh ingredients, and we are in process of finalising our new menu, so currently we do not offer the possibility to create your own...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice food at a reasonable price. Lovely staff and good service. Only downside is they didn't have any lobster or do any cocktails.

Thank Matt K
Vincent B, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Matt, Thank you for your review, please note that lobsters will be available on our menu as soon as the market price will be reasonable, and that we are working on a cocktail list... Hope to see you soon again

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit the Waterfront quite often. I believe it has been taken over by new Management now. We had lunch there at the weekend and I was quite shocked at the prices!!! A kids meal was £6.95 and didn't include a drink or pudding. Fish...More

Thank Emma C
Vincent B, Owner at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Emma, Thank you for taking your time writing to us. But honestly I am quite confused reading it. Because the fish & chips and the burger, both dishes are exactly the same as on the old menu, from the product purchase, to the chefs...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food. Friendly staff m, quick service, good average price, a little cramped on some tables but managed to fit us in on short notic

Thank Mike F
Vincent B, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mike, Thanks for your good review, all our staff is happy to help, hope to see you soon again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to this bar many times before with a great service, however I believe it's now under new management and looking forward to giving it a try. Very disappointing as I never made it to the bar , I gave up after 10...More

2  Thank Dan_the_man68_13
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We thought we would pop in for a few beers on Easter Sunday, they had live music playing outside, we were pleasantly greeted as we entered the premises. It was fairly busy but managed to find a table straight away. As there was around 5...More

Thank ExArmyQ
Vincent B, Owner at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear customer, Thank you very much for your feedback. Please note that all staff on duty are under constant management, I am very happy to note that the "Meeting and Greeting" policy is in place and works well. As for the other staff members, I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've just returned from a short stay in Shanklin and ate here twice, both times I experienced friendly staff, good food and excellent service. I understand that the Waterfront has recently changed hands so I wish the new owners the best for the future, they...More

Thank Dawnandkeith
Vincent B, Owner at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dawn, We are so happy that you had a good time, many thanks for your wishes, hoping to see you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Go here every Sunday for the music and the roast dinner it is really amazing food friendly staff make you fill very welcome very clean and comfortable and we will be going back every Sunday well worth the money

Thank traceyjanebarnard
Vincent B, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Tracey, very pleased to read your comment, thank you on behalf of our staff, you are welcome any time

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sat outside with free WiFi listening to live music eating great food and good larger and cider . Very helpful pleasant staff clean floors and tables plus dogs allowed outside.

Thank Janet D
Vincent B, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Janet, thanks for your kind words, looking forwards welcoming you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently with our dog. We stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. Fantastic location right on the beach. The room was clean and a good size. Breakfast was included, making this great value overall. The food...More

Thank Emma G
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 116 hotels in Isle of Wight
The Steamer Inn
244 reviews
.02 km away
Aqua Hotel
204 reviews
.10 km away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
208 reviews
.12 km away
Brunswick Hotel
206 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Morgans Restaurant
749 reviews
.47 km away
The Steamer Inn Restaurant
1,436 reviews
.02 km away
The Aqua
211 reviews
.04 km away
Fisherman's Cottage
679 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shanklin Theatre
564 reviews
.46 km away
Rylstone Gardens
252 reviews
.57 km away
Shanklin Chine
2,064 reviews
.27 km away
Shanklin Beach
71 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Waterfront Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$22
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 863023
  • E-mail
Description
We are a free house and offer a wide selection of Isle of Wight ales, lagers, wines & spirits, together with a straightforward, homely menu that features succulent steaks and local seafood in addition to the usual seaside favourites. Why not come and unwind with us - enjoy a leisurely cocktail in our bar or outside on our sun terrace - all giving panoramic sea views from Shanklin across Sandown Bay towards the white cliffs of Culver Down. We offer live music every weekend.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing