We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ship Inn

26 Manor Road, Paignton TQ3 2HR, England
+44 1803 556481
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good34%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (7 reviews)
“gammon steak” (3 reviews)
“nice pub” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
26 Manor Road, Paignton TQ3 2HR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

2 x mix grills and 1 x sirloin steak ; steak as tough as old boots.I imagine its straight out of freezer and defrosted for cooking . Sirloin was ok, rump on mixed grill was medium rare and was dire .I took it home to...More

Thank treetops41
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in 4 times for evening meals during our weeks holiday in September. Used the £5 voucher for signing up to their newsletter, and also received emails for a free pint of cider after using it. Bonus! A very busy pub with lots of...More

Thank StaffordJas
Sara K, Public Relations Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words, we aim to make sure all our customers have a great experience here.. we are pleased you enjoyed yours. Hopefully look forward to having you come dine with us in the near future. Many Thanks from all of us...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Busy place if you are going book online. Tipical pub chain. Meals are pretty average, I had fish and chips @£7.99 I think the fish must have been on a diet and my wife had surf and turf, the meat was like rubber. Staff were...More

Thank doomer364
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Since I wrote my first review my friends and I are now going 'off piste' so to say, and ringing the changes. Our latest outing was to the Ship Inn here in Paignton. To be honest we used to go there years ago, but just...More

Thank virusviv
Sara K, Guest Relations Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words and we are happy you had a great experience with our team at the ship inn.. look forward to seeing you again very soon. :) many thanks from all of our team all the ship inn.

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Fab meal with family! Lots of choice, prompt friendly service. Cheap drinks, would defo return againMore

Thank GemGemB123
Sara K, Guest Relations Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you had a good experience with us. As a team we always try our hardest to exceed our guest expectations on this occasion we are glad u enjoyed your experience ..and look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

I have visited the Ship in its many forms for the last 30 years while holidaying in the area and can't remember being disappointed. This year was no exception!! I joined from the website and got a £5 discount plus a voucher for free kids...More

Thank mattkris2
Sara K, Public Relations Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words, our team at the ship take great pride in making sure our customers have a great experience with us, and pleased you enjoyed yours.. hopefully look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks for all of us at the...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Usually visit just for a drink, however decided to have a meal here over the bank holiday weekend. The food was horrible. I asked for the steak to be cooked "medium" and it came out very over cooked. It was chewy and half of it...More

2  Thank lauraowen1
Sara K, Guest Relations Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm very sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us.. As a team we always try hard to exceed our guests expectations unfortunately we have failed on this occasion. I can only sincerely apologise.. We hope that this does not deter you from...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Arrived with 2 very hungry Grandchildren (9 & 7) on our 2nd evening of our Stay in Paignton. The price was incredible, the food delicious, Service 'second to none' Staff were happy & friendly & took time to speak to the kiddies. A very busy...More

Thank Carol T
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Don't actually go anywhere else in the bay for a steak well I might have done but it never quite tastes as good!!! The staff are always really happy and polite who show good customer service. Always a huge wait on food though which is...More

Thank Angel P
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Have visited The Ship on a few occasions with my other half and loved the adult- only area of the pub but took the granddaughters yesterday and was impressed right from the off. The food was fabulous as usual and the children's meals were especially...More

Thank Lizzie J
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
East in the West
487 reviews
.77 km away
Torbay Thai
155 reviews
.33 km away
Palace Hotel
106 reviews
.54 km away
The London Fryer
268 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Paignton Geopark
386 reviews
.88 km away
Paignton Pier
1,482 reviews
.79 km away
Paignton Harbour
85 reviews
1.45 km away
Roundham Head - South West Coast Path Walk
93 reviews
1.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
passonthefun
We have frequented the ship many years treating it as a local and to dine with visitors as a first choice. on the main good service, good food, priced at you get what you pay for. (except a bottle of wine). Attitude and quality was very poor last time. First reason was a manic night., too busy. My point...At the time of ordering at the bar around 7.30ish, the person taking the order did not know that one of our selection was not available due to no silton sauce., but was overheard by the manager so we were alerted to this and able to choose again. Order placed, chips replaced with jacket potatoes (as dietry problems you don't need to know this). Paid. Then we curiously asked how long and was 45 to 50 mins. Ok was a bit long but ok. We played cards. Around 20 past 8 the person who had taken our order came to inform us that there were no jacket potatoes and could only offer chips, mash. Not acceptable to the two simple chicken orders and a diet problem. Was gone a while to find out what else they could do and then came back and negotiated a salad with one meal and a bap with the other.... food was delivered about 12 minutes later and the one steak meal had the sizzling onions burnt onto the sizzle. The rest was delicious. final outcome.. refunded one meal, miserable night ruined by poor housekeeping and attitude. Off my list now what a shame
15 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elliot dale A | Reviewed this property |
I agree the management needs to get its act together, this establishment is in a great location, just a shame the service is a shambles.
1
Vote
william h
18 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Janis T | Reviewed this property |
Hi.,sorry I don't know if they are dog friendly in The Ship. Quite possibly outside, like most places. Enjoy your meal
1
Vote
veritynicholls
26 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sandra H | Reviewed this property |
It says it all! Try the Manor just around the corner, great food, cooked how YOU want it and great friendly atmosphere especially on Friday nights with the music.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 Manor Road, Paignton TQ3 2HR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Paignton
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 556481
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing