We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Market Tavern

) #43 of 253 Restaurants in Durham €€ - €€€ , British,
27 Market Place, Durham DH1 3NJ, England
+44 191 386 2069
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good41%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“ale pie” (3 reviews)
“pies” (4 reviews)
“mash” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Market Place, Durham DH1 3NJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had ordered the dirty dip burger. It was cooked delicious. The gravy that came with it was so meaty, I could have just drank it. The decor also blew me away, especially that window at the front.

Thank thurzza
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and our meaty gravy! Thanks!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On a little trip to Durham we decided to have Sunday lunch at a city centre pub, we'd looked at a few and had been unimpressed. Walked into this Greene King pub and found the bar staff very friendly. The menu looked decent so we...More

1  Thank TraumaJoyce
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to our little pub!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

visited here mid afternoon as many other places were closed due to the time of day. the food we ordered was hit and miss and the wait for the food was very long. the prices are cheap though and the location is good tooMore

Thank 123eml
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately due to the size of our kitchen we often have a delay in our food timings. We try manage this as best we can and always try to keep our guests informed before they have even ordered. Sorry you felt...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here a couple of times when in Durham at the weekend. A lovely warm welcome in a friendly pub. Great choice of ales and food at tremendous prices. Perfect.

Thank Johnlobster
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for you review! Glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A snug little gem of a place, very traditional, great selection of beers, lagers, IPAs etc... lovely friendly staff and in a beautiful setting.

Thank Mrsmull2007
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank for your review. We very much appreciate it and hope to see you in the Tavern again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very old establishment with a long and varied history, could have stayed all day. The staff were very warm and friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent even if I only had the Scampi and Chips with accompaniments, there were some very interesting items on...More

Thank Abisgran
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Durham!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quick trip to Durham to meet with family, but as we had the dog in tow, we needed to find a dog friendly place to eat. The lady behind the bar was extra specially nice and really looked after us,, and the dog! We sat...More

Thank Teekosmum
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. While we can't allow dogs in the premises, we do try our best to make sure our four legged friends are looked after, albeit in our outside area. We're glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Seems quite unassuming from the outside but inside is a warm, welcoming, Olde Worlde atmosphere. The staff were so friendly and helpful. And the food was exceptional. We both had the cod and chips which I can, hand in heart, honestly say was the best...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Marion O
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. So glad you enjoyed your visit and especially your meal. Thanks again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for a drink. It is lovely. A small pub in the centre of Durham. Friendly and welcoming staff. Clean and well kept. Quality beers. We didn't eat but food coming out looked and smelled delicious.

Thank Tracy T
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Really glad you enjoyed your visit to our little traditional pub.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went into market tavern for a drink but had a drink and a meal,Nice surroundings Had scampi and nice cold stella Very enjoyable

Thank bobcop_12
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Tavern.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Akarsu Turkish Restaurant & Grill
146 reviews
.09 km away
Bells Fish Restaurant
819 reviews
.03 km away
Vennel's Cafe
562 reviews
.09 km away
Treats Tea Room
647 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Durham Cathedral
5,053 reviews
.35 km away
Crook Hall & Gardens
752 reviews
.61 km away
Durham Castle
908 reviews
.19 km away
Gala Theatre Durham
256 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Market Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Market Place, Durham DH1 3NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Durham
  • Phone Number: +44 191 386 2069
  • E-mail
Description
Durhams second oldest pub and the only pub in the market place. We pride ourselves in having a range of local and national cask ales, craft beers in draught and bottle and great traditional food. Open 11am-11pm Sunday- Thursday 11am-1am Friday & Saturday Food served from 12pm Daily
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing