We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Village Inn

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
St Martin's Hill | Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
+44 15394 43731
Website
Today
08:30 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,495: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I have visited the Village Inn on numerous occasions most recently this weekend whilst on a weekend break with family and our dogs. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food was lovely as usual. Love the food in this place so much we returned the following day for lunch. Can't wait to return on my next visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anslad15
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Village Inn. We really appreciate having a positive review, our staff who work very hard to make sure our customers enjoy their visit and they love to get feedback (especially when it is so generous). We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the lakes. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is my favourite place to have a drink in windermere, it's beautifully decorated and cosy especially if your lucky enough to get a seat by the real wood fire!

Helpful?
Thank Alison S
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to The Village. Your comments are very much appreciated by us all, especially by our staff who work very hard to make sure our customers enjoy their visit. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in the area. More 

Macclesfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

What a lovely place. Went went for breakfast twice and then for tea once. Advanced booking may be required. Breakfast wad amazing the staff are lovely and work hard. Very clean, I had a burger and my other half hanging kebab. Garlic bread for starter and tomatoe soup was to die for. Food arrived hot and we'll presented! Thank you!!Only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate feedback from our customers and pass on all comments to our staff. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and of course the food. When you next visit, please ask for the extra unwanted table decorations to be moved, that will give you more space. We... More 

Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was "a touch of class" kind of place. Everything from the decorations, the staff and the food to the view - if you had the fortune to get a table by the windows (or close to them) facing the lake. The only thing keeping us from giving it five points, is that it is on the expensive side (or... More 

Helpful?
Thank to_experience_new
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time review The Village. Your comments are important to us and appreciated by our staff who work very hard to make sure our customers enjoy their visit. Our portions are not small and I think you will find that for the quality (all our food is freshly prepared) the food is not expensive. I hope... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When you are in such an iconic area as The Lakes and a beautiful place such as Bowness-on-Windermere you need to find a great place for lunch. Well, we did and it was the Village Inn, a great looking building which didn't disappoint when we went in. Great atmosphere, fantastic service and above all really good food. Highly recommend this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim C
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on The Village. Your comments are very much appreciated by us all, especially by our staff who work very hard to make sure our customers enjoy their visit. I hope you will call again when you are next in the area. More 

Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last night 12 of us went out for food at the Village in. The place itself was really lovely and very comfortable. We had a tabled booked for 8pm. We sat down at about 8:10pm. The waiters took our orders about 10minutes later when everyone decided what they would have. The Staff were very friendly and helpful, not one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M S
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Village Inn. Our staff really appreciate receiving good feedback on their service and I will pass on your comments regarding this and the food. We hope to see you again in the future, and I will take on board your comments regarding the volume of the music. More 

Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Village Inn a few times during our visit to Bowness in November 2014, at that time the food was excellent. We were therefore disappointed with the food we received on this visit. I ordered a rib eye steak which on arrival could be seen to have been beaten out well, the meat although cooked as requested was... More 

Helpful?
Thank barnackle_Bill
Management response:

Thank you for your review, if you had not eaten your steak you would have received a refund, I can only apologise for the quality on this occasion. We have had a quality issue with some steaks and have since contacted our butchers (Althams) and expressed our disappointment but have still not had a reply. My wife does our desserts,... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dropped in here for Breakfast as it started raining and was the first place we saw. Not particularly appealing from the outside but very nice, spacious and modern indoors. It was packed and seemed very popular. Had a bit of a wait but nothing major and the latte and freshly squeezed orange were superb, as was my breakfast roll. Found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Management response:

So pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback. We are preparing a new menu for both the Village and the Pig to go live in the next few weeks. More 

UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visted here for evening meal and a few drinks on a Saturday night . The place was very busy and as they only take bookings for 6 or ore we had a little wait but it was well worth it . The food was excellent and quite generous portions too; we chose a sharing platter for starters as these fritters... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hancocks
Management response:

Thank you for your review - our staff always appreciate it when people take the time to comment. There will be a new menu to come for both the Village and The Pig in the next few weeks. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us visited this place for drinks only, the bar man was rude and had an attitude before we had ordered our drinks. There are monkey nuts on the bar so we all took some and sat down, however as there was nowhere to put the empty shells we put them on the table only to be told by... More 

Helpful?
Thank julie c
Management response:

Some of my staff are from a different culture and are trained to be smart and efficient. My staff are polite, efficient and not in any way rude. More 

Travellers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Grill, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 00:00
Monday
08:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 00:00
Thursday
08:30 - 00:00
Friday
08:30 - 00:00
Saturday
08:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St Martin's Hill | Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Bowness-on-Windermere
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 43731
Description
The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters.

The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Village Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?